We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My daughter and I chose this hotel for the location and were not disappointed. We were able to walk to the theatres and restaurants, and walk back - even after 11pm feeling perfectly safe. The hotel was very busy with marathon runners but that added to the atmosphere. The included breakfast was a bonus and helped our budget stretch a bit further! The dining area was busy but we always found a place to sit and yes, there was sometimes a wait for the lifts and we were on a high floor, but this was never an issue - just had to be patient. Staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was bright and clean and we could see the river. We didn't make use of the kitchenette facilities because we were out and about all the time. This was my first visit to NYC and I have already booked to visit again later this year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,025
    1,932
    435
    75
    35
See reviews for
1,701
2,044
222
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at Staybridge in october 2011, everything was great, I had an early check in free, very nice upgraded room, and the stuff was awsome!, I used my priority club points, so I was welcome with a little gift and free breakfast, It is very well located a few blocks from Times Square and 3 minutes from subway station, I did not feel unsafe at all as few posted, I surely want to return to this hotel, thank you everyone and the reservation departament supervisor.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure_Woman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We found this hotel to be centrally located (although it is not directly in Times Square, which is a ten minute walk away).
Good points:
Location - walking distance to Times Square, bus depot opposite, overall good location.
Kitchen - with dishwasher, microwave, fridge-freezer, etc. - very handy.
Rooms - Clean, comfortable, modern.
Staff - Always very helpful and smiling.
Breakfast - lots of variety.
+ (and its a big plus) free evening meals and free beer/red wine/ white wine (Mon-Thurs). This saves a lot of hassle after a long day out.
Bad points:
There are only 3 elevators serving this hotel so the waiting sometimes took ages. Waiting for a table to eat breakfast also took a lot of time (but, in fairness to the hotel there were 6 of us in total and if we hadn't been in a group it would have taken less time).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Reasonable place to stay, small but sufficient. Opposite the bus station which is great if you want to travel out to the woodbury commons outlet shopping. Times square is just a few streets away. Get there early for breakfast because it gets packed early.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Staybridge hotel is ideal for for a tourist visiting this great city but may be lacking in some facilities for the business traveller .Room is quite compact but has all the facilities that one would require for a comfortable stay.Fully fitted kitchenette with dishwasher & full size fridge ( some people may find this noisy at night ), comfortable bed,walk in shower & in room safe.
Our room was on the sixth floor so no views & when we checked on possibility of a higher floor we were told that because we booked through Hotels.com our choice of rooms only went to the ninth floor so if your looking for an upper floor of the seventeen it may be better to book directly with the hotel.
We were very impressed with the hot & cold choices at breakfast ,ok it can be very busy but be patient and a table will come free ,there is also an overflow seating area in the bar.The breakfast staff were extremely friendly & worked hard at keeping all the stations fully stocked.They even supply take away containers if you want to have breakfast on the run or if you wish to bring fruit /muffins /small containers of milk etc to your room for a snack later in the day.
The location is really good especially if your a first time visitor as its within walking distance to many tourist attractions & a short subway ride to most.There is a subway entrance 2 minutes from hotel & a safe 5 min underground walk to the nearest subway station on 42nd street.
For people on a shopping trip buses to the large outlet malls in New Jersey or Woodbury common can be taken from the Port Authority bus terminal directly across the road.Many of the sightseeing buses also leave from here.
Turn right when you exit the hotel & a ten minute walk will bring you to the shows, the neon and crowds in Time Square but if your looking for good restaurants think about turning left and a 2 min walk will bring you to 9th ave - Hells Kitchen- where there is a huge choice of excellent restaurants, everything from $1.00 pizza slices to $100.00 steaks .
Always felt very safe in this area of the city when walking or using subway as its very busy day & night.The only negative as many others have mentioned is the difficulty with wait times for elevators especially at breakfast hours & check out times so dont leave things to the last minute.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of corridors furthest from lift noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,846 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $294 - $565
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, IHG, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing