We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Hotel, not really the place to stay when you are on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump SoHo New York
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Vibrant Hotel, not really the place to stay when you are on business”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

great location, very in place, lot of famous people going in and out, but not the place to stay if you are on business. rather expensive, very expensive wifi, bfst too expensive. slow check in and check out process.

Room Tip: if you can select a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandokan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sandokan62,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and the room tip.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,064
    650
    206
    91
    66
See reviews for
641
1,270
141
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Trump SoHo exceeded all of our expectation. We had a beautiful one bedroom suite on the 41st floor with absolutely stunning views. The staff was incredibly attentive and helpful, the location perfect and the bed was like a cloud. I hope to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Rob H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Trump Soho for seven nights at the end of August - our first trip to NYC. We'd ummed and aahed about which hotel to go for, especially as this was the first trip, and we were tempted by the amazing reviews of the Trump Soho. I would really like to say that all our expectations were met, but please read on.

There were definitely very very good things about our stay and about the hotel:
1. The views: absolutely worth the cost alone. We were on the 22nd floor, corner suite, with a view straight up 6th Avenue to midtown, and a bit of Brooklyn Bridge could be seen.
2. Location: easy walking distance to Greenwich Village, Soho, and the Humber. In fact, we walked back from midtown and also walked down to the Financial District. Easy, safe. When our feet were sore, the subway station was a 100yrds from the hotel.
3. Plenty of restaurants around, (food quite expensive in the hotel);
4. Nice, large, 2 bedroom suite. There were three of us, so it was good to have enough room not to be in each other's way all the time.
5. Friendly bell-hops and housekeeping staff.
6. Gorgeous bathroom - huge tub, rainforest shower, nespresso machine.
7. Fantastic huge and very soft bed, with quality linen.

So, what was not to like?
1. The decor in our suite was a bit jaded - lots of scratches on the furniture. Not what you'd expect from a 5 star.
2. Room design. There were three tvs - one in the bedroom, one in the living area, and one in the bathroom. It is only a small-ish space, with no dividing walls/doors, so why on earth would you need three?! The TV in the living area was on the wall, but at an adjacent angle to the sofa, so you'd have to crane your neck to watch it. You couldn't move the TV in the bathroom, so you couldn't watch it from the tub.
3. Room design 2. Beware if you're sharing a room with someone you don't know really well. Why on earth isn't there a door to the bathroom???? There are two metres between the bed and the toilet, with no door inbetween! At least you get to know your room-mate more intimately in this hotel....
4. We weren't keen on the daily charge for wi-fi, although it was free in the library and lobby.
5. The lobby was busy, and did feel a bit like a train-station. The bar was tucked away behind reception, and we didn't find it until our last morning, and it wasn't really geared at residents. The hotel needs a casual bar/coffee bar just for residents, where you could have a drink after returning from sight seeing. We went to the outdoor bar and pool area, which had a really nice party vibe, but everyone were really dressed up for a night out so not the kind of place you could just chill for a couple of drinks.
6. Housekeeping was a bit hit- and -miss. We'd upgraded to a 2 bed suite, as we had a fifteen year old, and felt that we might as well pay a bit more for more space than pay for a foldaway bed! Even though it was obvious that we were three people, nobody came to make up the sofa bed - leading to uncomfortable first night with one sheet and a cushion on the sofa. Not good for the money we were paying! When I complained the following morning, we were told that we had to ring housekeeping to ask them to make up the sofa bed. Nobody had told us this when we upgraded, no instructions in the room and not really what you'd expect from a five-star. We were made to feel that we were in the wrong. Anyway, after that, housekeeping made the bed up every night with no problem (or phone calls required).
7. A 2 bed suite can sleep up to four people. Why, therefore, were there only 2 glasses available in the room for the whole week. And 2 coffee cups. Sometimes, glasses were taken away but not replaced for days. This was all very bizzare.

So, to conclude. Great stylish hotel, good staff, great views, great location. For the price, and the star rating, there were too many glitches. Now, I've been keeping my eye on the Tripadvisor reviews since our stay, and there seems to have been a pattern. Most of the time the reviews are great, but during the time of our stay and just afterwards, and again over Christmas/New Year, the reviews aren't always so good. This could indicate some staffing issues (holiday time?). I think a hotel of this standard should sort this out.

Also, the hotel needs to sort out its identity. Is it a hotel for cool, trendy young things (as evidenced by the bars, the number of glasses in the rooms etc), or is it a hotel aimed at tourists (obviously a key market, as evidenced by the other guests during our stay)? I think this hotel could be really, fantastically, great, if it pays more attention to detail and sorts out its identity.

Room Tip: Higher up, corner suites are larger. Use the liquour store down the road to fill up your fridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynnull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Cynnull,

Thank you for sharing experience at Trump SoHo. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your detailed feedback which I will share with the team,

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

stayed 5 nights at the Trump Soho. pros, fitness center clean and large for NYC. Rooms clean and large for NYC. Cons, they charge for wi fi ( to make it worse they charge per computer not per room). Not enough shelving in shower or bathroom. Good location. Great view from 22 floor. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed on the 20th floor in a King Deluxe. The linens were fabulous. The bedding was pristine white and incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was meticulous; not a stray hair to be found upon our arrival! The only cons I must mention - room service was ridiculously over priced. We paid $40 for a few stale, mini pastries, a canister of coffee and a small orange juice. Also, the hotel will tell you they charge $65 for parking (and the $65 is due each and every time you want to take your car out). What they don't tell you is that right next door to the hotel (only feet away!) there is a public parking lot. It cost us only $35 to stay the night. I know hotels look to make money on all the extras, but when I'm paying $450 for a room, I don't appreciate being gouged on every little "add-on". That said, the staff was pleasant, the room was comfortable, and, if money permits, I would stay again. Oh - lots of great little restaurants, cafes and retail shops in walking distance.

Room Tip: My main suggestion is this: REQUEST A ROOM WITH A NICE VIEW. We paid $450 for a room on the 20th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#165 of 467 in New York City
1,405 reviews
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#105 of 467 in New York City
1,273 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#97 of 467 in New York City
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 467 in New York City
917 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#71 of 467 in New York City
472 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#26 of 467 in New York City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump SoHo New York

Property: Trump SoHo New York
Address: 246 Spring Street, New York City, NY 10013-1521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $411 - $897
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump SoHo New York 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adding distinction to the skyline, Trump SoHo® New York brings a new perspective of Manhattan from its 391 guest rooms, providing unparalleled views of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows in the deluxe and premiere rooms and suites. The Spa at Trump® features New York's only luxury hammam experience, relaxation rooms and fitness center. Trump SoHo is pleased to welcome the new signature restaurant Koi SoHo, featuring an imaginative menu of contemporary Japanese cuisine. Plan your business or social gathering in one of the hotel's exclusive meeting and event spaces. Unwind over cocktails in The Library or retreat to the seasonal Bar d'Eau with its outdoor pool deck. Possessing one of the city’s most coveted locations where SoHo meets Tribeca and the West Village with celebrated art galleries, restaurants, shopping and nightlife, Trump SoHo New York is downtown like you’ve never experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Trump SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Soho New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing