We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Federal Hall
from USD 49.00
More Info
from USD 35.00
More Info
from USD 35.00
More Info
from USD 109.00
More Info
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
78
107
40
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
107
40
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stock exchange george washington wall street president of the united states the national park service trinity church national memorial city hall current building supreme court worth a quick stop the financial district presidential inauguration trump building balcony floor historical significance new york
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came across Federal Hall, the site of George Washington's inauguration, purely by accident, as we'd decided to walk down Wall Street, even though there is a lot of building work going on at the moment (October 2018).

It's a beautiful building, once used as a customs house, with a fascinating history. Definitely worth a detour!

Thank CaroleLondon2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped into Federal Hall because we like to see the national monuments.
It was absolutely beautiful in there and if you go up the steps on the corner of wall street in May and it is amazing to open the doors and walk in that building.
The ceiling was absolutely beautiful

Thank 665alanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I almost walked past this Neoclassical building on Wall Street, while looking for important financial institutions. And it was the nearby New York Stock Exchange that initially grabbed my attention. But then I wondered why a statue of George Washington stood on the steps of Federal Hall.

It turned out that the building marks the spot, where Washington had his inauguration as the first President of the United States. The statue's position on the steps is believed to be about where he stood for the ceremony. This location also served as a meeting place for Congress, where it adopted the Bill of Rights and created entities, such as the Department of State and the U.S. Supreme Court.

That all occurred, however, at the original Federal Hall that stood here. The current structure went up in 1842 as the U.S. Customs House for the Port of New York. It now serves as a museum operated by the National Park Service.

The bronze statue, created by John Quincy Adams Ward in 1852, had many people posing by it for photos during my visit. It was a Saturday, when the museum is closed, so that is all they could do.

Museum hours are Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. There is no admission charge.

1  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Federal Hall has long history related to New York City. Because it's proximity of the location with the New York Stock Exchange, visitors may even overlook the historic landmark of the building. The building was built in 1703 as New York's City Hall. After the American Revolution, it served as meeting place for the Congress of the Confederation (the baby USA). The name "Federal Hall' was called when it became the first Capitol United States in 1789. The current structure was built and completed in 1842 and is the example of the neoclassical architecture in New York. and presently the official name is Federal Hall National Memorial and a museum of historic events from the previous structure of the building. Just to have the picture of the place adds to the feeling of a powerful nation of the U.S., past and present (NY Exchange).

1  Thank Prawet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

I was there on a weekend and was not able to go in. The building is similar to others in the area such as the NYSE which is across the road.

Thank AdamLeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

This is not something we British learn at school but I imagine US children do. This is the place where George Washington took the oath to become the first US President. It was then the site of the entire US government and successively a customs house, sub-treasury and various other things. Rebuilt several times, but it is still The Place where GW swore his oath. Cool or what? Not much other deep history in NYC but it doesn’t get much better than this.

Worth a detour.

Thank cmasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to visit for a excellent history lesson. And it’s FREE. Do not miss the birth place of the first presidential inauguration.

Thank architect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The site where George Washington was sworn in is worth a visit if you are in downtown NYC anyway. It has several exhibits and artifacts. I enjoyed the one that describes the building (the one we were in and previous versions at this site) and also the exhibit all about National Parks in the NY area (a giant ad for the NPS but still interesting.) It is free to enter.

Thank flo220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

George Washington was sworn into the office of President at Federal Hall, and there is on loan the very Bible he used for his oath of office. The architecture and history are wonderful, and the sculpture of Washington outside Federal Hall is outstanding.

Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

In a quick visit you can get the historical overview. After living in the NYC area my whole life I did learn some interesting tidbits. It doesn’t take long. If you’re in the area I recommend taking 15 or 20 minutes to see it.

Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews