We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #250 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at Carvi Hotel for a week with my wife and teenage daughter. It was absolutely great. Nice atmosphere, friendly and helpfull staff. While somewhat small the rooms are well above NY stadard; very clean and the size of the rooms is no issue. Also a very nice and quiet street winthin walking distance of anything in midtown.
Be aware of pricing. We found very good last minute deals on hotels.com.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanishCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 293 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Carvi NYC in mid January. It is a very small hotel and the rooms are small, but as long as you and your travel partner get along well, it's no problem at all! The room felt like a very cozy bedroom. Before going I read reviews about the small shower being an issue - it is small, but honestly just fine! My husband is 6'3" and was fine. The water is nice and hot and the water pressure is great!! Since it is a small hotel, there is no restaurant or even vending machines (which we knew before traveling so no surprise). However, one night we brought a bottle of wine back to the room and requested a bucket of ice and an opener. It was no problem at all and they even sent up wine glasses!

The ONLY con is that it is in a quieter area (which at times is also a plus) but there is not much around that is open late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing 55th street. The rooms in the back face a brick wall and people working VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamericanFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

people in the front desk speak english ans portuguese.
They are nice and helpful.
Rooms are small, but clean and efficient.
wifi and safe in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Carvi Hotel was a great choice for my first trip to New York City. It was very clean, nicely furnished, reasonably priced, and the staff were wonderful! It is within walking distance of many popular attractions and surrounded by good restaurants. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPeek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is nicely furnished, clean, and a very friendly staff. Problem is, the rooms are so small they are non-functional for more than one person. I was there for 4 days and I very nearly ate the room cost and moved hotels. One person no problem, two people and you are cooked. The shower is literally half sized. I'm 6"1' and dropped the soap and had to exit the shower to get enough room to bend down and pick up the soap.

I saw at least 2 other new guests (both 2 people in 1 room) complaining and trying to get moved to larger rooms or completely different hotels.

I know NYC hotels can be small, but when you book a room that information needs to be front and center.

Room Tip: If you have more than one person, don't consider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NoSleepSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#335 of 469 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#277 of 469 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 469 in New York City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#137 of 469 in New York City
541 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#230 of 469 in New York City
400 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#186 of 469 in New York City
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $172 - $1,501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing