We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #192 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great and clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at Carvi Hotel for a week with my wife and teenage daughter. It was absolutely great. Nice atmosphere, friendly and helpfull staff. While somewhat small the rooms are well above NY stadard; very clean and the size of the rooms is no issue. Also a very nice and quiet street winthin walking distance of anything in midtown.
Be aware of pricing. We found very good last minute deals on hotels.com.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    219
    51
    14
    8
See reviews for
120
225
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Carvi NYC in mid January. It is a very small hotel and the rooms are small, but as long as you and your travel partner get along well, it's no problem at all! The room felt like a very cozy bedroom. Before going I read reviews about the small shower being an issue - it is small, but honestly just fine! My husband is 6'3" and was fine. The water is nice and hot and the water pressure is great!! Since it is a small hotel, there is no restaurant or even vending machines (which we knew before traveling so no surprise). However, one night we brought a bottle of wine back to the room and requested a bucket of ice and an opener. It was no problem at all and they even sent up wine glasses!

The ONLY con is that it is in a quieter area (which at times is also a plus) but there is not much around that is open late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing 55th street. The rooms in the back face a brick wall and people working VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

people in the front desk speak english ans portuguese.
They are nice and helpful.
Rooms are small, but clean and efficient.
wifi and safe in the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Carvi Hotel was a great choice for my first trip to New York City. It was very clean, nicely furnished, reasonably priced, and the staff were wonderful! It is within walking distance of many popular attractions and surrounded by good restaurants. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is nicely furnished, clean, and a very friendly staff. Problem is, the rooms are so small they are non-functional for more than one person. I was there for 4 days and I very nearly ate the room cost and moved hotels. One person no problem, two people and you are cooked. The shower is literally half sized. I'm 6"1' and dropped the soap and had to exit the shower to get enough room to bend down and pick up the soap.

I saw at least 2 other new guests (both 2 people in 1 room) complaining and trying to get moved to larger rooms or completely different hotels.

I know NYC hotels can be small, but when you book a room that information needs to be front and center.

Room Tip: If you have more than one person, don't consider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#145 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#162 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#185 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#155 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $183 - $555
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing