We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #271 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen
1 review
“Good for what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights in New York staying at the New Yorker in March, in a renovated Queen Room. We were looking for a hotel in a good location for a decent price, that we would not be spending much time in, and that's what we got.
Opposite Penn Station, so super convenient for transfers to/from Newark/JFK.
The room at first seemed a bit small, but had a decent sized wardrobe so was fine.
The room was super clean, housekeeping were fantastic.
A great location, perfect for tourist spots such as Empire State Building, Macy's, and Time's Square.
Incredibly confortable beds, and very quiet, especially considering it's the middle of New York!

But.. The shower was terrible! It kept fluctuating between extremely hot and cold, was rather annoying! The bathroom generally was in need of an upgrade.
No safe in the room. Could be a pain during busy periods when trying to access the safe at reception.
The staff could have been happier... (except housekeeping, they were lovely)
The view from our window was of the tower block opposite, But when we were there to spend our time up other tower blocks we didn't care!
Basically, if you get a good deal, and are looking for a decent, clean base to explore New York, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Mizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,450
    4,549
    1,817
    548
    344
See reviews for
3,004
3,684
547
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel is nice, clean and in a good location for Penn station, Macys, The Empire State and Madison Square Gardens.
Initially we had a pokey room on the 23rd floor with a poor view, however after a night a noise from a neighbour (the walls seem very thin), we complained and were eventually moved to a room on the 33rd floor with fantastic views of the Hudson River. The higher the floor the better the view!
The Ticktock diner attached was perfect for convenient breakfasts and snacks, highly recommended.
If I visited NY again, which I intend to do, I would stop closer to Times Square. But this hotel was a great first time hotel.
One note,a lot of the staff on reception are very rude and clearly are not bothered that you have paid a large amount to stop at this hotel. Customer service at the desk was sometimes no existant. However we found the staff on the information desk to be much more helpful and were very friendly, they certainly made up for the other staff.

Room Tip: The Higher the Room the better the View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cRuZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I booked ahead and got a 25% discount deal on the hotel website for 6 nights. The thing I liked was that it was still fully cancellable up to 24hrs before. We are a family of 3, 2 adults one small child. We got a tower suite on the 38th floor. The room was enormous. 2 bathrooms, large living room with sofa bed, coffee making facilities, dining-conference table, a balcony with two outdoor tables under the NEW YORKER neon sign. First of all, the location was perfect. Subway ACE just next to the entrance and then a block away from 1 and 2 and Penn St. We took the LIRR and air train to and from the hotel and it took less than an hour both ways. Around the hotel were plenty of shops, eateries etc and 8 blocks to Times Sq.
Upon check in the front desk was acting a little strange about giving us a room before 3pm as we arrived at 2.40pm. It seemed like they were fishing for a tip and also trying to talk us into paying more to get a room with an premium view. Just be weary of that. On average we were already paying high 300s per night, so were a bit put off by the front desk staff.
The room was very quiet being up high and we slept well. The deal included continental breakfast on the 39th floor so you get to enjoy the breathtaking view of empire state bldg, chrysler bldg, MSG etc if your room is facing another direction. The spread is pretty decent and the staff member is very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.
The Wifi worked ok in the room, sometimes it was hard to log in due to heavy traffic.
The hot water was OK too, sometimes it is not that hot during peak hours.
If you are planning to bring food back to the room, it´s not ideal as there is no microwave or cutlery. We were not used to the American serving sizes and always over ordered. If the hotel had a complete mini kitchenette it would have been more convenient.
Being in a tower suite, gives you access to the business centre in the basement. You need to use your credit card to get online and it was really handy to print out prepaid tickets to various NY attractions which give you discounts if you buy your pass online..ie. Bronx Zoo, NYBG etc.
We ate at the Tick Tock Diner for lunch on the first day and the food is not good. Stale salad, refried chips, frozen precooked chicken etc. Breakfast is not too bad though.
It´s interesting to note, that similar to what other guests have written, I am missing a pair of new dress socks that I bought as a present for my niece. It was not an expensive item but it´s still missing.
I would recommend this hotel for its location and particularly staying on the higher floors. Having said this, there are plenty of choice in NYC so unless I got a super deal I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 38th to 40th and book on their website to get discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pspf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel is very old even though It claims to be renovated. In my experience the rooms were very small and noisy. I experienced lots of road noise as well as noise from adjacent rooms. This led to poor sleep. The walls are very thin I could hear people showering in adjacent rooms or even watching tv plus there was lots of noise just from opening and closing doors. In the shower setting a consistent water temperate is impossible. It's either too hot or too cold and changes constantly.

Location is fine for day sight seeing just do not go out alone late at night. It does not feel like that safe of a neighborhood after dark.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_Flyer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for five nights in November 2011 only getting to write review now. This was a holiday for my husbands birthday so I spent a lot of time reading reviews of hotels. We picked this hotel because of location and price.We were were very happy with everything about the hotel. I requested a room with a good view and got a lovely room and bathroom. It was however the staff and Tick tock diner that made it home frome home. i would also like to sincerely thank the two ladies on the concierge desk who booked our tickets and gave us lots of advise and information. I recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Request room with good view on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,839 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,703 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $254 - $543
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing