We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Yorker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Yorker”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just got back from having a fabulous trip to New York. We where worried that the room we would get would be facing a brick wall but was over the moon to get a view of the Hudson River, granted it was looking through several high rise building but all the same great view. The check in staff where friendly especially Mohammed. The rooms where small but clean and we only spent time in there to shower and sleep. Great location close to Time Square, Broadway, Madison Garden and Train Station to name but a few. No negative points.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,601
    4,740
    1,911
    585
    366
See reviews for
3,166
3,836
572
1,280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My brother and I & our wives , just returned from a long weekend at the New Yorker (Feb 17th to 20th, 2012) . We arrived via Amtrak Train to Pennsylvania Station, and the Hotel was less that a block away.
Mohammed, checked us in, at the Desk and he was very pleasant and accomadating... Not rude at all Our Check in was quick and painless. As a matter of Fact, any interaction I had with the front desk, or any other staffers in the New Yorker, I was taked care of with professionalism.
! He did warn us that our room was small... and he did offer to provide our room w/a coffee maker (Kuereg). My wife & I's, room was on the north east corner of the building, with great views of the Manhattan CityScape Northwest/North and Eastward. We loved the morning sun waking us up. Yes the room was small, but it was Clean and the Housekeeping service did a nice job each day we were there. I like old hotels... as long as they are clean. The bed was comfortable and the linens were crisp and clean.
I would recommend and return to this hotel for sure.
Great location, and great value...

Room Tip: Rooms on the North East Corner have two windows and , have great views of the west/north and East. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a very busy hotel. Its location will always ensure a year-round capacity. Any negatives I could come up with, such as exhausted looking front desk staff, could be marked up to simply being far too busy. I traveled in February 2012, and the place was packed - from the diner next to the lobby, the sitting area, the front desk - chaotic, I could only imagine what it's like in August! Thing is, they pull it off. I didn't wait too long for anything, the staff were polite, rooms adequate. There are some old fixtures, the shower wasn't very good, and the bathroom was small with no counter space. The room was decorated a bit dark, but the bed was comfortable, and the free in-room WiFi was a huge plus. I made reservations only one day in advance, and got a very good rate compared to other hotels in the area. Any hallway noise was adequately muted by the well built doors/walls. Elevators were a bit cruddy, but that might be an old New York charm to them.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Due to street noise, ask for a room in an upper floor at the back of the hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimSycamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Front Office Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Even though you had some dissatisfaction with your hotel stay, we thank you for your candid review.

You may email me directly at gmerone@nyhotel.com. I am the Front Office Manager and will address your concerns immediately.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to be able to better serve you in the future given the opportunity.

Sincerely,

Glenn Merone
Front Office Manager
212-244-0719 x7793
gmerone@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, nj
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The New Yorker was extremely clean (no bed bugs) and very convenient to Broadway, Time Square, Macy's, Madison Garden, Penn Station, and the subway system. The housekeeping staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The views were incredible!! I would definitely stay here again. The only draw backs to this hotel are the restaurants associated with it - the Tick Tock Diner and Cooper's Tavern.

Room Tip: Corner suite was large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavywifePrinceton_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

For a first time visitor and to that fact an any time visitor to New York, this hotel is the perfect place to stay. But even better if like me, you are a disabled traveller. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect hotel to suit me.
Room was spacious enough for the wheelchair to negotiate around all parts. The bathroom was perfect for me, wheel-in shower, grab rails by the toilet, light switch at a lower height.
Hotel is in a great location for all the main touristy sight, couldn't be any nearer Macy's. Times Square and Broadway, just short walks away. Come out of the hotel, turn left and look up and you see one of NYC's most iconic sights - the Empire State Building, first time I saw it, it blew me away. Practically opposite the hotel is Penn Station (accessible station).
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were left. Despite being on a busy road, no noise could be heard from our room, in fact the only noise we heard was the amazing thunder storm we encountered at 3:30am on penultimate day.
Couldn't fault anything about this hotel or this city and will definitely return to this hotel when I go back to New York

Room Tip: Wheelchair users should ask for a one bedroom room to ensure enough room for the wheelchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodisongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
17,988 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#100 of 467 in New York City
4,284 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,474 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,535 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $203 - $510
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Nozio Netplan srl, Wotif.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing