We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price/quality ratio and outstanding staff”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #185 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed a week at the Milburn and enjoyed the large, well kept rooms, the huge bath room, the excellent location, the good and nourishing breakfast, and last but not least the friendly, welcoming and very helpfull staff. The Milburn definitely contributed to the success of our vacation and we warmly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 700 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel as we wanted to be located in the upper west side. The rooms were large and the kitchen area proved useful for the kids. The breakfast was great and the two members of staff who worked in the breakfast area were great and very helpful as I was there with my two small children. The comp internet was very useful and the overall ambience of the hotel very charming. The only downside was that one of the lifts was broken with no sign of imminent repair, The access to the pool not possible as it was being renovated and the room was not completely spotless. However, good value for money and I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardf100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for favorable comments about our hotel and it's staff - we try very hard to provide the best service for our guests. The elevators are being completely modernized with new equipment and cabs, with one temporarily being shut down - perhaps the informational sign was not on its easel that moment. We think you will be very pleased with the new elevator service.
Pool access is a courtesy extended to Milburn guests by a modern community center a block away, but is not part of the hotel, and should be available again soon.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The price, location, and amenities are just right at the Milburn Hotel. Our family of four hopped on the subway to see the sights and came back to nice restaurants, stores, and nearby Central Park. We walked to and from the Guggenheim on the last morning. A one-bedroom was comfortable for us. Kids had access to play station, DVDs, and computers. Continental breakfast was CROWDED after 9:00, so get there early to get a table. They cooked excellent waffles on Friday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trigger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This past weekend, my wife and I stayed at The Milburn for our 4th time. The staff are very accomodating and were helpful the entire weekend. Nice size rooms at a moderate price and steps away from the Beacon Theatre, Zabar's and the world's best cream puffs at Beard Papa's. I highly recommend the Milburn when you want a safe neighborhood with many of New York's finest ammenities within walking distance.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Peachhead621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Fantastic Location just off Broadway in the Upper Westside in a mainly residential area. Easy walking distance to 2 subway stops. Get your subway pass and map early, then all of New York is at your feet. Lots of markets/delis nearby where you can get anything from washing powder, beer, to fresh fruit and veg and dinners (hot or microwaveable). Wine store, with a good selection, close by.
Rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious. Large bathroom. Small, functional kitchenette with bar fridge, microwave and sink.
You can use the hotel's laundry after the hotel has finished their washing for the day.
Ice machine and drinks dispensar in the basement.
Breakfast is great. A very good selection of bagels (fresh), fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juices, coffee and tea.
I highly recommend this hotel. Great value for money and a great, safe, friendly location.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms. If sharing 2 room suite with family ask the sofa bed to be replaced with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 469 in New York City
3,760 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
2,444 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 469 in New York City
3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,492 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 469 in New York City
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $173 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing