We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Fantastic Location just off Broadway in the Upper Westside in a mainly residential area. Easy walking distance to 2 subway stops. Get your subway pass and map early, then all of New York is at your feet. Lots of markets/delis nearby where you can get anything from washing powder, beer, to fresh fruit and veg and dinners (hot or microwaveable). Wine store, with a good selection, close by.
Rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious. Large bathroom. Small, functional kitchenette with bar fridge, microwave and sink.
You can use the hotel's laundry after the hotel has finished their washing for the day.
Ice machine and drinks dispensar in the basement.
Breakfast is great. A very good selection of bagels (fresh), fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juices, coffee and tea.
I highly recommend this hotel. Great value for money and a great, safe, friendly location.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms. If sharing 2 room suite with family ask the sofa bed to be replaced with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    506
    135
    39
    49
See reviews for
444
308
70
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just did three nights for three in a suite, and it was excellent. The suite was cozy, clean, and quiet. Nothing fancy, but a great price for a great location. Also, the room temperature was easy to control, and the HVAC system was quiet - that can be a rarity at moderate-priced hotels. You have everything you need at the doorstep - train, bus, food, and walking distance to Riverside Park and a little more to Central Park. Little kitchenette (half size fridge, microwave, sink, coffee pot) is great to have and was super clean. Small bathroom, but great water pressure in the shower! Complimentary Wi-Fi worked well. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trvl_Lite_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I go to Manhattan twice a year, and this is my choice for a home-from-home, until I win the lottery and can afford Trump International. The location could not be better, as it's just a few steps from the bus stop on 76th and Broadway, and close to either the subway at 79th, or 72nd.

I always stay in one of the suites -- since I'm an insomniac, I can go to the living room, read or watch TV, and not disturb my long-suffering husband. No, the hotel doesn't have a doorman or bellmen, but given the consistent value, well, who cares?

Breakfast, consisting of pastries, bagels, cereals, juice, some fresh fruit, such as bananas, is often welcome, but life as we know it isn't over if we don't partake, leaving us free to go to Zabar's (a MUST visit EVERY SINGLE TIME -- trust me on this!!!), either the cafe, or the amazing food store, and upstairs for every kitchen utensil known to man is worth it, too!

More about the value -- I attend the opera, and many, many of my fellow opera patrons, ones who, no doubt, have much more money than I do, also stay there -- we recognize the Milburn for what it is, and appreciate what it isn't, too -- it's not a place to see-and-be-seen, but we do brag that we're smart enough to know good value!

I've reluctantly posted this favorable review, because I'm more than a little afraid that it will become too well known, and I will find it hard to book a last-minute stay, but YOU will be grateful that I was so selfless!

Room Tip: If you're interested in a suite, and at these prices, why not, choose rooms ending in 07, on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great for families - regularly stay here (also on business), pleasant & clean (but not brand new as some others have rightly pointed out).

Also there with our three kids summer 2011, catching Hurricane Irene. Staff showed great team spirit by staying put & taking care of the guests, instructions were distributed, service levels upheld.

I truly believe that you see the best (and worst) of a hotel when a crisis is afoot & as a guest, you are left in the middle. In the case of Hurricane Irene, NYC, the City that Never Sleeps, indeed took a long nap - all services suspended, shops closed... Great job, Milburn staff!

So - what makes this place great for families? Reasonably quiet, central location for subways, mini kitchen easily stocked from nearby Citarella's, Beacon Wine, Zabar's, Fairway's, etc. Helpful & friendly staff (including the breakfast staff - breakfast options may be limited but ever friendly, they always help me out when I am on the go!), sizeable rooms (as some NYC hotels may score high - but the rooms are really tiny & not suited to families).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UWS_Gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the Milburn one night in February.2 adults,and 1 child.Upon check in,the desk person said we upgraded you to a full suite,,at the same price.Wonderful,I say.We get to the suite,and soon find out that we are on the second floor with no view, and the heater/ a.c. unit outside the bathroom,which hummed audibly.The suite was large and clean.Good furnishings,and we were overall happy with it.I can sleep with noise,lol.The bathroom was so big,I could fit my own in it twice.Everyone was pleasant on the staff,especially at breakfast,which was fine.We would stay here again.Good location,and price.

Room Tip: Avoid 210 If you want a view,and no humming noise,but its great for space,and on the 2 nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#222 of 467 in New York City
3,646 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#65 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,076 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#357 of 467 in New York City
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $227 - $476
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing