We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean journalist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Incentra Village Hotel
Ranked #15 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This funky little guesthouse in Greenwich Village was a pleasant surprise. The staff, Vincent and Claudio were wonderful. There is no restaurant but there are places to eat nearby after all this is New York. And the rooms have fridges and crockery and coffe making gear. However some rooms are nicer than others and I did change a couple of times before I found myself in Washington which was really a good choice. Rates for New York are unpretentious. Will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Incentra Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at the Incentra, in the Washington room, for a couple of nights on a business trip. The room was comfortable and charmingly and definitely non-corporately furnished. There was plenty of space to hang up clothes in what looked like an under-stair cupboard. The shower room was small but perfectly adequate and the room well heated. Despite being more or less at street level and facing onto the street I didn't find it particularly noisy.
There was a small tv albeit the choice of tv channels was a bit dispiriting. There was nothing much worth watching and only one news channel but I guess one can't blame the hotel for the former. There was actually also a small set of stairs to an upper level where there was a low ceilinged space with another double bed. Romantic if a bit inconvenient - and OK for kids I imagine.
The electrics had a slightly jury rigged impression and the lamps weren't all that easy to work out how to switch on (the table lamp needed switching on at the bulb not using the switch on the flex as I erroneously thought). My own phone worked OK but my colleague's, in another room, did not for the entire period of his stay - longer than mine. I think he also had wifi trouble. But the charm of the room more than made up for these irritations and my wifi did at least function.
The hotel was well located near a subway on 14th street and with a range of boutiques, cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk. I just wish I'd got to try the artisanal gelato on sale somewhere on Bleecker Street! No breakfast was served as there was a small kitchenette, which is probably better for longer stay residents, and some guidance on good places to breakfast would have been helpful. But breakfast isn't really an issue in New York.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed at the Incentra many times for almost 20 years, and I still want to come back. It is our home away from home. The guys who run the guest house have been there since a long time, which I appreciate very much. Thank you all for your hospitality!

All the rooms in the house are different. The kitchens and the bathrooms have been refurbished recently. The guest house is in the West Village, which has become quite fashionable in the last few years (not always a good thing!). There is no breakfast being served, but next door is the wonderful diner called "La Bonbonniere" . Both places are for me Greenwich-Village-as-it-used-to-be institutions and I hope they will remain there for a long time!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

What a find! I come to NYC all the time and usually stay with friends. Vincent greeted me and checked me out at the end of my stay and couldn't be nicer.The room was large and very comfortable, with a microwave, frig, big sink, etc. My room was facing the street and was VERY quiet for a city room. The location is GREAT, literally a three minute walk to the subway station, and just one or two stops from EVERYTHING. The best thing is that the pics on their website look exactly like what they are. This is a GREAT place to stay in NYC.

Room Tip: I stayed in Lahore room, at the very top of a several flights of a narrow stairway - I liked being a...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have been sojourning in New York by myself for years. I love spending all day walking around in the city and meeting friends. What look for after those long, hectic days is a quiet, clean, comfortably appointed spot where I can unwind, write and rest.
Enter the Incentra Village.
The Garden Room has everything I need, plus exclusive access to a mini garden that is perfect for a last breath of evening air before bed.
Love, love, love!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elise_477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#141 of 468 in New York City
1,447 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 468 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 468 in New York City
605 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,130 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Incentra Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village Hotel

Address: 32 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10014-1803
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $207 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village Hotel, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 12 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Incentra Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing