We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the most luxurious hotel, but comfortable - would recommend to friends”
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #228 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Not the most luxurious hotel, but comfortable - would recommend to friends”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I booked a stay at the Ace Hotel through Jetsetter for a weekend stay. I've used Jetsetter to book hotels twice, and both experiences were fine. I was a bit unsure of what to expect of the Ace Hotel, but despite the dorm-room minimalist decorations and bunker-style aesthetics, the hotel delivered all the amenities you expect for a comfortable weekend stay.

The only negative to our stay was that we were unable to check in to the hotel even a half-hour early. We arrived at 2:30pm to the hotel, but the hotel staff were quite strict about seating us in the lobby until the 3pm check in. Our room was ready at 3pm, so in the bigger scheme of things, it was fine (though a tiny bit irritating that we couldn't just swoop to clean up after the drive into the city from Boston).

Our room (825) was a corner unit and had windows in the bathroom as well as the bedroom. I'm not sure what kind of room we originally booked, but we had a queen bed in our room. Desk, minibar, LCD TV, clothes rack (no closet or armoire), bathrobes were all available. In the bathroom, we appreciated the full-size (Rudy's?) grapefruit scented shower toiletries as well as the Malin & Goetz lotions. The rain shower was great. Housekeeping was thorough. I was not feeling particularly well during the second half of the weekend, so I really appreciated housekeeping's standards. The minibar is surprisingly affordable (compared to other urban hotels); we rang up only $14.50 for a liter of still water, a bottle of Coke, and Pellegrino. I'm used to getting charged that much for so much less!

The hotel's location on 29th and Broadway was convenient for where we were dining in the city, so that's key to us potentially returning for a stay at the Ace next time we're visiting. We liked being walking distance to Madison Square Park and not too far from Times Square (for those prerequisite Broadway shows). I've stayed in hotels far downtown in Tribeca and Soho, and I must admit that this was much more convenient for plan-filled weekends in the city.

We would recommend the Ace Hotel to our friends. It's certainly not the most luxurious hotel in NYC, but we found its location convenient and the stay surprisingly comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostongal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    611
    186
    80
    41
See reviews for
187
535
205
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We loved the Ace. In advance of checking in, we were a little worried about the Midtown location - we usually stay further south. We needn't have worried, the hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of things (funny enough) without being surrounded by camera wielding tourists heading to Times Square.

We arrived at night time to a pulsating lobby/bar/reception. Although we were pretty hungover, it was nice to arrive into a throbbing hotel - there is nothing worse than arriving into a dead reception in my opinion.

Delighted to get to our room (the hangover), we were even more delighted when we opened the door. The room was really spacious, big enough for two of us to lay out two bit suitcases and not trip over them. No matter how much shopping we did, the room never came in on us which can sometimes happen. All the little, novelty touches really did add to the experience - the Smeg, the Polaroid cameras, Butt Magazine and VBS on the TV and the musical paper for any mid night compositions.

It was dark in the hotel but we found this to be a positive, especially after a long day pounding the pavement. And if you need some shopping, but are too lazy, having Opening Ceremony in the hotel was more than handy.

I'd stay here again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

There nothing like a great hotel to set the stage for any visit out of town. In a city loaded with a wide range of accomodations, The Ace Hotel clearly stands out and above the crowd. A short walk from Penn Station gets you in that New York frame of mind and a warm hello from everyone on the staff lets you know that you are truly welcomed as a valued guest. This hotel understands that the little things are equally as important to the seasoned traveller as are the the major items. The check-in time of 3:00 may not coincide with an early arrival time but your bags will be tagged and whisked away to a secure storage room until you are ready to complete your registration. The rooms are fantastic with large bathrooms, great water pressure means great showers, beds with truly comfortable mattresses and every amenity that you could want from a very well-stocked mini-bar and snacktray to the lovely soaps and lotions. The gray sweatshirt/style robes are so comfortable and there is a I-pod/I-phone hook-up to play your music through the high-end clock radio. The rooms and the entire hotel are spotless and very well maintained. And as cool and hip as the furnishings and clientele are, perhaps the best part of The Ace is the staff. These people truly understand the meaning of "hospitality" and run the hotel accordingly. This is the place where you want to be, where you should be and where you really need to be for that extraordinary hotel experience in NYC. I didn't want to leave and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmanva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is a current cool choice in NYC but it comes with some health warnings. Anyone over the age of 30 is going to feel old as they walk into the dark lobby filled with mac wielding 20 some-things and music pounding out . The super cool reception staff (jeans and skinny ties) are welcoming and then you head up to your room. The design aesthetic here is prison chic. The colour schemes are black, dark grey, dark brown and cream. The doors to the rooms are distressed metal. Room numbers and much else beside are stencilled on to the surfaces. There is no danger you are going to think you are in a Marriott or a Holiday Inn - which of course has a lot to be said for it. You know you are in New York. The down sides. The rooms are dark. To use my safe or even to plug in my laptop meant getting down on my hands and knees to get close enough to penetrate the gloom and see what I was doing. Unusually for the states there was a kettle in the room. However tea bags were $3 each and there was no milk sugar or even a teaspoon! Bottles of water were liberally scattered round the room looking like they were free but were actually $7 each. A slightly bizarre touch was the idea of putting a paper bag outside your room for breakfast. "We will put in it whatever we fancy" said the reception desk. This sounded intriguing. The reality was somewhat duller - a small bottle of orange juice, a muesli bar and an apple - the same each day. So I would go back but although I arrived enthralled and left a little irritated.

Room Tip: Usual choice in New York - a internally facing room which has the benefit of quiet but is darker and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

We had a night here then went to The Hamptons for 2 nights & then returned to Ace Hotel. What a fantastic place to stay!! Awesome location, beautiful restaurant, fantastic service in the hotel & restaurant. Highly recommend. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downthetrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $259 - $717
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing