We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location in leafy Chelsea, NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #309 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I was visiting my brother in New York and stayed 8 nights at the GEM Hotel in Chelsea. I think everyone agrees that the rooms are small but as I was on my own this was no barrier to having a simply wonderful stay. The very friendly and helpful reception staff set the tone and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and serviced daily. Having said the room was small the bathroom was quite a decent size and the shower was excellent. My room overlooked 8th Avenue and even had a view of the top half of the Empire State building. The roof terrace was very pleasant with tables, chairs and sun umbrellas for the use of guests (as well as the view of the Empire State building).

The Chelsea area where the hotel is situated is wonderful - fairly quiet, leafy streets with lots of town house type residences rather than enormous skyscrapers. There were some fabulous restaurants on 9th Ave and you could eat a different style of food every evening. Underneath the hotel, on the corner of 8th Ave and 22nd St, there is a lovely organic restaurant and deli/shop/wine shop called Foragers which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Within easy walking distance were the Empire State building, Macy's department store, the Chelsea High Line (wonderful to stroll along but very busy on weekends), the Flat Iron district and the iconic Flat Iron building, Chelsea Piers, the Meatpacking District, Greenwich Village and, at a push, the 42nd St pier for Circle Line cruises. Most of the other famous sights in New York can be accessed via the 23rd St subway station one block from the hotel. In fact you can take this subway line to and from JFK airport.

One of the things I loved most about staying in Chelsea was the peace of the area after the hustle and bustle of downtown and midtown Manhattan and the area felt very safe. I plan to visit New York again in the near future and will definitely stay at the GEM hotel in Chelsea.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and ideally suit solo travellers or couples without children (unless the childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steph6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Greetings Steph6058, we are so excited to know that you had a wonderful experience and thank you for such a thorough review of our hotel. We hope you had a great time visiting your brother during your stay with us. I agree you with about our location, the quietness, buy yet upbeat with many tasty restaurants and places to see. Our magnificent rooftop does offer amazing views of Chelsea and the Empire State Building. It is our ongoing effort to provide all of guests, just like you, with great amenities and first class service. Your kind words about our hospitality are highly appreciated and they inspire us to do so even more. We look forward to your next stay with us and are motivated to making another memorable stay.


Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 939 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are efficiently laid out. Two adults fit fine.
The staff are all friendly. Check in and check out were quick and efficient.
The room itself was clean and tasteful. Great shower - hot water, lots of pressure. The location was excellent. Nice, safe area. A few nearby places to grab a bite. The subway is a few steps away. Would definitely stay again.

1  Thank Buck K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Good Day Buck K, thank you so much for sharing your review with us. Our team members always strive to deliver the finest quality of service and we are honored that you have given us an opportunity to do so. As so many of our guests enjoy our location, we are so happy that you too found our location to your liking. Your kind words about our team members are greatly respected and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A great hotel tucked away in the heart of Chelsea, NYC. A beautiful lobby and friendly staff greet you went you enter. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable after a long day of travel or touring. It doesn't have that vanilla, cookie cutter hotel feel, it is stylish and hip but warm.

The Gem is two short blocks from the nearest subway stop for getting to other parts of the city, but Chelsea is a wonderful residential neighborhood with tons of great restaurants and people watching. For a fun evening in, get a bottle of wine or cup of coffee from Forager Market next door (the staff make wonderful recommendations) and head to the roof deck for an amazing view that includes the Empire State Building.

A wonderful hotel that is an amazing find among the many options. I will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Greetings Craig P, wow and thank you for sharing your memorable experience at our chic hotel!
We are so excited to know that we have exceeded your expectations. Chelsea is a perfect location with many restaurants and evening entertainment. The rooftop indeed ensures beautiful scenery of the Manhattan Skyline and just like you said the Empire State Building. Our team is motivated to know your kind words about their hospitlaity and hope you will stay with us on your next visit to New York!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were on a family journey for a week. The hotel it is in a great location. The rooms were very clean and new, but perhaps small. The stuff were always very helpful. Definitively a good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oskitar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Good Day, Oskitar, thank you so much for your positive review. We are happy to know that you have our location to your liking. Our team is so motivated to hear they have exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in New York!

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#297 of 471 in New York City
227 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 471 in New York City
2,030 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#139 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#274 of 471 in New York City
691 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#150 of 471 in New York City
1,976 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#74 of 471 in New York City
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $154 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing