We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Nearby Hotels
SIXTY SoHo(New York City)
USD 365*
SixtyHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
USD 195*
USD 162*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 190*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 189*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 203*
USD 188*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 278*
USD 260*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 210*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 312*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Beacon(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 572*
USD 374*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 266*
USD 122*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,279)
Filter reviews
2,279 results
Traveller rating
737
982
393
98
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
982
393
98
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarehi expressfree breakfastnew yorkthe breakfast areayogurtport authoritycandlewood suitesbreakfast staffrooms are smallevery morningcity viewthe empire state buildingpenn stationaround the cornerfew blockshell's kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,320 - 1,325 of 2,279 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Visited in March 2012 and it was good value for New York. The lifts do drive you slightly crazy but the rooms and clean and big so plenty of room to move around. The breakfast was free and really good selection, just needs to be more space to eat it but for the price you can't complain. It's in a great location, really handy for everything. I think it depends on what kind of deal you get and we got a great one so happy to put up with the slow lifts!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanieLYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Hi JanieLYork! Thanks for the great review of our hotel! We really appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback with us and other travelers. We certainly hope your comments will benefit the Trip Advisor community and encourage others to visit our hotel. We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Reading the other reviews, maybe I got a better deal on price. Because I thought it was very good value. Internet and breakfast included, also a business centre (get there early) and parking at $35 per day in central Manhattan.

Jason D hated the lifts - I never had to wait very long for one. I was here on business and keeping office hours, maybe he was waiting for the lifts at other times of day.

The rooms are small, yes... this is Manhattan. What do you expect?! I thought it lived up to the Holiday Inn Express brand. The bedding, mattresses, towels etc are all very good quality and there is a nice little desk in the room where I am sitting now.

BUT there are horribly noisy and hot ice machines on some floors (I was in 1603) and on those floors they also assemble the towels/sheets/chambermaid carts at 3am which is really not on. So be careful about that except if (like me) you travel with ear plugs or you are a heavy sleeper.

Agree with BackAgain05 about the amazingly slow checkin. For LinziBird comment about the distance from Times Square, it is just under two of those longer east-west blocks which doesn't feel like very far. Breakfast does include sausage and omelette for those of us who don't like sweet stuff at that time of day. I didn't feel any less safe than in other areas of central Manhattan.

I'd stay here again, although not ever in room 1603.

Room Tip: Avoid 1603 or other 03 rooms on a floor with the ice machine. Rooms 1-3 are at the back, 4-6 at the front, all are the same size.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafrinagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Hello! Thank you for the kind and thorough review of our hotel! We really enjoyed reading your review and are impressed by your attention to detail and accuracy. Thank you for coming to our defense about our elevators and room size as these shortcomings are very difficult to explain to some travelers. We do apologize about the slow check in and noise you experienced on your floor but we do appreciate hearing about it so we can work to correct these deficiencies for future guests. We are grateful that you chose our hotel for your accommodation needs while in NYC and we look forward to having you stay with us again (but in a different room!) Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in Early April.....No chance of returning thats for sure.

The lifts are a joke....2 lifts in the whole building..over 36 floors.....its terrible!....

Showers were like warm...yes we complained...yes they improved.

Rooms are incredibly small....good luck if your room is next to one of the water machines...very very very loud...all nite!

Breakfast area way to small - we walked down stairs for breakfast and just walked out...way to crowded..

Asked concierge to arange some tickets for broadway.,..we were told the prices....it seemed quite high...we decided to go to the box office and get them for half price to what concierge quoted.....strange...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Hi Jason,

Thank you for your honesty and candidness in your review of our hotel. We are incredibly disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations and let you leave the hotel unsatisfied. Please know that our intentions are only to provide the best service and value to all our guests and anything less is unacceptable. We are terribly sorry you experienced so many challenges with your stay. We would love the opportunity to make it right if you’d be gracious enough to give us the chance. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish you the best in the future!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We picked this hotel to stay in during a trip to NYC in the lead-up to Christmas. Because of the timing the options were limited and this was basically our only choice in our price range. We've stayed in other hotels in NYC in simliar price ranges at different times of the year that were in much better locations and were much nicer hotels.

This hotel is just OK. It will give you a place to sleep - but it feels kind of small and a little run-down.

We honestly didn't feel as safe in this area as we did in some other areas we've stayed in - especially in the later evenings when walking back to the hotel.

Transit is nearby but it is a bit of a hike to get to it. Port Authority is the largest transit stop near by and is one of the bigger ones. There's lots of people around but never feels overly safe, especially in the evenings. There's lots of homeless looking people hanging out around it and in the nearby connivence stores around the hotel.

It is also not exactly in Times Square - south and west of it. Though it is very walkable to get to it and any theatres that you want to get to in the evening.

In the hotel, itself, our check-in was VERY slow even though we were the only people there in the evening. They also checked us into a room that wasn't made up and we then had to wait for them to find another room for us, which they did eventually.

The room is a reasonable size but older looking in decor, furnishing and linens. It didn't feel that clean - especially the bathroom. There were hairs, trash cans weren't emptied and there were stains on the towels.

You get a large king sized bed but it's also kind of an aged mattress and not that comfortable. There is a bigger TV in the room and there is a reasonable amount of space to move around and unpack your belongings.

We found the area kind of noisy at night. We could hear what sounded like construction, though we couldn't see it, in the evening and there was a lot of traffic noise beginning in the early morning hours.

The elevator in the hotel is EXTREMELY slow. It is also very small so it is pretty much constantly crowded. It makes getting out of the hotel in the morning a little frustrating. Make sure you take everything down with you at breakfast so you don't have to go back up and come down again!

The one positive about this hotel is that it has a nice breakfast in the morning. It really does have a good range of offerings - including proteins, yogurt and fruit, in addition to the usual toast, pastries and cereals that you expect to see at a hotel breakfast. It is all rather greasy, though. The breakfast area is also extremely busy and very small so it's difficult to find a seat.

This hotel fit the bill for us in this particular instance. It certainly wasn't bad - it just wasn't great and really paled compared to some other hotels we've stayed in in the city at similar prices. That's like more why we were disappointed with it - we had some points of comparison. It's a place to sleep at a reasonable price for New York - but we wouldn't be likely to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackAgain05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but are disappointed that we failed to make your stay “great.” As of January 2012, we have a new management team at the hotel and have been working around the clock to improve our services and value for all of our guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can show you how much we’ve improved since your last visit! Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have recently returned from a 5 day stay in Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square. The hotel is very basic and unless all you want the room for is to sleep then do not stay here.

We arrived at the hotel and greeted by the reception team who were very pleasant and helpful. We were given rooms 2001, 2004 and 2006 which were on the 20th floor. The rooms were very small but were clean.

Our air conditioning was not working but was fixed once reported to reception. Our beds were not changed once on our visit, also where I made the bed in the morning just to make the room tidy, the housekeeping never actually fixed the bed.

They advise you use the same towels rather than them having to keep changing them but when requested clean towels they would happily bring you some.

The hotel has around 132 rooms and only 2 lifts that can hold up to 6-8 people so waiting for the lift especially breakfast time could be frustrating.

The breakfast room is tiny considering how many people are in the hotel. Breakfast is mainly muffins, bagels and pastries, this was ok but after 5 days it became very repetitive and quite sickly.

When booking this hotel as it said Times Square I thought I would actually be in time square but its is a good 10 15 minutes walk away.

Hotel is average and I do not think I would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linzibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your honest and candid feedback with us. We are disappointed in ourselves for letting you leave our hotel with an “OK” impression of your stay. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Times Square, we pride ourselves in providing the best customer service and value despite the challenges we face being located in Midtown Manhattan. Thank you for your comments and suggestions as we value our guests’ opinions and utilize their feedback to improve our services and better train our staff. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews