We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Great Bellhop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #279 of 467 Hotels in New York City
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel, Great Bellhop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My Wife and I stayed at this hotel till May 7 and I must say i excepted a lot less because of the previous reviews. We got to the hotel early morning and the bellhop took our bags in from the cab and even stored it for us because the room wasn't ready. The front desk staff was kind enough to let us enjoy breakfast after our long flight. At check-in the same bellhop(I believe his name was Alex) helped us take our bags upstairs to the 29th floor. The rooms are small like most NYC rooms but we only went to the room to sleep. Alex also helped us with directions to the places we wanted to go to and told us about a good restaurant around the corner of the hotel(Casa De Issaco). On our departure day our bags were stored again till we was ready for the airport. The bellhop Alex reserved a nice white limo for us for a flat rate which i found reasonable. The limo had our room number in the window (2904) and our last name (Cabrera). Overall this hotel is perfect for the people who are not going to be in their room. This is one of the few hotels that have bellhop, but I must say Alex is the best I have ever encounter with. Will return and will recommend to everyone. Look for the bellhop Alex when you visit!!

Room Tip: High floor rooms are quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CabreraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Mr. & Mrs. Cabrera,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We thank you for choosing our hotel over the countless lodging options in NYC. It seems like you enjoyed your time in NYC and we were happy to be a part of that. Thank you for mentioning Alex in your review as he is a valuable member of our team. If this was your first time staying with us, we certainly hope it wasn’t your last. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    897
    336
    79
    57
See reviews for
678
571
98
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Visited in March 2012 and it was good value for New York. The lifts do drive you slightly crazy but the rooms and clean and big so plenty of room to move around. The breakfast was free and really good selection, just needs to be more space to eat it but for the price you can't complain. It's in a great location, really handy for everything. I think it depends on what kind of deal you get and we got a great one so happy to put up with the slow lifts!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieLYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Hi JanieLYork! Thanks for the great review of our hotel! We really appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback with us and other travelers. We certainly hope your comments will benefit the Trip Advisor community and encourage others to visit our hotel. We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Reading the other reviews, maybe I got a better deal on price. Because I thought it was very good value. Internet and breakfast included, also a business centre (get there early) and parking at $35 per day in central Manhattan.

Jason D hated the lifts - I never had to wait very long for one. I was here on business and keeping office hours, maybe he was waiting for the lifts at other times of day.

The rooms are small, yes... this is Manhattan. What do you expect?! I thought it lived up to the Holiday Inn Express brand. The bedding, mattresses, towels etc are all very good quality and there is a nice little desk in the room where I am sitting now.

BUT there are horribly noisy and hot ice machines on some floors (I was in 1603) and on those floors they also assemble the towels/sheets/chambermaid carts at 3am which is really not on. So be careful about that except if (like me) you travel with ear plugs or you are a heavy sleeper.

Agree with BackAgain05 about the amazingly slow checkin. For LinziBird comment about the distance from Times Square, it is just under two of those longer east-west blocks which doesn't feel like very far. Breakfast does include sausage and omelette for those of us who don't like sweet stuff at that time of day. I didn't feel any less safe than in other areas of central Manhattan.

I'd stay here again, although not ever in room 1603.

Room Tip: Avoid 1603 or other 03 rooms on a floor with the ice machine. Rooms 1-3 are at the back, 4-6 at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafrinagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Hello! Thank you for the kind and thorough review of our hotel! We really enjoyed reading your review and are impressed by your attention to detail and accuracy. Thank you for coming to our defense about our elevators and room size as these shortcomings are very difficult to explain to some travelers. We do apologize about the slow check in and noise you experienced on your floor but we do appreciate hearing about it so we can work to correct these deficiencies for future guests. We are grateful that you chose our hotel for your accommodation needs while in NYC and we look forward to having you stay with us again (but in a different room!) Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in Early April.....No chance of returning thats for sure.

The lifts are a joke....2 lifts in the whole building..over 36 floors.....its terrible!....

Showers were like warm...yes we complained...yes they improved.

Rooms are incredibly small....good luck if your room is next to one of the water machines...very very very loud...all nite!

Breakfast area way to small - we walked down stairs for breakfast and just walked out...way to crowded..

Asked concierge to arange some tickets for broadway.,..we were told the prices....it seemed quite high...we decided to go to the box office and get them for half price to what concierge quoted.....strange...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Hi Jason,

Thank you for your honesty and candidness in your review of our hotel. We are incredibly disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations and let you leave the hotel unsatisfied. Please know that our intentions are only to provide the best service and value to all our guests and anything less is unacceptable. We are terribly sorry you experienced so many challenges with your stay. We would love the opportunity to make it right if you’d be gracious enough to give us the chance. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish you the best in the future!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We picked this hotel to stay in during a trip to NYC in the lead-up to Christmas. Because of the timing the options were limited and this was basically our only choice in our price range. We've stayed in other hotels in NYC in simliar price ranges at different times of the year that were in much better locations and were much nicer hotels.

This hotel is just OK. It will give you a place to sleep - but it feels kind of small and a little run-down.

We honestly didn't feel as safe in this area as we did in some other areas we've stayed in - especially in the later evenings when walking back to the hotel.

Transit is nearby but it is a bit of a hike to get to it. Port Authority is the largest transit stop near by and is one of the bigger ones. There's lots of people around but never feels overly safe, especially in the evenings. There's lots of homeless looking people hanging out around it and in the nearby connivence stores around the hotel.

It is also not exactly in Times Square - south and west of it. Though it is very walkable to get to it and any theatres that you want to get to in the evening.

In the hotel, itself, our check-in was VERY slow even though we were the only people there in the evening. They also checked us into a room that wasn't made up and we then had to wait for them to find another room for us, which they did eventually.

The room is a reasonable size but older looking in decor, furnishing and linens. It didn't feel that clean - especially the bathroom. There were hairs, trash cans weren't emptied and there were stains on the towels.

You get a large king sized bed but it's also kind of an aged mattress and not that comfortable. There is a bigger TV in the room and there is a reasonable amount of space to move around and unpack your belongings.

We found the area kind of noisy at night. We could hear what sounded like construction, though we couldn't see it, in the evening and there was a lot of traffic noise beginning in the early morning hours.

The elevator in the hotel is EXTREMELY slow. It is also very small so it is pretty much constantly crowded. It makes getting out of the hotel in the morning a little frustrating. Make sure you take everything down with you at breakfast so you don't have to go back up and come down again!

The one positive about this hotel is that it has a nice breakfast in the morning. It really does have a good range of offerings - including proteins, yogurt and fruit, in addition to the usual toast, pastries and cereals that you expect to see at a hotel breakfast. It is all rather greasy, though. The breakfast area is also extremely busy and very small so it's difficult to find a seat.

This hotel fit the bill for us in this particular instance. It certainly wasn't bad - it just wasn't great and really paled compared to some other hotels we've stayed in in the city at similar prices. That's like more why we were disappointed with it - we had some points of comparison. It's a place to sleep at a reasonable price for New York - but we wouldn't be likely to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackAgain05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but are disappointed that we failed to make your stay “great.” As of January 2012, we have a new management team at the hotel and have been working around the clock to improve our services and value for all of our guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can show you how much we’ve improved since your last visit! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#239 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,464 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $273 - $534
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing