We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous 18th Birthday Trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #256 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Ashland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous 18th Birthday Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My daughter and I spent two nights/three days at this hotel, and I can't say enough great things about the staff and attention to detail! We were there to celebrate her birthday, and when we went to our room (which they upgraded in honor of the occasion!) there were birthday balloons and a box of mini-cupcakes waiting for us. We arrived at noon, and the staff ticketed our bags and held them until check-in time so we could go about our day. The front desk always spoke to us by name as we came and left, and asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable. One night, I called down for an extra blanket, and two minutes later, we had not only a blanket, but two extra pillows as well. The complimentary breakfast was very good and replenished often. It was very crowded, but the staff did all they could to help us find a seat or carry our food to our room. The only complaint I had was the elevator wait, but I feel certain that this is the norm in high-rise hotels all over the city. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this property to anyone staying near Times Square. It was within walking distance of most of the things we wanted to see, and very close to the hop-on, hop-off bus stop. A special thank you to Alex, who was especially attentive!

Room Tip: Let the staff know why you are traveling and ask them for room recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hello and thank you for the great review! We’re so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your daughter’s birthday a special one! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope that everything exceeded your expectations. We apologize for the delays you experienced with our elevator service, but please know that it is an issue we are working on improving as we speak! We are humbled that you recommended us to other travelers and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    854
    311
    72
    51
See reviews for
634
543
91
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Came to NYC on a girls shopping trip weekend. Looking to relax, eat some good food and spend some money shopping. This hotel was well-located more in the Fashion District than in Times Square. Hotel is about a five minute walk to Times Square. Everything about this hotel was noisy. The street was noisy. The lobby was constantly in a state of chaos. Friday night we returned at midnight from a really nice dinner to find firetrucks, power outages on the upper floors and no elevators working. Why? Because twenty or so of the rowdy guests crammed into an elevator and it got stuck. We were on the 36th (Very top) floor and walking the stairs after a long day and a great meal with lots of wine was just not an option. Stayed outside on the sidewalk for thiry minutes until we were able to get upstairs. Room was very small but clean and comfortable with spectacular views of the city from the 36th floor. The beds seemed short. I'm 5'3" and my feet hung off the end. There wasn't an inch of unused space in the room. The furniture was crammed in perfectly. Bathroom was a nice size and was very clean. We smelled breakfast but never found it. I guess we could've asked but anytime we came downstairs we just wanted to escape from the chaotic lobby as quickly as possible. This HI Express seemed more like the HI Express Drunken Youth Hostel while we were there. Staff was not overly friendly but did their jobs. There's a concierge on site for help with transportation and information. Hotel was well-priced with free wifi included.

Room Tip: Get as high up of a floor as possible to get you away from the noise and for a room with a spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgpatlantatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for your insightful review! It seems like you had an eventful stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are definitely disappointed in ourselves for allowing you as our guest to have such a poor experience. Judging from your comments, you were here during Spring Break and Senior trip week, which means you may have encountered some rowdy guests. Although we do not discriminate who stays with us, we definitely discourage behavior that is disruptive or disrespectful to other hotel guests. We apologize for the negative impact this may have had on your stay. Although we understand your possible hesitation in staying with us again, we do hope you will reconsider so we can show you that we go above and beyond for our guests and will do anything to ensure their satisfaction. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel was perfect for us! From the moment we arrived the staff was so helpful, getting us a room eventhough we were early for check-in. This continued throughout our stay. Any questions we had, bookings we needed, there was someone there to help.
Having read the reviews here before travelling, we were aware that the lifts take time. This is the only fault we could find with the hotel. We were on the 12th floor, so we took the stairs once or twice. Other than that, the lift came pretty quickly the other times.
The breakfast was great too. There was a wide variety of food and the cinnamon buns were amazing! The perfect start to every morning.
Thank you for making our trip so enjoyable and hopefully we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Hello there! Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel! We are very thankful that you took it upon yourself to share your experience with other travelers. It’s so great to see that we were “perfect” for your needs. We definitely strive to offer the best service and value for all of our guests. We apologize that you experienced delays with our elevators, but are grateful for your understanding. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Me and my partner stayed there for 5 nights in December and loved it! The hotel room was extremley clean, cleaned daily and was always left some chocolates! The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, as we arrived early we was not supposed to get into our hotel for at least another 4 hours but they gave us the keys straight away. This hotel is in an ideal location as you can walk a block and be in times square. It is the perfect hotel for people who don't want to spend all day in the hotel, its best for those who will be out exploring the city and want a nice, clean, cozy room to come back to! We loved it! Were going back in September and are staying here again! We can't wait!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Hi Faye! Thank you so much for your kind review! We’re delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and really appreciate you sharing that experience with the Trip Advisor community. We really look forward to having you back in September so please let us know if there is anything we can do in advance to make that trip more enjoyable. Thank you again and we’ll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Well what can i say that has not been said already. I took my time looking a various hotels and reading dozens upon dozens of reviews before selecting this hotel. I booked 2 Kingsize rooms for myself and my wife and also my sister and her husband. Before we arrived my wife emailed ahead looking for a bakers close by as she wanted to buy a cake for my birthdaywhich I would be celebrating during my stay. A huge thanks to Mike at reception who upon replying to my wife's request he upgraded our room and left a birthday message on our bed a fantastic customer experience.
The hotel itself is very clean and is in a great location and is within walking distance to a lot of the attractions including Empire state, Times square, Central Park.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent and really set you up for the day and the bonus was having free Wifi allowing us to keep in touch with our family back home.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 34th floor and had a great view of the Empire State building and downtown Manhattan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scapaflow2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you! We enjoyed reading your review and would like to thank you for generously sharing your experience with other travelers. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Times Square, we are dedicated to exceptional guest service and settle for nothing less. We hope that you and your party experienced this service to its fullest during your time here. We are humbled that you recommended us to other travelers and thank you for doing so. We sincerely look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#180 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#165 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#189 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#223 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#317 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $181 - $690
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing