We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great staff, but needs some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #185 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The location of the hotel was great, really close to Times Square! And the staff was wonderful, they were nice and always ready to help.

On the other hand, rooms were small and the breakfast was not nice, the was too artificial. Plus, the breakfast room was tiny, there wasn't enough space for all guests.

But what bothered me the most was the cab service to the airport. I used it twice as not everybody in my family was leaving at the same time and I had completely different experiences. The first time I had a nice driver that posed no problems at all. But the second one was rude (he dropped my suitcase on the ground before putting it on the trunk) and also tried to charge extras for the ride. When I told him that I had paid part of the amount to the hotel (something the hotel requests when you book a cab), he told me that I did not have to pay anything to the hotel and I would have to pay the full amount in cash to him. As I refused to pay and said that I would call the hotel to discuss about this he used an ethnic slur and left.

Although this person was not an employee of the hotel, the cab company was referred to me by the hotel and everything was arranged by the reception desk, so I think that the hotel is partly responsible and that they should be more careful when choosing their partners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernando84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at Broadway at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Fernando84,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed the location and staff and hope you had a great time in New York City. We are sorry you didn’t like the breakfast. We continually reevaluate our free offerings and try to add as much variety as possible. We will also be upgrading the lobby area soon and expanding the breakfast area too.
We are sorry about your experience with the cab company. As you mentioned, they are not our employees, but we will certainly look into the problem.
We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
There are newer reviews for Broadway at Times Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 801 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

I booked this hotel in Oct for a May trip. Because I am not familiar with the area I asked for a room with a view. I was told that some of the rooms had great views and you could even see Times Square. A few days before our trip I called the hotel to inquire about something unrelated and was told that the hotel has no views except neighboring roof tops. I was so disappointed but we kept the reservation because it was too late to change the reservation and we were only sleeping there.

In all honesty, this hotel is the perfect location. It is within a block or two of Times Square, lots of restaurants, lots of shops and the theatres. We walked to everything.

The hotel was nice and the rooms were a little small. Honestly we had a room in the "03" stack and we were satisfied. The beds were very comfortable, appeared clean and the bathroom was actually pretty big. (for NYC that is)

The breakfast was okay- yogurt, fruit, toast, bagels, cereal, frozen waffles etc. The area was clean with a few tables and chairs. Overall it was an average hotel and I would stay there again for the location

Room Tip: Despite being told by someone in reservations that we could request a room with a view of Times Squa...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelinmama1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed in May with my wife and 5 year old daughter. Wow. What a deal. Location is excellent and room was just enough to make the trip a great one. In room 508, we were in the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. My daughter even caught a mid day nap between the Statue of Liberty and the Lion King. Staff was friendly and breakfast was perfect. Cable tv seemed not to work but we didn't use the tv at all. If you're on vacation and want to get around NYC, this is a great option. I'll stay again for sure before I even look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is not the Ritz -- but it IS a small, very friendly, reasonable hotel exactly where I want to be: half a block east of Times Square. My room on the 4th floor looked out on an air shaft -- meaning very, very quiet (apart from the pigeons). The sole elevator holds just five people, so sometimes slow to arrive (and unpleasant for strollers) -- but from the 4th floor, a quick walk down the stairs. The included breakfast is like a Hampton Inn but with better coffee. All the front desk staff are very pleasant and helpful, but a special thanks to Julio and Giovanni. I've been coming to New York for 20 years to go to the theater, and this is by far the best hotel overalll -- for the price -- I've ever stayed in. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a do-not-disturb door insert if you don't want housekeeping knocking your door at 9 AM...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank effieclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The big plus for this hotel is that it is only a few steps from Times Square and a reasonable price for NYC. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a faulty safe in our room and we were moved to a nearby room without any problem.
The breakfast was was very good and included some hot items such as eggs and sausage patties.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got a view of a brick wall, not unusual in NYC, and it was quiet exact...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExRNSTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#182 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#283 of 468 in New York City
3,561 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 468 in New York City
4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
986 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#64 of 468 in New York City
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway at Times Square Hotel

Address: 129 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8502 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $192 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadway at Times Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Broadway at Times Square Hotel offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Broadway at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Times Square
New York City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing