We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Exhibits”

The Morgan Library & Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 35.00*
and up
Lower Manhattan Tour: Wall Street and 911 Memorial
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just a short walk from Grand Central and Penn Station, the Morgan is a major exhibition venue for fine art, literature, and music, one of New York's great historic sites, and a wonderful place to dine, shop, and attend a concert or film.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Outstanding Exhibits”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

From illustrated children’s classics, to unpublished writings of great authors, the Morgan always has a fresh take on all things related to writing. The recently restored personal library of J.P. Morgan is reminiscent of the finest of Florence, Italy. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank nydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    358
    47
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Smallish museum, big on history and uniqueness. Terrific theater for film and lectured presentations.

Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must for every New York trip!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I'm a museum junkie, and this one is very nearly at the top of my Manhattan list. While I do love the Metropolitan Museum of Art, very often the scope of the exhibits there is too great, too exhaustive, especially for someone who reads, as I do, every single word of the interpretive material. It's sometimes difficult to get a clear overview with so much material presented. The Morgan, in contrast, has exhibits much smaller, and often accompanied by a timeline, so you can more easily place the art and artifacts in historical context. This was especially striking earlier in 2011, when both museums mentioned had exhibits of drawings from the time of the French Revolution, with many of the same artists represented in both.

There's a film available on the lower floor, with an overview of the life of J.P. Morgan, not to be missed.

If you're really lucky, you'll be visiting on a day when there's lunch served on the main floor -- I especially recommend the soup and sanwich combination -- good food, well-prepared. As to the more formal dining room, personal opinion here -- the ceiling's too low, the tables too close together (though no more so than most Manhattan restaurants, to be fair) -- if you're at all a claustrophobe, you will not be happy.

I consider the Morgan a must-visit every time I go to Manhattan, which is at least twice-yearly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Glorious space”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

With obvious pride in their work, the staff at the Morgan was friendly and helpful, and the exhibits were beautifully designed. We were advised to watch the 15 minute film about Pierpont Morgan, and it was worth taking in. The gift shop is amazing. We loved our visit to see In the Company of Animals (pages from the manuscript collection are always a thrill), but also enjoyed Dan Flavin and Rembrandt's World. A great place to spend a couple of hours.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank margalo399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and historic library”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Beautiful rooms, historic library, a peek at a historic house.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SophiesMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Morgan Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Morgan Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing