We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good size room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #220 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, good size room”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is in the garment district so is in a great location. Rooms are a good size for NYC and the fridge was a good size, microwave and stove so u can bring supplies in. Staff are friendly and if you are a priority club member you get 2pm checkout. Wi-Fi in room and print out facilities in lobby. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel here on Tripadvisor.com. We know that you had over 400 hotels to choose from when staying in New York City and we are very glad that you chose ours. We are glad that we were able to deliver excellent value to you, an IHG Priority Club Member. Please come by and see us again. Until then, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    766
    173
    34
    44
See reviews for
263
887
156
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I am so pleased that I picked the Candlewood Suites for my first trip to NYC. The location is very central yet quiet. The room was very spacious and absolutely spotless. The bed was huge and comfortable and the kitchenette was a bonus- it was great to have a cold beer after a long day's sightseeing. We were on the 12th floor and found the noise levels to be minimal. I would certainly stay here when I come back to the city. I would also recommend The Westway diner on 9th and 44th for a great low cost breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
The Candlewood Suites Times Square and the City of New York thank you for your visit! We are proud and grateful that you selected our hotel for your first trip to the Big Apple. Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay with the rest of the travel community here on TripAdvisor.com Have a great day and don't wait too long to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Since this was my first time to stay in Manhattan, I was not sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

Pros: VERY CLEAN, friendly and helpful staff, FREE guest laundry, FREE very fast Wi-Fi, FREE TV, well-stocked on-property convenience store (low prices), large room (by NYC standards), free coffee in room and in lobby, great proximity to Times Square/Tourist sights/Shopping/etc. Excellent, well-stocked kitchenette. Free DVD library available. 2 1/2 blocks to Subway station. More than enough towels provided for our family upon request.

Cons: The hotel was not on a main street so it was a little shady at night, but nothing to worry about. Parking is expensive everywhere in the city...it was $42 for 24 hours where we parked. You could hear what was being said in the hallway or when anyone on your side of the hallway opened or closed their door. AC/Heat unit switches from cool to heat in order to maintain the exact temperature in the room.

I would definitely stay here again. It was perfect for our short family vacation. For the price, location, and facilities, it cannot be beat anywhere in Manhattan.

Room Tip: All rooms have queen beds and a kitchenette. Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
We are very pleased to know that you and your loved ones enjoyed your time and stay with us here at the Candlewood Suites Times Square. We really appreciate you sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have made your first trip to Manhattan pleasant and we would love to have you back. You seem to have gotten the opportunity to enjoy a lot of what we have to offer and that you found such value in what we offer. Feel free to drop by anytime and than you for staying at the Candlewood Suites Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

This property is just five blocks away from Times Square and has all the in room amenities of home. A full sized refrigerator and even a dish washer. The room is not a two room suite like most, but this room was far more spacious than the Times Square property I stayed at for the remainder of my visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallmarksucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for your visit and for your Tripadvisor.com review. You now know the secret of the biggest challenge in the New York City hotel business, and we are glad you appreciated the size of our suites here at the Candlewood Suites Times Square. Now that you are a NYC hotel travel pro, we hope you grace our doorway again sometime in the near future. Until then have a great day and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

An affordable stay in midtown Manhattan. A short 8 minute walk to Times Square. Staff were friendly. Clean room, comfortable King size bed, with a kitchenette, good for budget travellers who prefer to microwave packed food or cook their own omelette. On the other hand, room is very small, so is the corridor (can't walk with pulling 2 suitcases behind you). Not an airport shuttle location, had to walk to the hotel a few doors down for the airport shuttle. And forget about having a view of anything, hotel is smack in between other buildings in the block, just like most of midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annazusS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for visiting our hotel and thank you for taking the time to write us a review as well here on Tripadvisor.com. Undoubtedly your detailed description of both the hotel and the surrounding area will prove very useful to future travelers. We appreciate your spending some time with us at the Candlewood Suites Times Square, and hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#134 of 468 in New York City
5,555 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 468 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#265 of 468 in New York City
3,975 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $217 - $504
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing