We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars hospitality! If you want to spend your money on your trip,not on the hotel, that's the place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Michelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Michelle
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 stars hospitality! If you want to spend your money on your trip,not on the hotel, that's the place!”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

If you're not looking for fancy hotels and don't mind spending 10 minutes on the subway to go downtown, I really recommend Michelle's b&b. Everything was clean and comfortable, the Internet was fast and the connection was really good, the breakfast was normal, but during the breakfast Michelle(the owner) made me company and gave me directions and tips of the best places to visit.
She helped me with my English difficulties and helped me finding the places I needed,even though I thought I'd never find my way through those subway lines.
The only problem, for me, was the heater. I don't know why it stopped working everyday about 11 pm and, as a Brazilian guy, sleeping on 20 Celsius is really cold for me. But it was not a real problem for me as Michelle gave me a lot of blankets.
I really recommend it. It's not a fancy hotel, but it's really worth the price and makes you feel like home.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LeonardoNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
74
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We rented Apt3 at Michelle's Bed and Breakfast in early November for several of us because we wanted to stay in the heart of Harlem for it's rich culture, cuisine, jazz, tours, architecture, museums and churches.

When we arrived, Michelle greeted us so warmly and friendly at her beautiful brownstone building that we immediately felt at home. She provided us with coupons, information about the neigborhood, internet access, maps, directions, places to eat, jazz lounges and everything you can imagine.

The apartment was absolutely 'spotless', very spacious and was decorated in a modern, chic style with wonderful colors that gave it a warm and cozy feel. The pictures she has posted are exact so we were very, very pleased.

Staying at Michelle's was the 'very best decision' we could have made and the location was perfect as it allowed us to really explore Harlem on foot. The neigborhood is very safe and everyone we met as we walked along the many streets were very friendly and helpful in sharing their opinion of places to eat. Michelle's is located within walking distance of everything we were interested in. We walked to the Lenox Lounge, Sylvia's, the Apollo, Bill Clinton's office, Astor Row, Lenox Wines, several supermarkets, Jacob's Soul Food, various Italian and French restaurants, nearby Cafes and several historical churches. Getting to Times Square via subway or taxi took about 20 mins which was fast.

We had purchased tickets for the Harlem Art Crawl which was on Saturday in East Harlem and it was awesome. This was an exclusive guided trolley tour of the art galleries in Spanish harlem and included a reception, wine and entertainment.

I would definitely recommend Michelle's Bed and Breakfast if you truly want a taste of Central Harlem and I definitely plan to return.

Blessings to you Michelle for making our stay truly a home away from home!

Sincerely,
Theresa in Chester, Va.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Prettydarnkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We chose this B&B based on your advice. I can only confirm this B&B has been a pearl for us (my wife and I).
A very low price for what she offers:
- Very Clean and quiet.
- Great extra value for free, like a computer and printer to print our tickets we bought online. Fridge.
- near the subway and buses
- Great advice without being invasive. She takes time for her guests. Ready to help/translate to solve the unexpected in your trip.
Just quoting her: 'I give to my guests what I would like to find for myself when I travel'
It's all about you and not the bussiness around it.
We know where we will stay next time in NY!! Hope you'll find something as good as this. Enjoy NY.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vbreuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TV
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Clean, close to the Subway and cheap good restaurants. Michelle is very kind and helpful, she'll give you all the information for a better holiday in NY. Staying in this B&B you can discover the "real" Harlem!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ask_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The perfect place to stay if you want to sleep in a quiet and cosy place after a day of visiting hectic NY ! Michelle is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfy, you feel just like at home. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ooxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4,729 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#207 of 467 in New York City
677 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,509 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
224 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Michelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Michelle

Property: Chez Michelle
Address: West 130th Street, New York City, NY 10027
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): $180 - $213
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the second floor of a new brownstone in the heart of Harlem, we are close to public transportation, great restaurants (Chez Lucienne, Red Rooster, Dinosaur BBQ, Corner Social, Maison Harlem etc) and shopping on 125th Street (H&M, American Apparel, Old Navy, Marshall's, Jimmy Jazz etc). Chez Michelle features 2 rooms. The James Dean share a bathroom with me, the John Lennon features a private bath. Each room is equipped with cable TV, air conditioner, cotton sheets and towels, air-dryer, Castille soap, free telephone. Free hi-speed internet and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Michelle Bed And Breakfast
Michelle Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing