We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish, turtles, gators OH MY!”

North Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke Island
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Beautifully designed and priced!
Very affordable for the size of the aquariums and displays...
A plethora of species - all happy and in great enclosures.
Lengthy yet memorable.
A lot of "hands on" displays, and please DO NOT bypass the turtles!
The animal technicians were so excited to talk about and teach about their " specified" species, from the hand touching sting ray tank to the turtle revitalization area.
I loved the outdoor dock over Looking the water and the large nests set atop a stoop above the water.
If you account for movies and videos it can be a 3 or more hour visit.
Lots of photo opportunities, this is a must see !

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Tinabuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shark tank"
in 178 reviews
"sea turtles"
in 121 reviews
"touch tank"
in 89 reviews
"rainy day"
in 140 reviews
"turtle rehab"
in 72 reviews
"dinosaur exhibit"
in 57 reviews
"horseshoe crabs"
in 23 reviews
"large tank"
in 18 reviews
"uss monitor"
in 14 reviews
"injured turtles"
in 14 reviews
"marine life"
in 21 reviews
"nice exhibits"
in 15 reviews
"gift shop"
in 54 reviews
"all ages"
in 49 reviews
"nice place to visit"
in 14 reviews
"great for kids"
in 21 reviews
"enjoyed our visit"
in 16 reviews
Filter

142 - 146 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

What a wealth of info on sea life. The display were so full of life and descriptive! It was Spring break and tons of people, especially kids, were visiting but we never had to wait but one minute to look into a tank or read a description. Wonderful time even for the older crowd

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 991suef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We loved our visit as a family. It was small enough that it didn't take a long time but big enough to have fun. We loved the sea turtle rehabilitation center!!! Also great prices to get in. This is a must stop!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank michtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We went to the aquarium for the second time today. The jelly fish exhibit was new since we were there last year. Enjoyed seeing the otters, sea turtle hospital and all the beautiful fish. Our daughters, aged seven and nine, love to visit here.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank A8401KNjenniferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Even though it is a small acquairium, I really enjoyed it. My favorite were the otters and the stingrays. I even got to touch the Ray's! They felt like suede.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank andeegirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke Island also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to North Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing