We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Deck looking Northwest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck looking Northwest
Deck View Cottage from top of Stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Deck looking Northwest
Deck View
Cottage from top of Stairs
Cottage from Waters edge
Driveway entrance to the Cottage
Living Room, Kitchen, Dining Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
Dining Area
Kitchen and Living Room
Living Area
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Bathroom
Outdoor Shower
Kayaker from cottage deck.
Lieutenant Island from Above
Sunrise from the cottage deck with view of Great Island and Wellfleet harbor.
Lieutenant Island boathouse. Loagy Cove.
Mid tide Lieutenant Island marsh near the bridge.
North side of the island looking east towards Loagy Bay
Driveway to the cottage, low tide, with view of Great Island.
Sunset view from the north side of the island
Sunset with Lieutenant Island in background.
Cottage bench at sunset with Great Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wellfleet, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daydream6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage location is perfect. It was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is small so if you love to cook or cooking for a family could be challenging. The deck is large with plenty of furniture to really enjoy the outdoor space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: Small kitchen.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
We're certainly happy to see that enjoyed the special location of the cottage and the deck! The "cottage" kitchen is well equipped and the layout is best depicted in the listing photos for size. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
85cherylk
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Privacy, peace, spectacular views”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were seeking isolation and privacy, which we got in spades. The cottage is located on a a peninsula that can't be accessed during the height of high tides - only private residences here. The bumpiest roads you will ever travel - don't bring the Ferrari! We were a few weeks before the summer season began so were almost totally alone. The location of the house is incredible, perched on the bluff overlooking the water. Not a swim-able beach. At high tide the sand is gone, at low tide the water is gone and mucky sand remains. But gorgeous. The highlight was being able to bring our dog and we enjoyed peaceful walks around the island with stunning scenery. And the zillions of sand crabs were a fun surprise. Not a 5 star rating because the house is a bit tired, and most disappointing was the poor condition of all of the sliding doors which normally would offer stunning views but all have broken seals and are heavily fogged. We gave this feedback to the owner who says it's planned to be addressed .Furniture in living room is tired and not cozy for hanging out. Kudos though for all new flooring and generally very clean inside.
Communications and responsiveness from the owner prior were great.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
We continually strive to do our very best to create a truly memorable stay for everyone visiting the cottage and we certainly do appreciate feedback and reviews from all our guests. The cottage has always been much more of a "rustic beach cottage" than that of a 5 star luxury home. The above issues have and will be addressed. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nkfelli
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful island retreat with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a week in July at this cottage in Wellfleet with my husband and infant son. We had a wonderful vacation. The setting the cottage is in is peaceful & relaxing but also close to shopping, dining & local activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very relaxing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianaD457...
Somers, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most relaxing, serene, and beautiful vacation EVER!”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

To say that this cottage is "waterfront" doesn't begin to describe how amazing the tidal show is each day.
The cottage itself is very casual; small but quite comfortable. Your arrival must be carefully timed so you are able to traverse the bridge onto the island..... or else you find the road covered with water. so right away you are close and attentive to the rhythm of the ocean. Lieutenants Island is a very special place that way.
Drew and Heather's cottage is one of the best locations on this peaceful island. The bay is right out your window no matter where you sit. When the tide goes out, you have the flats to walk on. It provides a wide open area of sand ridged by the outgoing waves, tidal pools, oysters and quahogs.... You might see someone checking their traps.......and a stunning sunset.
we were off season, but i imagine that the bay is perfect ( when the tide is in) for kayaking, swimming, etc.
You could sit inside, or on the awesome deck and have this wonderful show of tide going out and coming in....all the changes, and all the peace that just comes with being near this process. But it would be hard to resist exploring the island. Stay long enough to do both. We never left the island.
cottage was cozy and comfy. especially the bed in the master bedroom. We slept quite well. We were sad to leave and will definitely return.
Drew and Heather stayed in close contact via email, and answered any questions as they came up.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillNadea...
Wynantskill, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful seaside retreat”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spectacular location. Great for a couple or small family. Very private at the end of the island with immediate access to the water. Very nice amenities provided by the owner. Owner promptly responsive to questions in anticipation of the stay at this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Temperature control
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing