We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next stop Portugal....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marconi Beach

Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
285 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Next stop Portugal....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Went her for a view of the Atlantic surface, undisturbed from any land going east - aside Europe. When visiting this time of year (mid October) the crowds are gone, the parking lot is mostly empty (at least when we arrived around 10 am) and parking is free.
The beach is fantastic and it is a strange thing, that the next solid ground you'll bump into if you go swimming straight east is Portugal - that of cause depends on your navigational skills.
The beach requires that you're able to climb some stairs, and then you're rewarded with a fantastic view of the coast.
When we were there, the kids had a great time digging in the sand, finding crabs (mostly dead ones) and being scrutinized by a couple of very interested seals, which were swimming parallel to the coast.
I can from other pictures, see that there are horribly crowded during summer - so I include one almost without people.
Marconi beach is part of the national Seashore and absolutely worth a visit - also out of the season.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    94
    22
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow, great beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Marconi beach is just what you expect it to be: big large sandy beach, with fabulous steep cliffs, practically untamed nature, and where everybody is respectful of the environment, and it's one of the beaches that do not require any 3days/one week stickers, which means you can stay for the day (parking is $15) and there are restrooms, and outdoor showers... the water is ice cold of course, being on the atlantic, but we did swim and really enjoyed it. Bring your picnic at sunset!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank BeaBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big cliffs - nice beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Interesting to see where transatlantic wireless transmissions all began!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Such a scenic and beautiful beach - the water is on the colder side but it is not too crowded which is really nice during busy summer weekends.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jemma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beauty and convenience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Marconi Beach is part of the Cape Cod Nat'l Seashore, and we discovered that if you are 62 or over, you can get a lifetime pass to any Nat'l Park if you pay only $10. Otherwise you will have to pay $15 every time you go. This pass is only good at certain beaches though so check to make sure before you go because others are run by the towns.
We went early for the best spot, it has beautiful sand and the beach farthest to the right was populated with surfers, they also have 3 or more lifeguards. There is a dressing room and restroom before you go down to the beach, it is accessible by a large staircase. We enjoyed watching the grey seals play and feed early in the AM, they stay around for a while, but leave when it becomes crowded. You can also go and see the site of Marconi's 1st telegraph, and many people ride their bikes there, and hike the vistas on the cliffs are spectacular. There is no concession stand so bring your own cooler and food. Enjoyed our visit there daily.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank collapserelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marconi Beach also viewed

 

Been to Marconi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing