We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canyon de Chelly National Monument
Save
Review Highlights
Spiritual Rejuvenation

You could peer over the edge of this mini Grand Canyon or hike 600 ft, below and visit the canyon... read more

Reviewed today
FREEDOMadvisor
Beautiful Canyon, Unique View, Interesting Walks, Native Sellers

I arrived late afternoon on my first day and drove the south rim to enjoy the late afternoon sunset... read more

Reviewed yesterday
AlanFinLA
,
Los Angeles, California
Read all 1,733 reviews
  
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveller rating
1,350
291
71
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,350
291
71
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south rim navajo guide white house ruins canyon de chelly jeep tour spider roll visitor center thunderbird lodge cliff dwellings the national park service navajo land native americans navajo reservation ancient ruins off the beaten path new mexico spider rock overlook
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Great ... Awesomeness. Canyon floor and rim drives !! Uniquely amazing. Off the beaten path, but WELL WORTH IT ... go see it before everyone else does

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank SVota722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We took a long detour on our journey from Grand Canyon to Monument Valley and were glad we did. We were surprised to find that there is no charge for visiting.

We viewed the canyon from above taking the South Rim Drive and stopping at each of the seven overlooks some of which are alongside the road, others a few minutes walk from their car park.

All in all this took us a couple of hours.

After the crowds of Grand Canyon the peace and solitude came as a pleasant change, even on a holiday weekend there were only a handful of visitors. The canyon scenery was worth the visit, but the icing on the cake are the remains of the cliff dwellings which are best seen with aid of binoculars or a powerful camera lens.

So why only 4 stars? Well at the visitors centre we were the only "customers" and yet all the two rangers did was to give us a map and tell us that the round trip would take a couple of hours. A little more information would have been much appreciated.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I loved this whole place. Every stop was outstanding. Lots to see and explore. Well worth the trip here for sure!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DeanneHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Wonderful canyon! There's a North rim and a South Rim. They each have several outlook spots to observe ancient dwellings on the rock (amazing!), so consider taking at least two hours to drive along each rim. There's no loop, so you'll have to come back close to Visitor center in order to drive to the other rim. If traveling with children, they might complain through each outlook, but they'll LOVE the long hike down the canyon to see the ancient White House dwellings. Easy hike down, a bit tougher on the way up, but totally worth it!
We spent the first night at the Best Western in Chinle, the second night (after visiting the canyon) down in Winslow, at La Posada. Absolutely loved both hotels and highly recommend them!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank MomfromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Another one of my bucket list places to see and I loved it. Did the north and south loop drives and it took us maybe 2 hours total to do both. (So don't believe the brochure times, they say 2 hours each). We would get out at each spot, look around, take a few pictures, and then move on the next spot. Going to get in shape and come back sometime to do the White House Ruins Trail.

The north loop has a small (quarter to half mile) trail that takes you down to a drop off with ruin views. Hubby and I did that in our out of shape overweight bodies and did just fine. It was a little huff and puff coming back but not bad at all. If us overweight and fat people can do, then almost anyone can.

We entered from the west end in Chinle. Apparently there is a east entrance also that can take another several hours to get to.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank KatVoight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews