We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Boutique Hotel In San Diego” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #55 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel In San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here in Dec. for my best friend’s birthday, we figured it was safer to stay downtown rather than drive to and from North County. We were greeted by Valet who were very helpful in un-loading and loading the car. Daily valet rate was $25, which I think is a bit steep for such a small boutique, but the guys were very helpful. The front desk lady was super sweet and very welcoming.

Our room was absolutely beautiful, clean, well decorated, and overall fabulous. I will definitely be staying at the hotel again. I now prefer the small boutique hotels rather than the large corporate ones....kudos to the Bristol Hotel for an amazing job!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    422
    107
    45
    35
See reviews for
160
401
70
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Me and my wife stayed here on a day we went to San Diego. It was the best decision we've ever made. The room we stayed in 810 was very clean, beautiful, had nice view and on top of that people who work there were extremely nice and friendly. I'm usually very picky about the place I stay but I surely felt like I'm at home in this hotel. I'm looking forward to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarukKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was an excellent hotel and our main reason for choosing it was its location. Not only a great location but very clean and great service too. The main lobby was extremely spacious with a piano, clean hallways, clean rooms and bathrooms. The actual room was well furnished with a comfortable king bed. Absolutely no complaints except for the food and drinks selection...

We had a couple drinks at the bar but their draft beer selection is lacking (only Bud Light?!?!) so I went with the local Stone beer which was good. The breakfast wasn't bad but nothing to write home about. On the following days we just went to Coffee Bean Tea Leaf. We did not eat lunch or dinner there judging by the breakfast and we looked at a menu.

Like I said above, location is everything. You are in walking distance to the Amtrak (which we took in), the bay, Horton Plaza, Gaslamps, Seaport village, basically everything. For anything else I would recommend the Old Town Trolley Tours to see the rest of the city.

Highly recommended __IF__ you head over to the Gaslamps for food and drinks since there are plenty in that area!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and we were able to see the bay through 2 building...but it is possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Not a great view, but for the price, it's a great stay. Walkable distance from good food and night life. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cphaatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our room was large and well appointed. Extremely comfortable bed. The architecture of this hotel is stunning. The staff is the best, ever. We had a problem with noisy neighbors and the staff was immediately responsive and took care of the situation. The lounge is a great place for a drink and a bite to eat. There is a discount for hotel guests. The breakfast is the best I've ever had. Try the vegetarian eggs benedict or the oatmeal with orange sugar brûlée. Valet parking is half price if you drive a hybrid -- how cool is that! Speaking of cool, the location is great and the bus terminal referred to in some old reviews was torn down years ago. No noise problem from the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Lisa,

On behalf on the Bristol Hotel Team, I want to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write your “Sterling” review of your stay.

We work extremely hard to insure that our guests receive comfortable accommodations, great food and beverage and responsive guest service and it appears that we were right on the money! Not only have you made my day even better by reading your favorable comments, my staff is completely elated to learn of this as well.

With a heartfelt appreciation and recognition of our efforts, enjoy your day and we await your future visit.

Assuring you of my desire to be of service at all times.

Yours truly,
Gregory Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#50 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $157 - $324
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing