We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed here many times over the past 5 years when we visit our family in the area, and we really like this place. The rooms are extremely clean. If it's available we try to get the mini-suite, which is comfortable and spacious with sofa, comfy chairs, microwave and fridge, and an excellent wi-fi connection. Overall, the place is quiet and well taken care of, with pretty flowers and a super-clean heated pool, and the staff is always extremely helpful and nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your loyalty, and many kind words about us are very much appreciated by myself and our staff. Our team is dedicated to providing superior customer service, and being recognized for this is just a wonderful added bonus. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely, Len Regan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    311
    78
    19
    8
See reviews for
450
233
58
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here for three nights. Overall, it was a pretty good hotel. I wouldn't recommend staying here without a car though (free parking!) as it is one mile from the nearest tram stop. The continental breakfast has pretty standard food, but there's lots of variety. Lots of recycling here, which is also nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmarynowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write this review about your stay. I completely agree that a car makes it much easier to get around San Diego. And since we are conveniently located between two major freeways you can be downtown or at Sea World & Zoo within 15 to 20 minutes. We are currently in the process of upgrading our breakfast & lobby. So for the time being our breakfast items are prepackaged. However, all the same items we had in the past are still being served, except for the waffles. If you make a return trip to San Diego, we hope to see you again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Lamplighter met all my criteria for a good stay: the room was clean, quiet, didn't smell, and was well furnished. Ours had a kitchen area where we could make small meals and had all the essentials of cutlery, plates, etc. we needed. We didn't try the outdoor pool but I saw it be cleaned. The waffle maker wasn't in operation because of their breakfast area renovation, but they still had a nice selection of selection cereals, bagels, oatmeals, and fruit available. As others have noticed, the landscaping is very nice, with attractive flowers growing along the walkway. I felt that the manager was very responsive in my one request. Our family would definitely choose them again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hello Douglas, I want to say a heartfelt Thanks for your positive review of our hotel. While we are not a 4 star hotel. We do try very hard to make our guests feel comfortable. I was happy to help you with your request, and really all of our staff enjoy doing whatever we can to make your stay here enjoyable. -Len Regan / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We found this hotel to be a home away from home. The room was very clean, the housekeeping service did a very nice job.The grounds and pool area were very well maintained There was a great gas grill for the guests to use, which we took advantage of. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of towels in the bathroom. The breakfast was always well stocked and the availability to "rent" DVD's (for free) was a nice touch. The front desk staff were very polite and accommodating. The only minor complaint that we have has nothing to do with the hotel itself but the guests, the guest who chose to smoke outside of their rooms often threw their cigarette butt into the parking lots rather than using an ashtray which was not only unsightly but unsafe for those that don't have shoes on. We would defintely return to the Best Western Lamplighter Inn in the future!

Room Tip: Weekly rate was a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Sandra, Our staff really enjoyed meeting your family, And we are glad you chose our hotel as your homebase during your visit to Southern California. Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we appreciate the mention of our poolside BBQ. This electric start gas grill has been the center of many family gatherings over the years, and its nice to see guests from up north such as yourself who stay for longer periods be able to relax and grill outside. Something you won't be able to do at home for awhile. It was our pleasure to serve you, and should there be another family vacation to our area we would be excited to have you all back here at the Lamplighter.

Sincerely, Len Regan / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

best western diamond elite member; paid $64+tax in december-2011 which is good rate for value received; appreciate upgrade to family suite with kitchen with utensils and separate bedroom and living room; ralphs and vons grocery stores, walgreens,, cvs near by; some restaurants near by but did not try them

clean, comfortable basic accommodation; chose for high traveladvisor rating and not disappointed except for minor irritants as detailed below; helpful, courteous staff; older property but well maintained; nice firm comfortable beds; plenty of clean towels

bulbs above sink outside bathroom burnt out but not replaced for two days despite request;
at arrival, room very clean but housekeeping didn't clean interior of microwave where previous guest left spilled coffee & half full coffee cup but i didn't report instead cleaned myself;
flat screen tv in bedroom goes blank for 30 seconds each time channel changed [most annoying] so instead watched CRT tv in living room;
stayed 3 nights but housekeeping never left fresh paper coffee mugs or condiments packet until i left note asking for them; very clean room and well maintained property;
realize breakfast under reconstruction but general quality & variety of breakfast items poorer than comparable hotels;
provided soap, shampoo and lotion but no conditioner

would definitely stay here again & would recommend to others

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, Front Office Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were happy to be able to give you such a high upgrade being that you are a Best Western Rewards Diamond Elite member. And of course as you mentioned the central office did you give a very special rate because of your status with our chain. I apologize for not being more prompt replacement of bulbs or the microwave. We strive to make our guests comfortable and being proactive to guest requests. In this case we weren't and I am sorry. We're glad to hear you would visit us again, as we welcome the opportunity to do a much better job on your next stay.

Yours in Hospitality, Len Regan / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,065 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#105 of 279 in San Diego
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $145 - $344
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing