We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
116
184
107
33
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
184
107
33
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk pacific highway room was clean close to the airport convenient location trolley station train noise uss midway within walking distance gaslamp district balboa park free breakfast convenience
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Location was spectacular! Right on the marina! Marina Inn looked in need of some updating. Staff was super nice & extremely helpful. Unfortunately, construction was going on right next door, but since I wasn't in the room during working hours, I found it to be relatively quiet. The beds were very comfortable & it was super nice to have a microwave & refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Bathroom needs an update BAD! Need smaller chair for desk.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank sforth2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Feedback from our guests is always appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It's great to hear that our location was ideal for your trip and that our budget-friendly pricing suited your needs. We're glad you slept well and that the in-room appliances added to your convenience. Thank you for your suggestion regarding updating our property. We'll consider this moving forward and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I liked the location. The room was clean, but old. The bed was comfortable to us. The earplugs were nice since construction begins early next door. The staff was very helpful and friendly. For the price I would select this place again. The room we had wasn't bothered by the train noise neither.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 989davidh989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear David,
Thank you for making us a part of your journey to San Diego! We are blessed with a fabulous location and are so happy that it was a highlight of your experience. Our guests can get to many of sights of the city with just a few steps out of our front door! We're also pleased to hear that our service made a terrific impression. For another clean, cozy, and convenient stay in the heart of the city, choose us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Thank you for the stay. We had a late arrival and a early flight out the next morning and it was truly enjoyable to stay the night even for a short time at your hotel. Its close to the airport and has a lot of places to eat and drink near by. i would recommend this place to anyone that wishes an enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MStrauhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

It was our pleasure to host you at Marina Inn & Suites before your flight out of sunny San Diego! Thanks so much for choosing and leaving such kind remarks about our convenient location and quality offerings. We loved reading your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

After a shaky, first night start with some room issues (remote, safe and phone all not working), our remaining stay was completely turned around through the efforts of Victor, the hotel's front desk clerk. His willingness to listen, his understanding, and his subsequent actions on our behalf made the remainder of our stay a pleasure. In essence, we believe that it is not always the furnishings and decor of a hotel room which are most critical for a pleasant stay, but it is the quality and service of the staff which will carry the day. The beds were extremely comfortable and linens were top notch and plentiful, shower had lots of pressure and cleaning staff did a nice job. The location was THE BEST and that is what you are paying for. This small motel sits on a very valuable piece of land right across from the marina and right inside Little Italy. Everything around it has been demolished and new condo/apartment complexes are going up. Even though the whole motel is "tired" (frayed carpet, paint in rooms needing to be touched up, mold in the showers, chipped tiles and paint) it will not likely be fixed. I see this motel being "gone" in the next year or two. Don't hesitate to stay here before then, but get the best rate you can.

Room Tip: Get the best discount you can; don't set your expectations to high.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cannelle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Nothing makes us happier than hearing that one of our staff members was able to turn what could have been an unpleasant experience into a great one. We will share your kind compliments with Victor as he will be thrilled! Although you found some aspects of your room to be below our usual standards, we are glad that you enjoyed how clean your room was and hope you were able to get the rest you needed on our cozy beds. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The personal is really kind and helpful, the hotel is perfectly located in front of the harbor. On the down side, it needs a full restoration (the bathroom screen is from 1960 or so...), they have not enough parking places, and we found two cockroaches

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank David_HMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear David,
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you liked our location directly on the harbor and found our team friendly and helpful. Nevertheless, it is disheartening to hear that you found our hotel dated and our parking area tight. Also, we are sorry that you had an issue with pests in your room. Our team is always available to assist our guests during their stay. We will share your valuable feedback with our team to help us improve. The next time you visit the area, we hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews