We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #10 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was very impressed with the hotels attention to detail and organization. Halls and rooms were very clean. The breakfast room was big for families and business travelers, and very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast itself was fun and there was a variety - waffles, fruit, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, etc. The hotel was completely full and still there was plenty of room in the breakfast room.
The one detail that I especially enjoyed in the room was the 5' long kitchenette. It was convient and spacious. The room charge was very reasonable for everything I received. I'm going back here when I need a place to stay again in San Diego.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind comments about the Old Town Inn. We greatly appreciate that you pointed out all the amenities, the cleanliness of our rooms, and all the items we offer in our deluxe continental breakfast, which we are delighted that you enjoyed! Thank you again for the positive feedback of the Old Town Inn. Your comments are truly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mike M ~ Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,110 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

First of all I have loved san Diego since I was a kid, I live in las Vegas and now my fiancee and I go there often(especially with him being in navy) anyway in Dec. 2011 we went to san Diego for a football game and ended up going to old town 3
Days later, they have a little something for everyone, museums, great Resturants(with great service, shopping, and one of the most historical haunted houses(whaley house). We walked around for hours and we are thinking about going back this year.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbarbie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear cbarbie76 - Thank you for writing the wonderful review of our property. It is always wonderful and helpful to see what pleases our guests so we may continue providing the service our guests expect. During football season we do tend to get busy but what’s great about staying with us around this time is that we are walking distance to public transportation; the Trolley-Green line will take you directly to Qualcomm-Stadium. We are centrally located, just a short walking distance to Old Town Historic Park. Hopefully during your next visit you will take advantage of our free and thoughtfully selected movie library found in our lobby. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward making your next stay a memorable one.

Sincerely,

Anna Flores
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A great small hotel,very friendly and excellent value. All staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Good location as we did not have a car,near to trolly bus and Old Town and reception staff were happy to give us directions or order us a taxi. Good selection for breakfast and enjoyed having coffee and tea on tap in the reception area. Our room was very large and clean with comfortable beds. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank efqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Were you my late night tea-goers that were here a few weeks back that came in for tea every night around 11pm? A lot of our guests that are traveling internationally find our proximity to the Old Town Transit Station to be very convenient. I think that for some of the more popular attractions like Sea World and the Gaslamp District, it is actually more convenient to take public transit than it is to drive. For people traveling here from other countries that are used to driving on the opposite side of the road, and unfamiliar with San Diego, I can imagine it might actually be a relief not to have to try and navigate our roads and highways. As you mentioned, we’re happy to call a taxi for any of our guests, or assist you in finding the best route via public transit to whatever your destination happens to be. Thank you again for your kind review!

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently travelled with family (all adults) this was the perfect stay in every way, rooms ( adjoining) very clean beds very comfortable, made use of laundry facilities available. Breakfast was very good highly recommend the waffles. Pool area very nice, front staff were very helpfull. this hotel is perfectly located to accessing public transport. The trolley sevice is a short 5 minute walk from hotel, San Diego has a very good public transport service available, the front desk are able to provide info on how to get around, we found this extremly helpful. All the transport drivers are very friendly and will go out of their way to assist tourists.

Many excellent restaraunts with in a 10 minute walk. Must try the Mexican food at one of the many restaurants in Old Town, there are many other types of food to choose from as well. All food is very well priced.
I would definately stay at Old Town Inn again, I highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Recommend the family suite for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elusivedream50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn, when you and your family had so many other hotels to choose from. It is wonderful to read that we pleasantly surprised you and your family, from our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, to our outdoor pool area, to our clean and comfortable rooms to our front desk staff. We love when we can make our guests feel right at home and be able to exceed their expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for the recommendations you made to future guests and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family! We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Mike - Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights and chose the hotel for its location. We had a rehearsal dinner in La Jolla and a wedding on Coronado. We knew that we also wanted to visit Old Town and the Gas Lamp area. The hotel was perfectly located for access to freeways and one could easily walk to Old Town. We were happy to have free parking, in a safe and well lighted parking lot. The hotel is spotlessly clean and maintained. The staff were friendly and always helpful. Breakfast is included and is a nice touch. We chose toasted whole wheat bagel and a freshly hard boiled egg, washed down with OJ and a cup of tea. There were choices of cereals and waffles as well. A nice way to start the door at no extra charge. We highly recommend this hotel for a perfect stop over.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank framinles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Hello Framinles,

Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor especially such a lovely one. We are most definitely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us from the rooms to the deluxe continental breakfast, free parking, and the easy ability to get almost anywhere. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Diego!

Sincerely,

Rebecka
Front Desk Agent | Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 279 in San Diego
2,303 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $139 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing