We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #21 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is the third or fourth year we stay at this hotel and we will continue to come back when in San Diego to take the kids to the zoo, Sea World, Coronado, La Jolla, etc. It's affordable, clean, and great customer service. All employees are super nice. There is a continental breakfast and last time we were there they had a large spread of food. You can go from healthy hard-boiled eggs to not-so-healthy waffles with syrup. You can reserve a big room or small room. We've been in both, and both were great experiences. It all depends on the size of your group. It's walking distance from Old Town. You are around the corner from Subway, Chipotle, Target and all other type of convenient places. There is a pool too, but we have never used it. When we have stayed at this hotel, we have always left early in the morning to our day activities and come back really late to just go to bed. I have already recommended this place to family and friends that were looking for a budget hotel and they were happy too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTITL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being a returning guest and for sharing your experience with so many on TripAdvisor! It is a joy knowing that you and the family keep returning not just to our hotel but to our wonderful city, San Diego, there really is a lot to do and see here. We are delighted to know that you and the family enjoy our clean rooms and our complimentary continental breakfast every time you stay with us. We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike M
Front Desk Agent | Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    596
    130
    30
    20
See reviews for
603
590
80
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

motel was nice,clean,hotel staff was friendly and knowlegable.metro and old town was in walking distance.short commute to everything by rail

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwandyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights in March 2012. Hotel was simple, convenient and clean which was exactly what we were looking for. Price was reasonable as we booked months ahead. Breakfast was decent for it's class. Free WiFi was a bit spotty in many areas and going up and down. Location is very near to most shopping and food areas. I'd stay again. Reception was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Old Town Inn is a basic, no-frills place to stay in a very convenient location.

The Inn is just a block away from Old Town San Diego and since it’s on a main road, I believe it would be safe to walk that block. Also, one of the main, public-transport stations is just down that same block where you can move about the city by train, bus, or trolley.

Hubby and I stayed in a double room on the top (3rd floor). Since we were right next to the street, there was some road noise even with the doors and windows shut, but it wasn’t loud enough to bother either of us. Since many rooms are located well off the street, if this sort of noise bothers you, you could ask for a different room when you book your stay. The room was very clean. Beds are fairly comfortable – just a tad bit hard for my personal taste. Breakfast included cold cereals, pastries, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, canned fruit, orange juice, and do-it-yourself waffles – in short, nothing fancy, but good enough to start the day. Their coffee was quite good. The pool/breakfast area was very pretty with lots of flowers. The staff – including housekeeping – was very nice.

There are only a few reasons I didn’t give them a 5-star rating. The wallpaper in the rooms is starting to peel which gives a sense of neglect since it would be easy to fix. Also, the coffee cups are TINY – it would make us coffee-drinkers a whole lot happier if they were full-sized.

Hubby and I definitely plan to stay here again – maybe later this year. We love the location and the price!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms toward the back of the hotel if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3CatMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us and for giving us such great feedback. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean.

We are in a unique area for our hotel, the owner likes to joke that we “are nowhere but minutes to everywhere!”, and I have found that he is right on. The great benefit of our location is that you can easily and quickly get to many famous San Diego attractions, we’re less than 3 miles to Sea World, about 3 miles to the airport and less than 10 minutes driving time to Balboa Park and the Zoo. Also, you can walk to the San Diego bus and trolley station, making it easy to get around town if you don’t have a car. We do our best to familiarize our guests with our location on our website, including a lovely map showing our relation to the Old Town State Park and other major attractions in San Diego.

I’m glad to know that noise was not an issue for you and your husband. Thank you for recommending to others to ask for a room away from the street if noise is a problem. We also offer earplugs at the front desk free of charge.

I am happy to inform you that we are currently going through some renovations in our rooms and we hope you will notice the difference when you return, hopefully later in the year.

Thank you again for your comments, we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality, and have done their research, which describes your review pretty well. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations, and hopefully next time we can go above and beyond them. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Alex ~ Customer Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family in March. It is very close to everything, but the location is a little different, not a bunch of hotels but sort of semi warehouses. You can walk to old town in about five minutes. The staff was so organized, we asked for directions to the nearest grocery store and were given a printed sheet with directions to pretty much everything you might need. Also suggested some great restaurants.
Room was clean, breakfast was nice (bagels/muffins/make own waffles/juice/hardboiled eggs/cereal/ toast, fruit and so on)
I was very pleased that the pool was heated enough for my kids to swim in March, it was a great way to wind down after a long day at Midway and the zoo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sorgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
The Pearl Hotel
#19 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $152 - $240
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing