We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Location!”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
lancaster, california
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nites. I got a free upgrade to my original booking. The breakfast that is included is really great: hardbolied eggs, fresh fruits, toast, bagels, muffins, danish, waffles, (3) cold cereal choices, oatmeal, orange juice, peanut butter, cream cheese, butter, jelly--all the extras; and of course coffee, tea. The room was very clean.. The location is wonderful--a very short walk to Old Town. Equally short drive to local attractions. Access to trains and tours. The hotel does have a pool--but, alas, no jacuzzi. Towels are provided poolside. WiFi available. There is also a computer in the lobby for use. Free parking at the hotel. We noticed multiple hotels close to Old Town charge for parking or have on street parking only. Only complaints: a bit noisy with outside traffic & trains; thin walls also--hear others flush toilets. Bed mattress very comfortable; however, pillows too soft. They put (4) pillows on bed--all soft. There should really be a mix--(2) soft; (2) firm.VERY hospitable hotel staff! I would stay here again! Very pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quiter--away from traffic & train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppingdiane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    614
    133
    31
    20
See reviews for
629
608
83
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Excellent hotel for the money. Great front desk staff answered many questions and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience, and hope your next visit to San Diego will bring you back to the Old Town Inn so that we can have the pleasure to serve you again. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Mike M - Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Old Town pre-cruise at the end of February. We stayed two nights in a jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi was huge and very clean! The room was large and clean, as was the big shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here if we make another trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankenmuth MI 48734
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This property is an exceptional value. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast, close to old town. A special Thanks to Anna, for her help in securing our room for an additional two nights. The attention \offered to guests is great. If we re-visit the area; we will certainly return to this very delightful property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Let me start by saying that I been staying at this hotel going on 11 years and the hotel staff works extremely hard to make the guests comfortable and they also give helpful advice if you ever need it my most recentstay there. Was something unexpecting and crude. I was having a friendly conversation with the general manager when all of a sudden we were interrupted by a young couple who barged into the hotel lobby and acted totally theaterical as though they were plotting this they told her that they were blood stains on their bed and they saw a hunormus cockroach crawling in their room and they were demanding a free night at the hotel. That really turns me off that people like that think they can get away with treating these hard working employees with such disrespect ,if what they said is true I'm sure they could've approached the hotel manager at a professional level the hotel management there is really good about resolving this kind of stuff but I know a phony when I see one and this young couple really takes the Oscar no matter where I am in San Diego this hotel will always be my home away from home I mean if these people don't have money to cover their hotel bill they should at least get a price on the room and save up for it other than conning the hotel manager for a free night

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomatocfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $156 - $262
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing