We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value for San Diego” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #23 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for San Diego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I thought Old Town Inn was a good value - clean room, nice lobby with fireplace, and friendly front desk. If you want a 5-star, fancy hotel this is not for you. But we found it very acceptable for under $100/night in San Diego - in close proximity to Old Town restaurants. One suggestion is to ask for a room away from the Pacific Highway. The traffic noise was not bad, but our room was in the middle - and we heard virtually no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for something a few rooms away from Pacific Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank splash's_pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear “Splash’s_pal" - We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Town Inn. As many of our guests find, the savings of $30.00-$80.00 per night (or more!) versus staying at some of the larger hotels on the eastern edge of Old Town turns out to be a great choice. Our prices for our deluxe and economy rooms are always very competitive, our rooms are always very clean, and our beds are extremely comfortable.

As you mentioned, some guests may prefer to stay in a room toward the back of the property so that they can be further away from the street. I think for anyone that is a light sleeper that is a good idea. I am a light sleeper myself, but have not had any trouble sleeping at our hotel, even when I stayed in room 201, which is one of our rooms closest to the road. It is actually one of my favorite rooms here at the hotel because it has a very large arched window on the side adjacent to the street that the other rooms do not have, so the room is very light and bright. We do try to ensure the comfort of our guests when it comes to noise issues, if any of our guests ever have an issue with noise coming from another guest room, someone is available at our front desk 24 hours a day to address the issue for them. If you ever have a problem, we want you to call us so that we can do our best to take care of it for you. We also offer ear plugs at the front desk for those guests who may be more noise sensitive.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you back at the Old Town Inn soon!

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    574
    129
    28
    21
See reviews for
580
575
79
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have been staying at the Old Town Inn for at least 6 years. They have always provided me with a fresh, clean, well-maintained room, comfortable bed, ample breakfast, and a wonderful staff! Their pool is in a quiet, sheltered area that allows you to relax. The Inn is a short walk to the San Diego Trolley system, and near the Airport. Old Town is also a short walk for food, drink, and entertainment.

Many of the staff members are long-timers and actually make you feel like they care about you being back for another visit. Beatriz and Anna are two of the managers whom I have met and they are very proud of their establishment and its employees.

I highly recommend the Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radio1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear valued guest - It’s always a pleasure to have you back as our returning guest and we are delighted to know that you always enjoy the cleanliness and the amenities we offer. We always do the best possible to meet the comfort and convenience of your stay at the Old Town Inn. Thank you very much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you in the lobby of the Old Town Inn in San Diego soon.

Mike M - Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We love this place. My family goes to San Diego a few times a year and we love Old Town Inn. It's a clean, cute Inn with a terrific continental breakfast. The location and price can't be beat. They don't charge for parking like other large hotels and the staff is super friendly.

Room Tip: The cottages near the pool are the best value, but the rooms further from the pool are more modern a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Nice place, good helpful staff, clean, a little out of the way, but close to public transportation, the airport & Old Town. I'm not sure I'd walk in the area at night, but we had no problems.
I'd stay here again if I get back this way, probably would be better for someone with vehicle, we walked and rode bikes. My only complaints, the bed was too soft for me...and no fault of the hotel, but someone let their dog keep barking while they walked it.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Old Town Inn. We are delighted to have had you as our guest, and even happier that we were able to meet your expectations and hopefully go above and beyond them. Thank you for giving our AAA 2-star hotel a chance to provide you with the service that we pride ourselves in. Here at the Old Town Inn, our company culture is to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests.

I was saddened to read that you found our beds too soft. We tested a lot of beds and the owner personally tested the Beautyrest at home before deciding to replace all of our mattresses with their top of the line Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop Mattresses. Their pocketed coil springs are small, individually wrapped, strong and durable. These mattresses also have layers and layers of cushioning foam. Most of our guests love them but as you can imagine, it’s very hard to get the beds just right in a hotel because everyone has their own preference.

All of us at the Old Town Inn would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words, and we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed two nights and was just right for the < $100 pricetag. A little out of the way for non Old Town destinations, but within a convenient 10 minute drive. The room was clean and we felt safe despite the industrial nature of the area. Close to the airport without being next door, which was helpful for a 7 am flight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbergma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. It gives us a chance to improve where we need to, and also lets us know when we have done a good job. The Old Town Inn staff strives to provide our guests with quality, affordability, and of course great customer service. Our hotel is centrally located, just minutes from Old Town, the airport, Sea World, and downtown. We are happy to know that you found our location to be convenient and safe despite the fact that we are located in an industrial pocket.

As I’ve mentioned in previous reviews, The Old Town Inn had its origin in 1945 when the owner’s grandfather retired as a Brigadier General in the Marine Corps. He came to San Diego to remedy a problem he’d experienced in the military: a lack of quality, affordable lodging for servicemen and their families. At the time, Pacific Highway was the only road for weary travelers coming from Los Angeles and Orange County. Our hotel was the first in a line of hotels that stretched to the downtown area. Though there have been many changes and renovations, our hotel is still committed to its original philosophy: to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit San Diego.

Sincerely,

The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#41 of 283 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Sommerset Suites Hotel
#22 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $135 - $217
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing