We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay, friendly staff”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #10 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My husband had to work in SD for a week, and I tagged along. We chose the Old Town Inn because it was within the moderate price range his company allowed and offered a kitchenette (nice for a somewhat extended stay).

The room was clean, comfortable, fairly spacious, and had a mini fridge, microwave, sink, range--we requested the kitchen supplies, which were just about anything you could ask for, including toaster. (Eating in the room is such a great way to save money on food and eat more healthily.)

When we first got to our room and found it was very dark, we asked if we could change to a sunnier room, which the manager(? not sure--the woman at the front desk) did her best to remedy--the room she put us in got more natural light, but was still pretty dark.

Major pros:
- My husband is picky about hotel beds, but he loved the mattress. Says he would return just for the comfy bed.
- Staff was friendly and helpful
- ample continental breakfast included waffles, cereal, bagels, pastries, fruit, hardboiled eggs
- five-minute walk from Old Town State Historic Park
- grounds were pleasant, well kept (I enjoyed lounging poolside--the water was warm, though I didn't go in)
- cozy, welcoming lobby with armchairs and DVD library
- internet cable in room (safer than Wi-Fi)

Cons:
- even the room we were transferred to was still pretty dark (maybe because all the rooms that have kitchenettes are in the corner of the building, and the rooms that get light don't have kitchenettes?)
- we had some trouble trying to fiddle with the termostat to get it the right temperature
- the neighborhood felt, to me, kind of unsafe for pedestrians (fast moving traffic with nothing between the sidewalk and the road), though there were plenty of people walking around

Overall, we had a great stay and would gladly come back--seems like a great value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virgiliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
I’m glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our kitchenette room and made use of our kitchen pack which does include everything you need to prepare meals in your room. Some of our kitchenette units are located in a corner of our deluxe building and I understand your comment about wishing there was more natural light that would shine into that room. When that building was designed and built, one of the biggest concerns was that they didn’t want to have any rooms directly next to the elevator, so the elevator column was placed further out from the rooms. As a result, it does block sunlight to some of the guestrooms located in that corner. Having stayed in a hotel once where the room was located on the other side of the wall from the elevator, I can understand why they built it this way. Having an elevator next to the head of your bed makes it near impossible to sleep. We have tried to remedy the situation by adding brighter bulbs in these rooms and placing a ceiling light right over the kitchenettes.
If you do come back to stay with us again, and a room with one queen bed and a kitchenette will meet your needs, let us know. Some of those rooms are further away from the corner so you will get more sunlight.

I’m glad to hear your husband enjoyed the mattress, that’s one of my favorite features in our guestrooms too. We have Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses in all of our rooms and I also find them very comfortable. When the hotel was trying to decide what type of mattresses to buy, the hotel owner actually tested out a Simmons Beautyrest at home just to make sure it was a choice that our guests were going to be happy with as well. We began doing triple sheeting in all the deluxe rooms recently, and our guests seem to be enjoying that change as well. I do still have the occasional guest that will call to ask me where the blankets for the bed are, and then I explain how triple sheeting means that there is actually a sheet underneath and on top of the blanket on the bed. I personally like to get an extra blanket for colder nights, and we have plenty available for any guests that would like to request one.

As you mentioned in your review, we have 10 rooms in our deluxe building that have a hardwired internet connection, which is great for anyone who is concerned about security issues that can come up when using wireless internet service. Since you mentioned that was a feature you liked having, definitely make sure to mention that if you stay with us in the future so that we can reserve one of those rooms for you. Thank you again for your kind review.

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,152 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

for the price! I just returned from a week in San Diego. This motel has definitely
been around for a long time, but it was spotless, the breakfast was just as it is
at any chain motel--waffles,fruit,etc., helpful staff, and right across the street
from Old Town and a major bus and trolley center, just as they advertise.
I was in an economy room, because of the extraordinary rate, and I think I would
choose the more expensive rooms next time--only because mine was in a different
section,a bit removed from the main complex.
I am sure the rate was because of room location and it is a bit off-season, but my
flight from NC and room were slightly under $1000...not bad!!
Earplugs might be a good idea for light sleepers...some plane noise and traffic
sounds early in the evening.

Room Tip: I think the rooms close to the dining room and lobby looked like they might be a bit better, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gogogirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, we are proud to hear that your stay at our hotel was clean, convenient, and affordable. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our company culture is based in providing quality you can afford, along with a friendly, knowledgeable and reliable staff. We take great pride in making your stay an enjoyable experience. The Old Town Inn is all about providing the budget smart traveler with an affordable and memorable stay, and we appreciate your feedback. Again, thank you for giving us a try and we hope to see you next time you visit San Diego.

Sincerely,

Alex - Customer Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the old town inn for 5 days in January 2012.
we went to this hotel because of positive reviews it was getting on tripadvisor.

The room was always clean, the staff was very welcoming and helpful and the location is awesome! just a drive of 15 minutes to sea world. san doego zoo and more!

The only issue we had we this hotel is its WIFI. the WIFI was free of charge but not very good, on our first night we changed rooms because we couldnt connect to it at all. after that night, we could connect to it only in a certain point in the room and it got disconnected alot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeredMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and choosing the Old Town Inn based on all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty with the Wi-Fi. We are currently working with out provider to upgrade our wireless internet infrastructure.

Thank you again for choosing the Old Town Inn and we look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to San Diego.

Mike M
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Great hotel. Not only was the location perfect for MCRD graduation but it is very near Old Town.
The breakfast is great, lobby computer was wonderful, and rooms were comfortable.
The staff was so friendly and very helpful.
I am extremely satisfied with my choice and will recommend Old Town Inn to anyone looking for outstanding lodging in San Diego!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "newer" rooms but I am sure the older rooms around the pool area are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn San Diego. We appreciate your kind words. It is always wonderful and very helpful to know what pleases our guests so that we can continue to provide service that exceeds expectations. We are a AAA 2 Diamond hotel with a staff that strives to accommodate our guests in every way possible, from quality and affordability to amazing customer service. We appreciate your recommendations and we are glad you found our proximity to MCRD and Old Town enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Alex - Customer Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

All in all a good place to stay in San Diego. Good Value.

PROs
- Friendly accomodating staff that do all they can to help (Seems a very good culture - we stayed in 10 different hotels during our trip and housekeeping at Old Town were the only ones to write a thank you note for their tips)
- High quality breakfast for a "continental" breakfast
- No road noise, no airport noise
- Located quite a way from downtown
- Area is fine for walking around in the day and early evening
- supermarkets and wide range of shops nearby
- convenient to freeways, shops
- Lobby has continuous coffee available
- Rooms spacious and clean

CONs
- Breakfast area doesn't have many tables and will fill quickly in busy periods
- Depot out the back starts operations early in the morning, usually with a thumping of the metal doors
- Located quite a way from downtown
- Probably wouldn't walk around the area late at night
- Wifi only works well in the lobby, is unreliable elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperDuperCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay in San Diego. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The comments let us know where we need improvement, also when we’ve made our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible. We appreciate you mentioning the convenience of our location. As you know, we are located in a somewhat industrial pocket with the bus and trolley station a short walk away. Many of our guests who prefer to take public transit find this very convenient. It is helpful to know that the front desk provides earplugs for anyone who is a light sleeper.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, although we are sorry to hear that you had problems with the wi-fi connection. All of the Old Town Inn staff reads the TripAdvisor comments, and we take your comments very seriously. Right now we are working with our wireless provider to upgrade our wireless internet infrastructure.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you again for your detailed comments, and again, we really appreciate your great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alex - Customer Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 279 in San Diego
2,303 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $139 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing