We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great location, great view of the bay on higher floors.
Rooms very spacious, but decor a bit old, especially carpet and bathroom
Wifi did not work properly on higher floors.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear D Y,
Thank you for the feedback after your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the bay views and convenient location in the heart of San Diego. I'm happy to report that we are renovating all guest rooms, suites and grand club beginning in May 2012. During this time we are also upgrading our internet bandwidth to 400 MBPS, which is a huge signal that will reach flawlessly throughout our entire hotel. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to experience these upgrades firsthand.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,800
    1,956
    594
    217
    162
See reviews for
1,303
1,424
204
3,123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is my first review, so bear with me, but I am a longtime traveller under all sorts of conditions: hostelling, camping, B&Bs, all inclusives, luxury and plain Jane hotels. I stayed several days at this hotel for a conference. What stands out most about this hotel is the staff. I have never been treated so courteously and felt so welcomed by hotel staff at all levels as here: desk clerks, bell hops, bar staff, and maids. I do not think the rooms are particularly special, but they are pleasant enough and well maintained. Full breakfast buffet was $25; cereal bar $17, as I recall. The buffet was very nice, but I think too pricey especially if you are not going to pigout at a buffet. I would like to have had the option of ordering a small breakfast from a menu (not available), but wait staff was very amenable and let me know omelets from the buffet were $8 and each side or beverage thereafter was $4, so I was able to have a nice breakfast for $12. There is a pickup sandwich/breakfast shop. Also just outside the hotel on the marina are many restaurants a short walk away. The h'ordeurves and dinner catered by the hotel for the conference were very good, especially the h'ordeurves. The location of the hotel was also very convenient to shops, the Gaslamp district, the convention center, and the aircraft carrier museum. Concierge was extremely helpful during my stay. What did I miss? There was no complimentary hotel shuttle to and from the airport, which seemed odd to me. Also not much convenient public transportation to the museums and zoo that I could see. So overall a very good experience and an outstanding experience with hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalacticTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear GalacticTrotter,
Well for your very first review I'd say you did quite well! Thank you for the great feedback - we pay very close attention to all of our reviews as they help us to grow or improve where need be. We're delighted to hear about your recent experience with us and happy you found our staff especially accommodating, our location convenient and our rooms well-kept.
I did want to point out that our Sally's Seafood on the Water does offer a la carte sit-down breakfast dishes on weekends, as another breakfast dining option while staying with us.
Also, Old Town Trolley Tours offers trips to Balboa Park so perhaps you'd like to arrange a trip during your next visit. We do hope you'll be back to see us again soon. Until then, take care!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

If you want to be near downtownSan Diego, the convention center, and/or Seaport Village, the location of this hotel is great, and many of the rooms have water views. However, the rooms are very standard without some of the amenities you would expect for a Grand Hyatt. There are no makeup mirrors, the lighting is very dim in the rooms and bathrooms, the shower and hair dryer blast you with water/air. There is no free wifi anyplace on the hotel site. Things are dated and worn. Right now all of the shops save an art shop which is going out of business are closed. New owners have purchased the property; so, perhaps they are planning renovations. The hotel needs them.

On the plus side, service in the restaurants and check-in was professional and friendly, and the beds were quite comfortable with large duvets. The concierge desk was eager to help, knowledgable and had good local maps for restaurants and shopping. The breakfast buffet, while expensive, was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold items.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reno_NevadaTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Reno_NevadaTrvlr,
We appreciate your candid comments here on TripAdvisor. You are correct, the Manchester Grand Hyatt is now owned by Host Hotels & Resorts and we will begin renovating all guest rooms, suites and grand club starting in May 2012! The new rooms will possess a fresh look and feel with subtle nods to the rich maritime history alive in San Diego. Also, our gift shop is currently undergoing renovations as well, but all sundry items are available for purchase at our Redfield's Deli (Lobby Level, Seaport Tower). We also currently offer a "Park and Surf" package which is inclusive of self-parking and high-speed internet during the length of your stay - perhaps this package would be of interest to you during your next visit.
We do hope you'll be back to experience these new renovations firsthand. If I can be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My boyfriend and I always book through Hotwire and thought we might be treated differently at this high class hotel because of it. We were pleasantly surprised. We traveled about 7 hours to get to this hotel and we ended up arriving an hour before check in. This was no problem, we were given a room right away. We were in awe when we opened the door to the hotel. Not only did the front desk give us a room early, but they also gave us a corner room. Very large, three windows with incredible views, nice sized bathroom and a very comfortable bed. My boyfriend and I were never treated any differently, not even when we walked into the hotel with a bad full of food from home. Great hotel! Only disadvantage is the pay to park garage, but that's to be expected in a big city hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorganeK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear MorganeK24,
We greatly value each and every guest and aim to provide truly authentic hospitality to everyone who walks through our doors, so we are very happy to learn of your experience! Thank you for sharing and we hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon! We continuously offer specials on our "Special Offers" page on our website (one includes self-parking during your stay if that is something that might interest you), so be sure to check our site for updates and current special offers. Also, Hyatt offers its Best Rate Guarantee when you book on Hyatt.com. With no booking fees, you can book any Hyatt brand including Park Hyatt, Andaz, Grand Hyatt, Hyatt Regency, Hyatt Place and Hyatt Summerfield Suites and get the best rate available anywhere online.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great, great location, walking distance to many terrific sites and things to do in San Diego. A little pricey, but that wasn't a surprise. Very helpful staff. The main pool was closed for a private wedding, which I'm sure was lovely for them, but a bit of an inconvenience for the rest of us paying guests. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Randy B,
We are thrilled to hear you found our location conveniently located bay front in the heart of San Diego and our staff to be helpful throughout your stay. We do close our main pool for private events on occasion but we do offer our Kin Oasis pool (3rd floor, Harbor Tower) during these times and both pools are never closed at the same time, so I hope you were able to enjoy Kin Oasis during your stay. If I can be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,503 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#52 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $290 - $883
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing