We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #24 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Me and my wife join my daughter for a one day stay at this hotel. Stay was both a business stay and family trip. Check-in was fast. Room was excellent with a view of the harbor. Hotel room was above average and room service was fast with great food. I must note staff was very frendly and helpful.Hotel location is outstanding since was near the Seaport Village with its gift shops and restaurants. It also provided access to the boardwalk and a ten minute walk to the USS Midway Museum. Land transportation such as the trolley is across the street. I may mention you may hear as passing train which may effect you if you are a light sleeper so request a room so you do not hear the train going by. Future vacations plans will include a longer stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonydata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear tonydata2012,
We appreciate the glowing review here on TripAdvisor and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay so much that you'll be back to visit on future vacations - that is the best complement. There is currently an ordinance that should go into effect late spring that will not require train conductors to honk their horns while passing the railroad crossing in the downtown San Diego area. This should greatly cut down on all noise issues associated with the trains. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful, sunny San Diego!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,060
    2,050
    633
    229
    171
See reviews for
1,373
1,481
209
3,382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

You can hear everything going on with the room next door.
Two different sets of folks stayed next door during my 3 night stay. Let's just say I could hear the speaker phone conversation on the first night verbatim. Second night the chap walks out at 4am and the door slams closed and room shakes. The second couple the third night ....I say "wow" she likes to make noise when they are trying to keep the human population from going extinct and could hear....well i will leave that out. Tracks are noisy.
Hotel was clean and nice other than the Noise from the humans next door. Tired after 3 nights of pure room noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austinjeffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I had a chance to stay one night on business with a co worker before we moved on to Park Hyatt in Washington D.C. The main reason I chose to stay here was great pricing and good reviews I read in Tripadvisor. As we drove up to the hotel we were wowed by the size of the hotel and lobby was huge. Our check in was very smooth and we were upgraded to Premium View at no charge. Our room was decent size with very comfortable beds. I guess best part about staying at thie hotel was the view of San Diego harbor and our room had a view of aircraft carrier. Our internet was complimentary but we did not try any of the hotel establishment due to our busy schedule. Overall I can not say anything nice but this hotel and will most likely stay here again if I am ever in san Diego again. I loved the location and view of San Diego harbor.

Room Tip: Stay here if you get a great rate and ask for view of San Diego harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeplessinseoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear sleeplessinseoul,
Thank you for the nice review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our service, location and rooms during your stay. I'm also happy to hear you stayed with us based on our great reviews here on TripAdvisor. We pay very close attention to all reviews and incorporate feedback into how we operate our hotel, so we greatly appreciate the nice complements. We'll look forward to welcoming you back to sunny San Diego, hopefully sooner than later!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A very elegant property with an amazing pool, spa and view of the harbor.

I stayed for a convention. Room rate was discounted, but still pricey.

Excellent business meeting support, but at a price.

Rooms were average. If you are light sleeper, be sure to request away from the rail line, and an upper floor.

Room Tip: Request away from the rail line
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed in room 1703 from 02/20/12 - 02/24/12. There are stains on the carpet, florescent light in the bathroom buzzes, the water pressure is so high that the showerhead hurts and the toilet is very loud when it refills. The channel selection is very pour but the tv is a nice size and has a good picture on the few hd channels they have. The bed doesnt have a fitted sheet and continiously comes off. The room has not been updated since the 80's and it shows. During our confrence in their ballrooms they would put away the lunch and drinks 15-30 minutes early. If i had a choice i would stay at the sheraton marina. It cheaper, has a shuttle to the airport, the rooms are very modern and clean, they have balconies, and the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReedVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear ReedVH,
I'm sorry to hear about your recent stay with us and appreciate the candid feedback. Please know that I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Engineering regarding the room issues you mentioned here. I'm extremely happy to report that all of our guestrooms will undergo a complete renovation beginning in May of this year. The new look and feel will incorporate classic lines and subtle nods to the maritime heritage and San Diego landmarks of this beautiful city. These upgrades will only add to the existing bay and city views from our floor to ceiling windows that open to allow in fresh bay breezes; currently available in each guest room. I hope you'll be back to experience these room upgrades firsthand. If I can be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,971 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $287 - $988
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing