We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Grand in size with good service in good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's Grand in size with good service in good location!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I had a chance to stay one night on business with a co worker before we moved on to Park Hyatt in Washington D.C. The main reason I chose to stay here was great pricing and good reviews I read in Tripadvisor. As we drove up to the hotel we were wowed by the size of the hotel and lobby was huge. Our check in was very smooth and we were upgraded to Premium View at no charge. Our room was decent size with very comfortable beds. I guess best part about staying at thie hotel was the view of San Diego harbor and our room had a view of aircraft carrier. Our internet was complimentary but we did not try any of the hotel establishment due to our busy schedule. Overall I can not say anything nice but this hotel and will most likely stay here again if I am ever in san Diego again. I loved the location and view of San Diego harbor.

Room Tip: Stay here if you get a great rate and ask for view of San Diego harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeplessinseoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear sleeplessinseoul,
Thank you for the nice review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our service, location and rooms during your stay. I'm also happy to hear you stayed with us based on our great reviews here on TripAdvisor. We pay very close attention to all reviews and incorporate feedback into how we operate our hotel, so we greatly appreciate the nice complements. We'll look forward to welcoming you back to sunny San Diego, hopefully sooner than later!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,192
    2,104
    657
    237
    177
See reviews for
1,426
1,525
218
3,486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A very elegant property with an amazing pool, spa and view of the harbor.

I stayed for a convention. Room rate was discounted, but still pricey.

Excellent business meeting support, but at a price.

Rooms were average. If you are light sleeper, be sure to request away from the rail line, and an upper floor.

Room Tip: Request away from the rail line
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed in room 1703 from 02/20/12 - 02/24/12. There are stains on the carpet, florescent light in the bathroom buzzes, the water pressure is so high that the showerhead hurts and the toilet is very loud when it refills. The channel selection is very pour but the tv is a nice size and has a good picture on the few hd channels they have. The bed doesnt have a fitted sheet and continiously comes off. The room has not been updated since the 80's and it shows. During our confrence in their ballrooms they would put away the lunch and drinks 15-30 minutes early. If i had a choice i would stay at the sheraton marina. It cheaper, has a shuttle to the airport, the rooms are very modern and clean, they have balconies, and the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReedVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear ReedVH,
I'm sorry to hear about your recent stay with us and appreciate the candid feedback. Please know that I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Engineering regarding the room issues you mentioned here. I'm extremely happy to report that all of our guestrooms will undergo a complete renovation beginning in May of this year. The new look and feel will incorporate classic lines and subtle nods to the maritime heritage and San Diego landmarks of this beautiful city. These upgrades will only add to the existing bay and city views from our floor to ceiling windows that open to allow in fresh bay breezes; currently available in each guest room. I hope you'll be back to experience these room upgrades firsthand. If I can be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending a conference at the Convention Center. The Hyatt is just a few minutes walk from the convention center and close to lots of bars and restaurants in the Gas Lamp area. I stayed here because I got an extremely good rate by naming my own price on Priceline.
Check-in was quick and easy. The room was nice. Had two queen size bed (would have preferred one king bed as a solo traveler, but it was fine), small sitting area, and a desk. The bathroom was clean and updated. There was an updated television and the beds were very comfortable. The view from my room was nice... overlooking the harbor.
The staff were very helpful with check-in, giving directions, and suggesting places to dine at. My only complaint was that at 7am I got a repeated knock on my door claiming to be a wake up call, which I had not requested. When I did not answer the door right away, the woman came into the room to wake me up. This seemed odd and was definitely not appreciated as I had not even requested a wake up call.
The other negative thing about the hotel was the cost of parking. I think it is probably comparative to parking in this area, but still seemed steep. It was $27.00/day.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I were attending a convention and could get a good rate on the rooms again. I would also stay here is I were vacationing in San Diego since it is close to many attractions and a trolley station.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdlhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear cdlhos,
We greatly appreciate your nice review and look forward to welcoming you back to sunny San Diego, for business or pleasure or perhaps a little bit of both!
You are correct, our parking prices are competitive with other parking garages in the downtown San Diego area but I did want to point out our Park and Surf package we offer that includes self-parking and high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the length of your stay. This package can be found under Special Offers on our website. If I can be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for one night when we couldn't get into the other hotel we'd been staying at as they were fully booked. Maybe it was just our great experience at the other hotel, but this place was very average.

We booked over the phone using Hyatt's own phone lines. My wife has a scottish accent, which to be honest is not that strong, and found it very hard to be understood by the booking agent. Despite being promised a confirmation e-mail, it never arrived so we popped in on the evening before just to confirm the booking on site and it's just as well we did as it had never come through to them. To her credit, the girl we dealt with at the front desk (Laura) was excellent and personally sorted it out and made sure we were booked in properly, along with an upgrade for the hassle - if it wasn't for her they'd have had a 2/5 rating.

It is the first hotel we've been to where when our taxi pulled up and we started to unload luggage, that the bus boys just stood and watched. We ended up having to wheel four cases and other bags in ourselves, which was terrible service. Maybe it was just the fact that we had shorts on rather than suits that they usually deal with, as we had the same issue when we left the next day. Either way, it's pretty poor standards from a supposedly four star hotel.

The room itself was comfortable if a little dated, and we had a good nights sleep. The shower and bathroom was big too.

The 'decadent' breakfast in the morning was anything but. Some warm bacon and sausages, pancakes that weren't great and a decent selection of fruit and cereals is not what I would call value for money at $26 a head. Especially with dirty cutlery! We did have a snack in Redfield's Bar the night before which was very good (the hot wings are H-O-T hot) with good service, so the food isn't all bad. Location is good, with Seaport Village right next door, trolley stops a few minutes walk away and the Gaslamp Quarter within a five/ten minute walk.

With it being next to the Conference Centre you do get the impression that's all the business they are interested in, and you do just feel like a commodity rather than a customer. A bit more focus on how they treat everyone wouldn't go amiss.

It's a hotel that ticks the 'average' and 'adequate' boxes rather than 'wow' or 'must stay'. In my opinion, there's far better out there, especially in terms of customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shugsterhibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Shugsterhibs,
Thank you for your candid review here on TripAdvisor and I'm sorry to hear of your recent experience with us. Whether guests are staying with us for business or leisure it is our number one goal to provide authentic hospitality and first rate amenities to each and every traveler. We care tremendously about our guests’ experiences and it is for this reason that we pay such close attention to our online reviews, and use the information our guests provide to improve or adapt where need be. Please know I have shared your comments with our Rooms Director who will follow up internally with our bell staff and also our Executive Chef who will look into your comments regarding our breakfast buffet. We are happy to hear you appreciated our convenient location neighboring Seaport Village and the Gaslamp Quarter and also enjoyed your snacks and service at Redfield's Sports Bar. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope we get the chance to host you again, should your travels lead you to the San Diego area again.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,257 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,115 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $235 - $839
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Priceline, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing