We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Ranked #103 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Norco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

checked in got my keys i had to go back to front desk 3 times and still did not work on the door finaly the duty engineer on site showed up and said it does not matter what key you have this door will not open until this is fully reprogramed finally the person at the front desk showed up to give me a diffrent room got in there then the ac when turned on made a horrible sound i had to wait for them to repair that on site by this time my evening plans were all shot i stayed 2 nights when checking out i asked for some compensation for all the problems that i had they only gave me forty dollars that was it i wont be back there ever again

Room Tip: thers is no elevator to 2nd floor get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm sorry that we did not live up to your exectations and we will work on improving. I wish you the best with your travels.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    349
    262
    123
    64
See reviews for
392
314
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had an hour to check in and get ready for a wedding thanks to traffic, but it's doable!

When we first checked in, we found that we had been given a room that was already taken. Either they gave our room away, or someone stole our room. 30 mins later, they upgraded us to a king for our troubles, which was a nice gesture, but they put us in the farthest building and by the time we got there I had 15 mins left to get ready.

AND...the room we got was really dirty!!! Boot prints in our shower, when I moved the lamp to plug in my phone, there was a large sticky stain. The bed sheets had black spots on them. GROSS! I didn't have time to ask for a different room as we were already running late.

Honestly this place is more of a motel than a hotel.

When i got back at night, i could not make myself comfortable. I didn't want to touch anything. I got up extra early the next day and checked out as soon as we could. I'm by no means a clean/neat freak. I've been to motels and inns and they've been fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and we will do our best to improve. I'll follow up witht hte staff and share your review with them so we can improve. I wish you safe travels in the future.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here for one night before running the San Diego half marathon. The location was good for that since the hotel was approximately 5 miles from Sea World where the race parking was located. The hotel was clean but not remarkable. It is located right off the highway, but is very quiet. The hotel staff was very helpful in giving us a great recommendation for Mexican food in Old Town- Cafe Coyote. There is a $12 a night charge for parking per car. This was a fine place to sleep, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here.

Room Tip: I was in the La Jolla building which is that farthest from the main building. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schroe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Obviously we can always do better so i will pass on your comments to the staff. If your travels find you in San Diego again, please do not hesitate to call me directly to set up your reservation.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just recently stayed in the Del Mar building. Standard double room. The room was very small, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small and basically looked clean. Except there was something pretty gross on the shower curtain. The staff automatically brought us extra pillows and blankets, but we didnt use them the bed already had plenty of pillows. What was very bothersome was the incredibly thin walls. We heard people all night walking in the hallways, the people in the rooms next to ours. We could hear the cars arriving in the parking lot. Pretty much even the toilet flushing next door. Honestly I think it's a little overpriced, and I would not return. I'd pay a little extra to stay at a nicer place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli09Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but do apologize for the noise. I'll be sure to pass on your comments and try to find a solution to keep help. I am glad that the staff was responsive and helped you out in a timely and friendly manner. if your travels find you back in San DIego please contact me directly.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just want to say a huge thankyou to staff Amanda and Jeff who are great assets to the Handlery Hotel. Our stay was cut short but we could not speak highly enough of Amanda's professionalism and kindness.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniAvocaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgrSanDiego_CA, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thanks for the nice review and I'm so glad Amanda and Jeff were able to help. We look forward to having you back the next time you find yourself in San Diego.
Pete Lassalette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#138 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#144 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Property: Handlery Hotel San Diego
Address: 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price range (per night): $144 - $316
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing