We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 172
USD 145
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 234
USD 207
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 211
USD 182
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 166
USD 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 220
USD 152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 123
USD 100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 272
USD 238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 179
USD 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 333
USD 312
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 390
USD 295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 482/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
196
337
234
111
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
337
234
111
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomsea worldhunter steakhousehotel circleold townfree breakfastyogurtsofa bedparking feehot breakfasthot tubbeds were comfortablefamily vacationbalboa parkzooseaworldshuttle
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel was renovated and looks very nice; however, parking lot spaces are very tight, you would think paying $10.95 a day for the parking fees , the hotel would expand spaces a few feet so your car doors don't get dinged. The vending machines we're broken on many floors and there is no hotel gift shop to buy any items such as ice cream for the kids, there's no store within walking distance to buy milk etc., the breakfast room is very nice , but the food quality is horrible , the eggs and sausage were not real, very rubbery and the taste was nasty. The common items such as breads , fruit, and yogurt were good. They have four waffle makers, get there by 7:30! There's a lot of people especially foreigners who are just plain rude, invading your personal space and no respect of waiting . The pool was nice, and towels weren't stocked and I had to ask the staff multiple times for towels . The towels are not bath towels but dish towel size . There is no restroom or rinse off area in the pool . The closest restroom is a single stall unisex restroom in the lobby . The rooms were decent especially the kids suites (great feature), well worth it if you have kids on a budget . I would stay here again for the price and I can suck up the cons that I wrote about because it's a whole lot cheaper than staying at a Hilton or 5 star hotel that's ridiculously expensive. Have fun and enjoy San Diego! Thanks sea world, animal park , zoo, mission bay and all the wonderful San Diegans!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

3 adults and 2 children stayed in a suite here for 3 nights. This is a fine property for a family stay and the price was especially reasonable for summer time in San Diego. There were 2 queen beds in the bedroom and a roomy, comfortable foldout couch in the living room. Both rooms had TVs and separate air conditioning units. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the bedroom. The free breakfast was decent as free breakfasts go: the usual, fruit, cold cereal and juices as well as English muffins, bagels, scrambled eggs and sausage patties. The pool size was decent but not huge. It was hugely popular and kids were in it up until about 10 pm. The location is handy to the San Diego Zoo and Old Towne. I-5 is close by. A good deal!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We stayed for a convention in San Diego for 4 days. Our family of five stayed in a bunk bed/king bed, two room suite. It was great!! Bathroom needs updating and better cleaned, but other than that, very comfortable room and bed :) Walls could use a bit of sound proofing or maybe a note asking the guests to respect a quiet atmosphere. I had a difficult time sleeping due to the sound of bed knocking next door and kids running around and yelling upstairs.

We did not park in the parking lot due to the ridiculous fee.

It was our second time staying there and we will use this hotel again and again!!

The breakfast menu needed a kosher/gluten free option and the room is a very small area with many standing up and eating. For such a large hotel, the breakfast area does not properly accommodate. Maybe they can open a patio area to eat due to San Diego's excellent weather? I think that would be helpful. With a friendly staff and wonderful housekeeping, we look forward to staying there again soon. thanks for a great stay!!

Room Tip: get a room far away from the elevators and maybe closer to the top. we had a bit of noise from other rooms, above and adjacent to ours.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickymomma2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I booked a 4 night stay in July, 2015 with my 4 year old, 8 year old, and 18 year old. The idea of the bunkbeds was a huge draw for us along with the idea of a suite layout and the amenities being offered. We were there for leisure, hoping to take advantage of the free breakfast and pool. I'll preface this review by saying that the two most important features of a hotel to me are beds and overall cleanliness. I don't like to complain and, therefore, seldom do. I don't like the idea of needing to point out problems to management and will generally just tolerate whatever it is that bugs me or fix it myself.

I'll start by the Pro's of the Property: Rooms were well-sized and the decor was nice. The hotel appeared to have been recently updated. The parking was ample and I didn't need to drive in circles forever to find a space. The front desk attendant, Joseph, was very cordial and helpful. The housekeepers were very nice as well and accommodating with requests for additional blankets. The king-sized bed was clean and quite comfortable with a pillow-top mattress. The air conditioning worked well and the overall layout of the room was pleasing. There was also free Wi-fi, which worked well enough. Our room was near the end of the hall, which reduced the overall noise level. There was very little street noise and the noise from neighboring rooms was minimal. Also, the wait time for the elevator was very short.

Okay, now here my critiques of the property, which I hate to do, but want to be honest. When we arrived to the hotel, the lobby was very small and simple, which was my first clue that I probably had not booked a hotel that matched what I was hoping for. When we went to our room, we noticed on the way there evidence of kids everywhere. Now, I realize that I also have kids, so this was to be expected, but there was trash in the hall and a half-eaten donut that someone had dropped and was becoming ground into the carpet. When we entered our room, the decor was an espresso-colored wood panel furniture with a modern motif. What I noticed first off was that there were fingerprints and splashes of food everywhere: the chair, the bed rails, the TV, the dresser. It was obviously not wiped down and sanitized. This is always provokes an immediate "ew" reaction from me.

While the king bed was very nice, the kids' beds consisted of a mattress with nothing except a single sheet and a top sheet and a very rough blanket. My son, who slept on one of the beds one night said that it felt like he was sleeping on cardboard.

Addtionally, the tub had several small hairs which reflected that the tub had not been wiped down. I ended up going to Target to purchase a household cleaner to sanitize the surfaces. The protocol for the rooms being thoroughly cleaned between guests needs to be reviewed as this is a management issue that may reflect that housekeeping staff isn't being given enough time for each room.

My next issue was with the breakfast area, which was oddly placed on the 4th floor. The breakfast area was EXTREMELY crowded. There was no hope of finding somewhere to sit and you had to fight your way to the different stations to retrieve coffee, muffins, etc... This seemed to be the case no matter what time I went during the operating hours. I ended up grabbing food and taking it back to my kids in our room. This was very disappointing.

So, what I have concluded from my visit is that the next time I visit San Diego is that I need to be prepared to spend more money to get a room that meets my standards. This is likely not somewhere where I would choose to stay again. The issues mentioned above were partially unavoidable, but there were also things that could be improved. I was here in peak season in a tourist area and paid about $150 per night, which in non-tourist areas has often been adequate to get the type of room I want. But, this was not the case in San Diego, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KristineK125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Not a bad hotel nice location if you have a car. They don"t offer shuttle even to the areas they advertise on the name of there hotel. So bring extra money for transportation. The breakfast was decent but very crowded. The pool and hot tub is small and also very crowded.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews