We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you want in a B+B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Nice rooms, very comfortable beds, warm and friendly people in a vibrant portion of San Diego with cool shops and restaurants just a few blocks away and almost everything else in San Diego within 5-10 minutes by car. It's everything a B+B should be! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 321 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

For my daughter"s 13th birthday I arranged a nights stay @ Hillcrest house B&B.
Ms Ann Callahan was welcoming warm and down to earth. The accommodations were oh soo cozy and comfortable. My daughter and I had such a great time bonding and meeting with other guests. It was a great experience, very pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anninSD, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, here at Hillcrest House. It's great to see young adults with their parents, experiencing the fun, unique travel accommodation, of a Bed & Breakfast. We hope that your stay with us, was a Birthday, you will not soon forget ! Cheers, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent four delightful days at the Hillcrest House B&B in mid-February 2012 before embarking on a cruise down the Mexican Riviera. In retrospect, I wish we'd have forgone the cruise and stayed on in San Diego.

To start with, Ann Callahan is a delightful person to know and a wonderfull innkeeper who maintains an immaculate B&B in a charming century-old house in the Hillcrest District of San Diego. Aside from the quality of this B&B, several others things impressed us. There is excellent access to public transit and we could get just about anywhere in the San Diego area in a matter of minutes - buy a day pass and you're off. We have never been anywhere where there were so many good restaurants within walking distance that were not only excellent in terms of cuisine but that were also reasonably priced. Ann recommended four during our stay - Italian, Mexican, French and Vietnamese - that were amongst the best if not the best we've ever dined at.

In terms of negatives, we really don't have any and would definitely stay here again and in fact are hoping to do so again next year. You might notice a bit of aircraft noise from the San Diego airport but that could be said of just about anywhere in the older parts of San Diego that face the water. The level of noise is not oppresive by any means.

Overall, we can understand why this is San Diego's top-rated B&B and is the finest one that we've ever stayed at anywhere in the United States..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Book this lovely B&B!!! When visiting San Diego, I, personally, will not stay anywhere else! Anne and her staff made us feel so welcome in their "home". They were helpful, hospitable and gracious! We literally felt like house guests! Hillcrest House is comfortable, immaculate, adorable, and perfectly located with so many great restaurant choices within walking distance! The bed sheets are seriously, the softest! We enjoyed meeting and chatting with other guests during breakfast, and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Beds were so comfortable. Where do you get those pillows? Very private considering its a b and b. Friendly and attentative hosts. Helped make our short stay very sweet. And free parking!

Room Tip: I liked the privacy of the back cottage. There is a room there that has it own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank respectu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anninSD, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, here at Hillcrest House. Although not a very large room the Coronado Room with it's private entrance, jacuzzi tub, and kitchenette, is a popular room for celebrating "Life's Special Moments" I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you back again soon ! Cheers, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,919 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,265 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3845 Front St, San Diego, CA 92103-3019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $208 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor "Hall of Fame" for best San Diego Bed & Breakfast. Also, Winner "AGAIN" of San Diego Uptown News 2015 Readers Poll "Best Hotel/B&B". Stay in a B&B at the center of it all! Built in 1910, this newly renovated Arts & Crafts inspired Inn is only 10 minutes from major attractions such as, the Gaslamp District, Zoo, Old Town, Seaworld, Beaches, Convention Center and Airport. Features include: Eclectic collection of Antiques, in room cable TV/DVD/CD, and complementary WiFi. Home baked specialties daily. Business guests love our close proximity to the Downtown Convention Center, and or Hotel Circle to attend their meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bed And Breakfast
Hillcrest House Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing