We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Watched NASCAR on the big screen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockin Baja Lobster

Rockin Baja Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
Rockin Baja Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 4,679 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Cross street: Congress
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Watched NASCAR on the big screen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We enjoyed lunch, margaritas and watched the race. Great atmosphere.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fshybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    195
    64
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at Rockin' Baja Costal Cantina!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

A very enjoyable experience with great food, service, and atmosphere. Awesome mix of seafood and Mexican style cuisine.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mistermct20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Went here from late night dinner-arrived at around 10pm. They have a decent happy hour with food and drink specials. I ordered a drink that was $5. It was delic. Also ordered the calamari app which was very good. I was impressed it wasn't the usual tiny pieces of meat that most places give you. My husband ordered the tacos and he sad they were really good. The gal working the bar was kinda blah, as was the person who sat us. They were very strict as far as not letting us sit at a table for happy hour. you HAVE to walk the 10 feet and sit in the bar. Whatever.
Overall, I wish we'd had more days in San Diego so I could go back and try something else!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NurseLovesVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Mexican I've had since who knows when”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I'm not a big fan of Mexican food but we went here for lunch when we arrived in San Diego. I shared plates with two others and their seafood and shrimp enchilada's were extremely flavorful. So much so no other Mexican food I ate on this trip compared.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Uncork4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great selection of salsas for the free taco chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We went to Rockin' Lobster as part of a visit to Old Town. We wanted what we hoped would be 'authentic' Mexican food. With my experience I don't know whether it was authentic but it was good. I was most impressed with the big selection of salsas for the free taco chips. We had Shrimp Mojo de Ajo and Dirty Tacos together with local (San Diego) draft beer all of which we enjoyed.
It is an 'outdoor' restaurant with a roof and some radiant heating which would be necessary on a chilly day, it wasn't necessary when we were there.
We were there at noon on a Sunday and the restaurant had just opened so it wasn't crowded. The service was good. It was fun to try the different salsas which added greatly to our experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EsoxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockin Baja Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Rockin Baja Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing