We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can’t wait to return! ”

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 5,585 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market St.
Description: Blue Point is a 1940s style New York supper club featuring great martinis, the freshest seafood and prime aged beef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and Frank Sinatra's music is common overhead.
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Everything was amazing! I can’t express enough how amazing the food was. Our waiter was very attentive and our meals were brought out promptly. Outside seating is the best. Well worth the money. Can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2018

Stopped in for their happy hour special on shrimp and oysters. Sat at the bar.

My colleague recommended it from past experience. Apparently when he first started going, they had more oyster options. On Wednesday, they just had some from Mexico. On the whole, the oysters were pretty average. On to the shrimp, his memory was they were huge, on the order of the size of prawns. Again, not so much but I think even Blue Point recognized they were a little small for $2 shrimp so they doubled every order. And they were quite good.

They also have a small appetizer menu. That was when we hit gold. Ordered the mussels with some crustini. First of all, they were tons of them. The best deal by far. Second, they were excellent, better than the oysters or shrimp.

Barkeep provided great service. He was very personable.

Even with the Happy Hour deal, the 2 of us dropped $70 and I don't drink so the bill can add up quickly but order what we ordered past Happy Hour and it would be a lot more.

Highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

One can imagine this restaurant to be a tourist trap in the heart of Gaslamp district in San Diego, but it topped all expectations. Yes, it was costly but we got the best lobster meals we’ve had in years (if not ever). Superb service with strong wine recommendations and again lovely food. Highly recommend this one!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank robertgD3963YE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

This sea food restaurant is truly a good place to enjoy a great tasty meal. The food options are great and fresh quality taste. The decor is unique, providing inside seating and outside seating. The waitress provided truly amazing service and very knowledgeable on the menu and drinks.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank alexisgrullon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Went to this place for a business dinner with a party of 4, expecting precise service and great quality of food. I didn't find any of the two.

If you'd like to be in the middle of hustle of the Gaslamp District, this is a good place. However, if you are expecting superior service, ambiance, or food quality...go somewhere else.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bisserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Point Coastal Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Blue Point Coastal Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing