We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Perfect Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town
Ranked #117 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in December, whilst the renovations were still in progress and despite major work being done to the lobby and corridors around us, our room was fantastic - huge, comfortable bed, spacious room with balcony overlooking the courtyard, widescreen TV and free wifi in the rooms.
The location, just a short, pleasant walk from the heart of Old Town, was just perfect - safe and quiet, but walking distance to many shops, bars and restaurants and easy to get to public transport and the Old Town Trolley tour. We wanted a location where we could get by without a car for our first visit to San Diego and this hotel certainly fitted the bill. The free shuttle service to and from the airport and to Seaworld and the Zoo was a great help and saved us time and money on taxi or bus fares.
I'm sure now that the hotel renovations are finished and it has become a Fairfield Marriott it is even better than when we were there and we would love to stay here again on our next visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHELLYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 445 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Ok, I hate to bash anyone, But I gave the Marriott time to respond. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again; period. They claim it is a new hotel; yes it is new to the Marriott, but far from New. I stayed for 2 nights and that was 2 nights too long. The first room had an awful smell to it and they switched me to the only other room available which was a few doors down. Both rooms had an awful Plastic / Meth smell to it. The rooms are not secure as the hotel is 3 stories and a 3 foot wall keeps the outside separated. The elevator does not work and the staff is very unfriendly. The breakfast is below subpar. Stay away unless they make major improvements. VERY DISAPPOINTED and will not be coming back. Charged you parking across the street. NO Security.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissionInnOT, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Sbktravels,

We are so sorry that you had such a terrible experience at our hotel! During your stay we were making a few touch ups from our renovation which could have caused the smell. Also, there was a part that was needed in order to fix the elevator thus causing to be out of order for a few days. We have since fixed our elevator and finished all touch ups so that our property is up to the Marriott standards that you come to expect. Again, we apologize you had stayed with us during this transition; we hope that give us another chance and come see all the improvements that have been made. Please feel free to contact us further to discuss these concerns.

Thank you again for your feed back.

Amber
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This states to be a new hotel in Marriott website. This looks like remodel from previous business. So, you would have the window but can't go out to patio.

They have new equipment and clean facilities everywhere. However, The front desk is a little bit too slow. Other than that, everything is good in this hotel. New bed sheet, new restroom, new ...

Worth to mention that they offer real fruit and real fruit juice in package. But, don't drink the juice from fountain machine. It's like 3:1 water to juice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissionInnOT, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear ypwalter,

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay to our beautiful Fairfield Inn & Suites. After a $4.5 million renovation we converted from a Holiday Inn Express to a Fairfield Inn & Suites. We are listed as a New Hotel based on our extensive renovation as well as being new to the Marriott portfolio. All very exciting!

We do apologize for the speed of check in at the front desk. Since we just converted to the Fairfield Inn a few weeks ago, the staff is still working on mastering the Marriott reservation system. This will improve on a daily basis.

We are so glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We do try to offer a variety of items to meet everyone’s breakfast needs... After all breakfast is the most important meal of the day! We will look into our juice machine to make sure everything is working properly.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback! We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you back during your next visit to San Diego!

Regards,

Management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Great spot. Thought I was staying at a Holiday Inn Express but apparently they changed the name. The real treat is how they changed the hotel! Wow! Great looking hotel rooms, Great free breakfast! Finally the Wi-Fi really works all over the place! Worth the extra money to stay in a nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgrossbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed for one night in May 2011 when the hotel was still a Holiday Inn Express. Since it sounds like there have been a lot of changes since then, I'm only going to comment on the location. We chose to stay in Old Town on the tail of a trip to Palm Springs. We wanted to see a different area of San Diego and, location-wise, this hotel delivered.

We found easy street parking across from the hotel and didn't move our car until the next morning when it was time to head to the airport. So, don't be afraid to park on the street!

The hotel is in easy walking distance to plenty of restaurants and the Old Town historic park. We caught the Saturday market, and walked over a few blocks to explore the great houses in Heritage Park.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town

Address: 3900 Old Town Ave, San Diego, CA 92110-2904 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Diego
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: AU$186 - AU$349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the culture and history of San Diego's Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town provides travelers with a relaxing escape. Set away from the bustle of the city, and located minutes from San Diego's top beaches, our accommodations are perfect for those who want to be near it all yet revel in the slow pace that comes with a removed place. Old Town, with its charm and stories, delights and there is no shortage of museums and authentic shops to explore here. If you are looking for hotel suites in San Diego that let you completely unwind as you visit Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town is ideal. We offer excellent value for travelers desiring more space, modern amenities, and an exceptional San Diego location. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast and easy access to the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Diego Old Town
Holiday Inn Old Town
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing