We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GREAT LOCATION AND STAFF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Ranked #111 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT LOCATION AND STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Ashley, at the front desk was great and had good suggestions for places to go, two block from the train station and comp. shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel, nice

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanastasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    524
    282
    142
    96
See reviews for
151
494
157
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

From what I saw and read on the website I thought we would be staying at a swanky hotel with lots of perks. What they didn't say was that the time that I made my reservation, everything that was nice about the hotel was under renovation and my experience would be significantly different. The restaurant was closed, the beach/pool area was closed, no coffee in the hotel rooms, and the worst thing was that the fitness center had no doors so you felt like you were outside. That would have been fine if it was a bright sunny day, but when I was there it was cold, overcast and raining. When I went to the fitness center in the morning it was so cold, not to mention the machines were old, that I didn't feel comfortable to work out. I was staying there for 5 days and wanted to work out every morning, and didn't. Very frustrating, to not have the option to shut out the cold. To their credit, the customer service was outstanding so it was hard to complain, but I feel mislead when I made the reservation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is my second, and probably last trip to the W San Diego. I love W hotels. I'm a Platinum SPG (100+ nights a year) and for W prices, have high expectations. My last visit was good enough to come back, but this visit will have me stay at another SPG property on my next visit to SD. The rooms are small - very (although the W on Lexington in NYC is technically smaller) - and the service is "okay". At $35 per night the valet (especially in the area of town the hotel is located is ridiculous. No self-park options and street parking is not only limited...but only feet from the local jail, probably not wise either. The do have the signature Acura service, but this time I had my infant with me...they have infant seats....which is great, except, they won't pick you up (even before the 8:30 cut-off) so you can get your infant to the restaurant...just not back. As a platinum spg, one of the perks is a complimentary continental breakfast. At the Westin I stayed at two days ago in DC, I had a full breakfast buffet, including oatmeal, salmon, fruit, etc. The option here was a single bagel a banana and coffee (one of each). The WOW factor of the W is fading for this frequent traveler...especially at this location.

Room Tip: Anything that isn't a suite, isn't very large...in fact small is a better way of describing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcorrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I've been here for a week to support a conference and am less than satisfied. For a W Hotel this property is sorely lacking in basic cleanliness and maintenance.
1. Large Grease spot on the wall above my headboard from someone's previous romantic interlude.
2. Filthy carpets. Only the middle area of the carpets are vacuumed, there's a crease of dirt around the furniture...bluch!
3. Whoever designed the shower was obviously only thinking of design and not practicality, every shower ends up with a soaking wet bathroom.
4. Mildew all over the bathroom that has been caulked over.
5. Take your life in your hands when sitting in the lobby. Looks great at night with the parties going on and the dim lighting; the daylight hours show what a dirty property this is. Ewww...filthy carpets, past spilled drinks, worn upholstery.
6. This hotel is great for the young crowd that just looks at labels and lives to party. The more seasoned traveler sees through the smoke and mirrors.

The good:
1. The Acura car service is great and definitely comes in handy although it only runs from 12:30 - 7:30pm
2. The valet team is so helpful and service oriented
3. The service overall is great, but really doesn't make up for the aesthetics.

Bottom line: for the price paid (and I'm a Starwoods Gold Member), I'd pass and head elsewhere...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSANDIEGO, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am so sorry to hear that your room was not up to par in cleanliness! I can assure you that this is not the norm for our hotel and I am having our Director of Housekeeping deap clean the room you were in. Please give us another try soon, I know you wont be disspointed!
Best,
Gabrielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Super modern but not pretentious. Staff genuinely friendly and professional. Beds are very comfortable and ammenities are modern and plentiful.

What's with the carpet in the rooms though? It was super soiled. Do some wood flooring for aesthetics and cleanliness!

Wi-fi isn't free - big negative!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#53 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#63 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#116 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Address: 421 W B St, San Diego, CA 92101-3501 (Formerly W San Diego)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $223 - $535
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a simply delightful experience at the Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel. Our luxurious sophistication provides a unique experience for guests looking for memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Wotif.com, Starwood and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Diego Hotel San Diego
w Hotels San Diego
w Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing