We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alway's Reliable and a Great Time”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #163 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A large group of us have been going to this hotel for years. It has been remodeled, has a great courtyard, is just steps from the beach and everything else in OB (resturants, shops, pubs). There are a variety of rooms, we always take the basic room and have no complaints. Our room was small but very clean and the bed was great! There were about 20 of us on this last trip and I don't think anyone had any complaints. Can't beat the location or the price and we will be back. Thanks OB Hotel!

Room Tip: No elevator so if you cannot do stairs, get a ground floor room. The North Side might be a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisgood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 543 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We've driven by this hotel several times and always figured it was out of our price range because of the fact that it's literally 10 steps to the beach. Fast forward a couple months and wanting to return to our favorite beach in San Diego - Ocean Beach, I inquired about the OB Hotel and was surprised to hear that the rooms went for less than $100 / night and were all recently refurbished. What a gem of a hotel located in the heart of this AWESOME beach city! We loved the hotel and the courtyard so much we are planning to have our wedding there next year. Great deal for an oceanfront hotel!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have the best views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeloA257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

What a great time that was had at the Ocean Beach Hotel. Check in was quick and friendly, the rooms were basic yet very clean and comfortable. I was very surprised at how comfortable the beds were. But the biggest plus for the hotel? The location...there are not many hotels in San Diego that are as close to the beach as this yet, be on the main strip to walk amongst all the OBsians. The room had a balcony with a nice ocean view. Yes, I can imagine it can get noisy if you have loud neighbors and you are on Newport Ave in the middle of Ocean Beach so I'm sure it can get a little "animated" during the season...but you are in Ocean Beach, it's kind of expected, right?
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Front desk staff was very freindly and even though we arrived several hours before check-in they were able to get us into our room. The room was clean and slept our family of four comfortably. The location is outstanding, just steps from the beach and numerous resturants, surf shops, gift shops, cafes, etc within blocks of the hotel. The kids had a great time and we will definately be back!

Room Tip: Next time I would upgrade to an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The OB Hotel is not fancy, more of a motel, really, but it's comfortable, clean, inexpensive, friendly and located close to all of the main attractions in San Diego. It's older but lovingly mainained. There are tons of inexpensive places to eat within walking distance, spas, surf shops, bars, groceries and some nicer restaurants, too. You get the feeling of the surfer community, being across the street from a public beach. We watched the beach action all day long while sitting in the courtyard with the fountain gurgling. Seaworld is a few minutes' drive away. There are city buses going to from the hotel to almost anywhere you'd want to go. The staff is friendly and helpful. It got a bit noisy at night, since the walls are pretty thin, but I would definitely go back.
If you're in a taxi to and from the airport, specify Narragansett Avenue. It's the straightest route.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms don't get the noise from the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurousByNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#158 of 286 in San Diego
364 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#144 of 286 in San Diego
380 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#140 of 286 in San Diego
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 286 in San Diego
712 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#222 of 286 in San Diego
180 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#25 of 286 in San Diego
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $138 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing