We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 203
USD 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 354
USD 292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 231
USD 207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 200
USD 182
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 263
USD 252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 161
USD 143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 414
USD 388
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 205
USD 182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 220
USD 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 261
USD 250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
43
159
110
43
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
159
110
43
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbring your own shampoowalking distancebus stopgaslamp quarterlaundry facilitiesbasic hotelminute walkflat screen tvwater frontbed was comfortablecorner roomwi finice roomlocation is greatthe gas lamp districthairdryersd
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Front desk was friendly but I paid for a fridge and they said there were none left. I think people live in this motel all the time. There were some shady people and I didn't feel safe. One guy even brought his huge dog onto the elevator and he was jumping on people.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Travelerjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Jenni, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is important for all of our guests to feel welcomed, receive the highest level of service, respect, and hospitality. We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the concerns you describe. Safety and security are top priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your stay to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great property located in downtown San Diego close to all major entertainment. The hosts Sandy was very friendly and welcoming as well as informative. The hotel is clean along with the newly remodeled rooms with hardwood floors and large flat screen TV. Parking is free and right next to the hotel. A continental breakfast is included in the morning. Enjoy the stay!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank guseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

My experience with this motel today has been unbelievable.

My daughter flew from Indianapolis to Atlanta to San Diego tonight and made it to this motel around 1 a.m. She had been on leave (a Marine) for the past week at home, so her body clock actually read 4 a.m. Because of this and a rough flight, I told her I would pay for her to stay overnight at a hotel, and she chose Motel 6 because it was close to the off-site airport parking she used. When she arrived, the desk clerk told her he could not check her into the hotel but that she could go online to book the room. When she went online, the system would not check her in with a departure in the morning; it would only check her in for that day with departure the next day. That would mean she would not have a room until check-in time rather than at that moment. The desk clerk said he didn't know what to do. She stepped out of ear-shot of the desk clerk to explain that the entire desk area smelled like "weed" and that the desk clerk was obviously high. Even if he could figure out how to give her a room, she said she didn't feel comfortable staying in this motel.

My daughter ended up driving an additional hour to get to Pendleton -- not her base but someplace she can sleep safely -- because the desk clerk was allegedly stoned.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Denise, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is essential for all of our guests to feel welcomed, receive the highest level of service, respect, and hospitality. We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the concerns you describe. Safety and security are top priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality, and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your stay to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This is the most affordable hotel you’ll find in this area. It’s next to Four Points Sheraton, and walking distance to Little Italy, waterfront and the MTS trolley line. We had a corner room on the 4th floor. It was small but well designed. Felt very European. Lots of clever storage and counter space at the vanity. We booked for one night and extended our stay another night. The staff were friendly, the bed was comfy and parking was free. Laundry and free coffee in the lobby. The wifi is an extra charge. We had trouble signing in, so we just didn’t bother. The water pressure in the shower wasn’t great, and there was no hair dryer in the room.

There isn’t a lot close by (ie coffee shop, pharmacy), but check out Harbor breakfast (Beech/India) or the Best Western restaurant (Ash/India) for breakfast. It’s about a 10 min walk to hop on the trolley, we highly recommend. Download the MTS compass cloud app and buy a day pass ($5) and head to Gaslamp, Old Town or Seaport Village.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MarieV7247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

This hotel is undergoing upgrades in February 2018. The hallways and rooms have new flooring, including fake wood in the rooms. There are two parking lots with parking included, I did not have trouble finding a spot. The rooms are small, you can not open the hallway door and the bathroom door at the same time. The location is near the freeway near the Little Italy area. The Gaslamp district is in walking distance. There are ice machines, washer dryers, microwave and vending machines off the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews