We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great quaint hotel in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #71 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great quaint hotel in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This small Hilton can be mistaken for an apartment complex. We stayed there for one night and were very pleased with the room and the help that we received.

The rooms are larger than the ones at the Hyatt Grand Manchester, and the location cannot be beat!

The bellman even told me of a great place to park the car (parking structure next to the ballpark, in front of the omni), and its only two small blocks away. So the next time you are there forget the expensive valet parking, drop off your luggage with the bellman and run over to that parking structure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmarquez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    633
    258
    99
    51
See reviews for
219
489
103
674
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very nice room for a Hilton. We had great service the entire time. This hotel is within walking distance of most attractions in the Gaslamp District.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partyrunnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Ok, so this is hard, as the location of this hotel is perfect for you if you want to go to a ball game or the Convention Center or like me, attend a charity event at a brewery just up the street. I was on business and came with a co-worker so we shared a room. We loved walking the marina and there were tons of great restaurants to enjoy. That's pretty much all the positive I have to say which isn't really about the hotel at all but the location. There are a lot of homeless camping out at night right outside the hotel. There was some San Diego police biking the area, so it was relatively safe, just didn't make for great ambiance.

For a Hilton, I expected better. The rooms were nice with exception to two things that became annoying. The lack of electrical outlets in convenient locations in the room (next to a bed for your phone charger, or next to a mirror for your hair appliances for instance). The full length mirror was on a wall next to the bed. So technically it was not full length at all and therefore useless. My co-worker and I laughed that there were two perfectly suited locations for the mirror but they chose the wall next to the bed.

To their credit, there is free cable internet in each room. But the cable is visibly strung in the hallways at the ceiling. It looks so haphazard and cheezy I forgot I was in a Hilton. It looks like some guy came in and drilled a hole in the hallway ceilings and ran cable, well, actually that's exactly what happened.

My scary moment came when I arrived at my room before my co-worker and got ready for bed. I was asleep for about an hour when she came in. I sat up to greet her, and to my horror there was a stranger standing in my room. Once I sat up and got a handle on the situation, I was shocked to learn that our room key was given out in error for a bachelorette party. I had the girl call the front desk immediately to stop any more keys being given out to our room and to get the right information for the party. An apology was made but the damage was already done with my mistrust of the front desk staff being able to manage important security details of guests. When my REAL roommate arrive we bolted the door.

Would I stay here again? NO. I'd rather have my old favorite Best Western around the bay with a spectacular view and take a cab downtown for an event than deal with too many "little" things out of place that add up in the end.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you outlined in your review. We are in the process of upgrading our wireless internet to the latest Hilton standard and temporarily have cable exposed on some guest floors. Crown molding is currently being installed as the project nears completion. I was very distressed to learn of the mistake made with your room. We have many safeguards in place to prevent this and will personally conduct a training review with our department heads and front desk staff. Thank you again for your feedback and we will be in touch with you to hopefully have an opportunity to win your confidence back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I don't understand this hotel's parking system. When I arrived at night, the valet guy said the only parking option is valet parking. When I woke up in the morning, I saw a sign for "Unloading zone for Self parking" and I could see a garage entrance from the K street. I ended up paying $40 per night as other reviewer said but I think I was fooled by the valet company.

When I arrived at the hotel, water did not drain from both sink and tub. Thus, the maintenance came and fixed them with plunger. Another frustrating part was the location of thermostat. Both my son and I could not locate it because it was completely hidden behind the shade of the desk lamp. I got the impression that the hotel doesn't want customers to touch it. I managed to find it after a maintenance guy came in and found the location for me.

They don't have in-room Wi-Fi but Wired Internet. Although the wired Internet service was free, my MacBook Air was quite useless since I did not bring a wired adapter.

The worst part of my hotel stay was noise and vibration at 2:00am. I thought there was an earthquake. Since it lasted about an hour, I suspect some washer/dryer machine was making a such noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gyoju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services. Similar to other large downtown area's parking is very limited and the hotel provides valet service with unlimited in and out privileges. I apologize that you had some issues with your room as noted in the review. We are currently in the process of adding upgraded wireless internet to all areas of the hotel in addition to our in room wired service. Our dynamic location in the Gaslamp district is adjacent to local transportation hubs and I'm sorry the noise level kept you awake. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a great experience at the Hilton. Check-in was easy and staff was very courteous and helpful. We did have a car and used the valet parking. It was $40 a night but this was not an issue with us. The valet staff were very helpful with directions and also recommendations for eating establishments downtown. We appreciated their help. The rooms were very clean. There were ear plugs there in case you needed them. We were not bothered by the train sounds. Beds were very comfortable. There was fresh lemonade and cucumber flavored ice water in the lobby. This was a nice gesture to travelers. All and all it was a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomertraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,935 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#63 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $192 - $714
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing