We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice getaway spot - especially for for pool...”
Patio & Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio & Pool
House with large pool, plenty of parking Located close to major freeways
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Patio & Pool
House with large pool, plenty of parking
Located close to major freeways
April of 2012 we renovated pool and coated with a durable epoxy.
After doing pool we re-set  original flagstone and increased deck area around pool.
Jacuzzi is tucked away back corner of yard for privacy
Exterior door in office/bedroom with pool light switch next to window
Large Jacuzzi
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom/office
Bedroom/office futon with innerspring mattress
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 4 with private bath
Bath 1 with antique claw foot tub from the Hotel San Diego
Master Bath
Bath 3
Guest book comment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
San Diego, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ReasonRul...
St. Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice getaway spot - especially for for pool enthusiasts!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This home is in a fairly quiet, convenient spot regarding ease of access to the greater SD area (although it wouldn't work for people who want amenities in walking distance; it's more of a "bedroom community", with the very few retail/eating spots in the immediate area about a mile away).

The outdoor space with the pool and Jacuzzi is quite enjoyable; pretty private, and the pool is ample-sized for anyone wishing to get some laps in! The indoor space isn't fancy but is pretty comfortable. There were a few issues, as noted below.

If looking for a place with about mid-level hotel amenities and a great private pool, you should check this rental out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location; the pool; the ability to accommodate a large group.
Liked least: The 4th bed/futon wasn't comfortable; some kitchen utensils in need of replacement.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Portage
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great portal to explore San Diego”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our party of 6 adults and 1 child had a wonderful time staying at this oasis in the city. This home literally less than 15 minutes from every major attraction in San Diego. The owners have done an excellent job of equipping this home with everything you need to enjoy your stay. The house was great and the pool was a true delight after a day out and about in San Diego. I could not recommend this property more highly. We have been doing vacation rentals with our family for over 20 years and this property was in our top 5 ever. The next time we visit San Diego we will plan our trip on the availability of this rental. Thanks to John & Kim for providing us with such a great venue for our family vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the pool.
Liked least: One of the bedrooms was a futon bed instead of a regular bed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunky3666...
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Location and a Very Nice House”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This home was perfect for our party of 3 since we each had our own bedroom and bath. The pool was lovely, although it was a little too cool to swim during our visit. The kitchen is fully equipped and you could certainly prepare meals with the equipment provided. It is in a great location - only 15-20 minutes from all major sights and the airport. It's quiet at night, with no airplane or highway noise. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2014
The weather was a little cool the week of guests stay but pool was actually 93 degrees the day they checked in. I had just taken the cover off for the summer. At end of stay it had dropped to 83 degrees and should stay over 80 for the rest of the summer. When weather cools in the fall we will keep a removable cover on it. February of this year it was 75 degrees. We have re-plastered the pool this year so it looks like a new pool.

We have just added a family size crock pot to the amenities of the kitchen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raypcox
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location, nice house and brilliant pool”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The house is in a good location, with10-20 minutes drive to beaches, La Jolla, Zoo, Safari park, Balboa Park, Seaworld, Waterpark etc etc. So plenty of things to do. The big attraction is the private pool, which our grandchildren loved. We would happily stay again, and happy to recommend the place to anyone. It was great value for money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private pool
Liked least: No 3 and 4 bedrooms are a little small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chety
lake district
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“homely rental”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
6
people found this review helpful

we decided on this rental for several reasons: firstly the pool, number of bedrooms, bathrooms for each teenager and position.
the pool was lovely being a good size and not a run of the mill rectangle. the only negative point was a plastic pipe which floated across and hindered swimming. it probably could of been fastened temporary to a pool side but we didnt want to do any damage. there was also a separate jacuzzi which we only managed to use the once but could of maybe been tidied up around the outside of it. The garden has a lovely selection of plants and we were delighted to have humming birds visit us.
inside the house there was a good sized kitchen which we were amazed to find had lots of convenient things like salt and pepper,oil, coffee, sandwich bags etc. It was a thoughtful touch especially for self catering guests.
having 2 teenagers it was lovely for them to have their own bathrooms and we also had our own ensuite so no fighting for the bathroom in the morning. the lounge area was a bit small for the 4 of us and we had to bring a chair from a bedroom as there was only a 2 seater sofa and an easy chair and after a busy day we didnt relish breakfast bar stools. There are also laundry facilities so no need to bring bulging suitcase.
the house is situated in a quiet residential area and only 5 minutes of the 163 which was excellent for getting most places in san diego.
the only negative points would be the house and furniture could do with a bit of TLC to modernise it although it was clean; also there is a "caretaker" living in an attached area at front of the house which was a bit strange and we were woken several mornings as he got ready for work with a variety of noises at around 6am.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: enjoyed the little personal touches
Liked least: the man living in front part of house which we hadnt been told of
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2014
Definition of “Homely” - BRITISH
(of a place or surroundings) simple but cozy and comfortable, as in one's own home.
"a modern hotel with a homely atmosphere"

The “plastic pipe” is the automatic pool sweep that keeps the pool sparkling clean. Pool now has just been re-plastered and we have a cover on it in the cool season. February of this year it was still 75 degrees and when we took the cover off for the summer last week it was 93 degrees. It is now around 83 degrees with cover off.

The 2 seat sofa has been replaced with a 3 seat hide-a-bed. Providing a total of 5 beds, 2 queens and 3 doubles.

We no longer have a caretaker on the premises. Our Caretaker is a few miles away so can be there quickly for taking care of any issues that may arrive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing