We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW - MUST DO WHEN YOU VISIT SAN DIEGO”

Speed Boat Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 89.00*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the adventure of a lifetime on our Speed Boat Adventure Tour. A guided and narrated San Diego Harbor Tour with a twist. You are able to navigate and captain your own speedboat for the entirety of the tour while following our trained and knowledgeable guides to experience the best of both worlds – the THRILL of driving your own speedboat, and the safety of having a skilled guide introduce you to the beauty of San Diego Harbor. The witty yet historical narration is done through two-way communication systems mounted in each boat.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW - MUST DO WHEN YOU VISIT SAN DIEGO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Well being a San Diego native and have done many of the harbor cruises with hornblower this one blew them all away. Not only was it informative, but talk about fun. Glen was our guide and there were 3 other couples. Nothing like catching some air when you hit a wave from one of the big boats in the harbor. Glen was truly a pleasure and a fount of information. One thing I would say is the other couples should have thrown him a tip as they also expressed what a great time we had and beside most of us were using a groupon so come on throw him a little of that cash savings. Bottom line is this is definitely well worth the full price of admission. It is amazing what a 30 HP motor can do!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank denmarkd92009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    51
    15
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“See Sab Diego like this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is really one of the coolest things I have done in a long time!! Great fun and definitely a very exciting way to get a stunning perspective of the city!!

Helpful?
1 Thank DMSe7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My boyfriend's friend gave us his Groupon deal he bought for this because he was unable to use it. We didn't know what to expect but heard it was a great time. It was pretty cloudy and a bit cooler than expected for our day out on the water but that didn't matter one bit!! Our tour guide Glen was full of energy and very knowledgable. They give you step by step instructions on how to operate the boat with ease and safety. He also handed out blankets to us all in case we got chilly on the water.....which ended up coming in handy later!

Our first stop was to see the sea lions basking in the sun. What a great site!!! They were SO fun to see so close up and so entertaining. You literally get just a few feet within the docks where they are laying.

Cruising through the bay was a blast. They advise you to have fun and tear it up around there, which we did. Good note to know - it's impossible to flip the boats so you feel safe!

We drove right by the Coronado Bridge. What a cool way to see the bridge that close in the water. Glen had some great information about the bridge's history, structure, etc. that we had never heard.

Next stop was the Maritime Museum with several ships including the USS Midway. You will never get such a great view of this amazing ship than you will on these boats. Just being so close under the bow really makes you realize just how huge it is!!!

Overall our experience was one we'd never had before. The water was a bit choppy but it made riding around that much more fun. We were lucky enough to have a wave hit us out of nowhere but it just made our trip that much more funny. We were soaked but we didn't even care. Our blanket came in handy after all! :)

I have some amazing pictures from our day so I highly advise bringing a camera. Our guide said even though he does this 4 times a day, he still wishes he had a camera with him every time.

Living in SD, you don't realize how many amazing things there are to do. A lot of people would think this would be something tourists would do, but even as a resident, it's a must!

I will highly recommend this to all of our friends to experience!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
372 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked our speed boat adventure with a GROUPON deal and were able to reserve a Saturday with a short one week notice. The 1:00 PM time slot was booked so we settled for 11:00 AM which probably turned out for the best. The temperature was about the same and the water was less choppy than it is in the afternoon. There is also an additional $10 fuel surcharge that is not included in the GROUPON rate. This is an adventure! The boats travel faster than you might expect, so you will be bouncing off waves and tasting salt water. Don't forget a camera, sunglasses and if you are wearing a hat, take it off or turn it around backward. I would definitely do this again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One Fast and Fantastic Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

The speedboat tour was the highlight of our trip to San Diego. Not only is this a tour, but it is also an opportunity to zip along the waters of San Diego Bay while at the wheel of your own speedboat. If you imagined this tour as being a nose-to-tail sort of experience, then think again. Essentially, your guide provides the target-boat towards which you steer your own speedboat and the distance in-between is entirely yours. We were turning into wakes, catching air, and slowing down briefly to enjoy the sights of the harbor. This was one fast and furious ride that will be repeated!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kdvillines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speed Boat Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Speed Boat Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing