We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a motel!”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #41 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay here in early March. I had reviewed the motel via Trip Advisor and was fully aware of what to expect. Yes, the rooms are small but they are super clean and sufficient if all you need is to rest your tired body. You cannot beat this location and what they offer! Since we were out and about every day, we didn't partake of the breakfast but from the looks of it, it was pretty substantial (fruits, muffins, coffee)!

The folks here are genuinely nice and offered us the use of a GPS if we needed one and also offered recommendations for meals. The area is safe to walk around in the evening as well.

I would've given this location a higher rating however I couldn't, due to the fact that our noisy neighbors abruptly awoke us at an ungodly early hour. Keep in mind, that the walls are very thin. Other than that, everything was fine and we probably will return again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room above the office. You get a fairly good view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livitup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us!
We do appreciate you staying
Sorry to hear about the room next to you early in the morning
Please be advise you can always call us from your cell phone in the rooms as some guests do in the past and we will keep the noise level down. There is always someone here 24 hours a day to help you with anything you need. We will go through great lengths to make your stay enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 644 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

I'm actually currently at the Dolphin Motel, visiting San Diego for my first time, and this place has been wonderful. WiFi, breakfast, and fresh towels and clean rooms each day. Very friendly staff, and a pretty good deal.

I haven't spent time in my room except for sleeping, and if you're a diva the room may be too small, bed not soft enough, etc...but if you want a decent place to rest, that is clean and affordable, look no further.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank megfaceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, DESK CLERK at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

We also want to reiterate that Tripadvisor measures hotels/motels based on customer satisfaction and not “3-star, 4-star, 5-star, etc”. Please be advised to all our viewers that we are not a luxury 5-star resort place, nor do we advertise as such. We are a budget motel that can save the traveler money while still providing cleanliness, and a good night’s rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a great, independent motel. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful, making people feel welcome and going out of their way to help their guests, from restaurant recommendations to help with wifi problems (ours not theirs!) and tourist spots. The rooms are clean and bright with white sheets etc. The rooms aren't huge but are perfectly adequate and the location is lovely with some good places to eat nearby. The breakfast selection is good and it's buffet-style. If I were to go back to the lovely San Diego again, I'd definitely choose the Dolphin!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadbum17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

CHEERS guys!
If our guests are looking for is a room to sleep in and not to stay in the room all day, then we are just the right motel for them!
We are a family-owned business with a personal feel. You are not a number here, you are a close friend! Cleanliness is a must in all places: whether it is 2-star or 5-star. We are located near the main downtown area (about 7 minutes drive) and most of our guests have an automobile to go places, sometimes they use the bus which is fine as well. On behalf of us all, we thank you guys for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Nice place to stay. Friendly, helpful staff. Good continental breakfast in outdoor courtyard. Clean rooms. Has a very retro feel to it. Nice Point Loma / harbor location. Very easy to get to; safe location. Don't miss Sunset Cliffs! We loved it and would definitely stay again next time in San Diego.

Room Tip: We had a king room; small but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Glad you made it back soundly to Kansas,
We did remember when you went jogging in the morning during breakfast
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about our motel
Hope you come back to San Diego in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We arrived tired and cold after a long 2 days at Disneyland and were so grateful to get into a comfy, warm, CLEAN room. The motel is in a great area, peaceful and safe and we woke up to a great view of the harbour the next morning. The free breakfast and wifi are huge bonuses (blueberry muffins - lovely!!) not to mention free parking. The owners obviously care so much about their property and their guests and every morning of our 3 day stay Alan brought us a map of somewhere new to visit. This place is such great value and the city of San Diego is beautiful. If you choose not to stay here then you'll be doing yourself a disservice. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor facing the harbour and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank small2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Cheers! for writing a review about us!
If I am not mistaken, you guys talked to us about getting a Southern California Adventure Pass for Disneyland, Sea World, Zoo, etc
It is really good for the family considering the tickets costs alot if you buy them individually.
Really glad to hear you had a great time, sunshine, warm weather, friendly down to earth people, you guys fit right in with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#182 of 286 in San Diego
145 reviews
Ramada San Diego Airport
#145 of 286 in San Diego
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aqua Mar
#163 of 286 in San Diego
157 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $94 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing