We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Ranked #59 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My coworker recommended this place to me. I absolutely loved it. It is difficult to describe. It is not really fancy in the sense of an opulent hotel, but it is very nice. Perhpaps it is my personality and personal preference. I really enjoyed this place. The grounds are just beautiful, the rooms are very nice, everything is clean. The pool/jacuzzi area is beautiful. The front desk people were really nice, the restaurant people were super nice. It was just a very relaxing comfortable place. Nobody breathing down my neck but people there if I needed them. We tripped a breaker our last morning there (hair dryers-our fault), they had it fixed immediately.

Room Tip: We had a room facing out toward the city. I liked this better than a pool room because the city is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    505
    188
    96
    62
See reviews for
430
585
59
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have stayed at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn a couple of times and will whenever we are in San Diego! The personnel are always friendly and helpful; from the front desk to the bar. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.The grounds are like walking through a Tiki garden and I understand that there are Tikis hidden throughout; I found 5 so far. Don't forget to ask for a free bike rental and tour Shelter Island and surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Humphreys and for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again soon (come back anytime to find the rest of the hidden Tikis)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Living in the suburbs of San Diego, it is easy to forget just what special experiences are right at hand. As longtime customers of the two music venues at Humphreys ( the Outdoor Concerts and the Backstage Lounge,) we often thought about staying at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and turning a great Friday or Saturday night of music into a weekend getaway. We had the opportunity to do just that two weeks ago, and the experience was top notch. From the six hours of music, to the always-outstanding restaurant, to the absolutely stunning second floor suite overlooking the bay and harbor, it could not have been any better. If you are from out of town visiting the area, this is the definition of San Diego experience. If you live here and are looking for that local vacation, you don't need to look any further.My husband and I are alreading planning our next weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Humphrey's. The staff was amazing and very responsive to our requests. Scott, director of facilities, really took great care of us and made us feel completely in good hands during our entire stay. The front desk was great at helping us coordinate taxi requests, wake up calls, way in advance. The room was great with a king-size bed, two lcd tv's and a great little balcony/patio area where I could take advantage of the beautiful view of the San Diego Bay every morning. The layout of the room was fantastic with a mini sink, fridge, and microwave area separating the sleeping quarters and the living-room (great place to relax in-between adventures). The grounds at Humphrey's are beautifully well maintained making it a pleasure to walk around. The pool area is impeccably clean and a great place to relax and meet travelers from other parts of the country. The restaurant - bar was really happening with live music and great food. I plan to come back to San Diego and stay at Humphrey's because of its location, rooms and great service!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot offer great views of San Diego Bay and Downtown San Diego
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for choosing Humphreys as your home away from home while in San Diego! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had a business meeting at Humphrey's, so my husband and I stayed at the hotel. The landscaping is lovely, but the buildings and parking are a joke.

We reserved a king room and were told we had been "upgraded". We were given a room with two full (not queen) beds. I see from other reviews this is a common ploy at Humphrey's. We went back and insisted on a king room and were given one. Both rooms we saw had been "renovated" but they still had an outdated feel, with cheap carpet and noisy air conditioners. The linens were of good quality and plentiful, however.

The parking seems to be a big problem too. I don't think the charge for parking is unfair, but if they charge they need to provide a space. Everyone seems to be crammed together at one end. Additionally, the shuttle driver wanted to park in the spot we were in. Instead of just asking us to move (or clearly marking the space) he made up a story about it being an illegal spot so we would move. He then parked in the "illegal" spot 30 seconds later.

The whole placed seemed very "halfway". Humphrey's is pretending to be a nice place, but they are seem to be putting all of their effort into the landscaping. Don't bother staying until they decide to work on being a hotel.

Room Tip: Be wary of supposed upgrades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea80525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback with us. We welcome all feedback, negative and positive.
It appears that upon check in the "upgrade" you mentioned was an upgrade of the view from the Non View Room your husband's company reserved, to a view of our Tropical Gardens. I truly apologize the bed type in the first room was not a king bed as you preferred. The room has 2 Queen beds, not full beds as none of our rooms are equipped with full beds.
The parking space you mentioned is for our hotel shuttle only and has "RESERVED" painted across the space, along with a red painted curb. I am sorry if the bellman was not clear in his explanation.
We truly strive to not only meet, but exceed our guest's expecatations. We clearly failed to do so during your visit. We take your impression of Humphreys to heart and have shared your review with our entire staff to learn what we could have done better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#54 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Property: Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $234 - $472
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing