We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 317*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 170*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 759*
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 261*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 303*
USD 253*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 256*
USD 224*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 284*
USD 226*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 145*
USD 134*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 584*
USD 510*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
USD 242*
USD 219*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,736)
Filter reviews
1,736 results
Traveller rating
808
562
201
99
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
562
201
99
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshelter islandconcert venueputting greentropical feeltropical paradisekoi pondjunior suitepool areagarden viewping pongpoint lomahot tubresort feehotel groundsfull kitchensan diego baybike rentals
Filter
Updating list...
1,110 - 1,115 of 1,736 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have stayed at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn a couple of times and will whenever we are in San Diego! The personnel are always friendly and helpful; from the front desk to the bar. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.The grounds are like walking through a Tiki garden and I understand that there are Tikis hidden throughout; I found 5 so far. Don't forget to ask for a free bike rental and tour Shelter Island and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to Humphreys and for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again soon (come back anytime to find the rest of the hidden Tikis)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Living in the suburbs of San Diego, it is easy to forget just what special experiences are right at hand. As longtime customers of the two music venues at Humphreys ( the Outdoor Concerts and the Backstage Lounge,) we often thought about staying at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and turning a great Friday or Saturday night of music into a weekend getaway. We had the opportunity to do just that two weeks ago, and the experience was top notch. From the six hours of music, to the always-outstanding restaurant, to the absolutely stunning second floor suite overlooking the bay and harbor, it could not have been any better. If you are from out of town visiting the area, this is the definition of San Diego experience. If you live here and are looking for that local vacation, you don't need to look any further.My husband and I are alreading planning our next weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yrholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Humphrey's. The staff was amazing and very responsive to our requests. Scott, director of facilities, really took great care of us and made us feel completely in good hands during our entire stay. The front desk was great at helping us coordinate taxi requests, wake up calls, way in advance. The room was great with a king-size bed, two lcd tv's and a great little balcony/patio area where I could take advantage of the beautiful view of the San Diego Bay every morning. The layout of the room was fantastic with a mini sink, fridge, and microwave area separating the sleeping quarters and the living-room (great place to relax in-between adventures). The grounds at Humphrey's are beautifully well maintained making it a pleasure to walk around. The pool area is impeccably clean and a great place to relax and meet travelers from other parts of the country. The restaurant - bar was really happening with live music and great food. I plan to come back to San Diego and stay at Humphrey's because of its location, rooms and great service!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot offer great views of San Diego Bay and Downtown San Diego
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for choosing Humphreys as your home away from home while in San Diego! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had a business meeting at Humphrey's, so my husband and I stayed at the hotel. The landscaping is lovely, but the buildings and parking are a joke.

We reserved a king room and were told we had been "upgraded". We were given a room with two full (not queen) beds. I see from other reviews this is a common ploy at Humphrey's. We went back and insisted on a king room and were given one. Both rooms we saw had been "renovated" but they still had an outdated feel, with cheap carpet and noisy air conditioners. The linens were of good quality and plentiful, however.

The parking seems to be a big problem too. I don't think the charge for parking is unfair, but if they charge they need to provide a space. Everyone seems to be crammed together at one end. Additionally, the shuttle driver wanted to park in the spot we were in. Instead of just asking us to move (or clearly marking the space) he made up a story about it being an illegal spot so we would move. He then parked in the "illegal" spot 30 seconds later.

The whole placed seemed very "halfway". Humphrey's is pretending to be a nice place, but they are seem to be putting all of their effort into the landscaping. Don't bother staying until they decide to work on being a hotel.

Room Tip: Be wary of supposed upgrades!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea80525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback with us. We welcome all feedback, negative and positive.
It appears that upon check in the "upgrade" you mentioned was an upgrade of the view from the Non View Room your husband's company reserved, to a view of our Tropical Gardens. I truly apologize the bed type in the first room was not a king bed as you preferred. The room has 2 Queen beds, not full beds as none of our rooms are equipped with full beds.
The parking space you mentioned is for our hotel shuttle only and has "RESERVED" painted across the space, along with a red painted curb. I am sorry if the bellman was not clear in his explanation.
We truly strive to not only meet, but exceed our guest's expecatations. We clearly failed to do so during your visit. We take your impression of Humphreys to heart and have shared your review with our entire staff to learn what we could have done better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We got the three day package deal. Free zoo tickets with three nights stay. It was a great deal. We loved Humphrey's and the zoo was well worth the visit. Humphrey's should give up the $10 per night parking fee. These are "guests" after all. If they want to charge for parking, put it on the hotel room. All in all, a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Stayed on the bay side. Beautiful views of the city and boats coming and going. A little noisy with navy air traffic and local airport.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews