We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concert venue, Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Ranked #56 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at Humphreys Half Moon in order to see America in concert. Their concert venue is GREAT! Small, intimate, but really good sound. The hotel has been remodeling, and it shows. the bed was comfortable, they gave an assortment of pillows (both firm and softer) and there were extra blankets and pillows in the closet (always a plus for me). The room was a bit small, but perfectly adequate for our short stay. I like the fact that they had a microwave and a small fridge- but the lack of a shop to purchase any thing to put in them was disappointing. We had not rented a car for our short stay and didn't have time to explore the nieighborhood looking for a grocery or convience store. The restruant was a bit to "fru-fru" for me. Our meal was included in the package, and the food was good, just not my style- I prefer simpler options.
We are seriously looking at going again for the 3 Dog Night concert next month and will be waiting for next year's schedule to come out!
Oh- and they have a free airport shuttle!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
There are newer reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,105 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We discovered Humphreys after booking seats at the outside concert venue several years ago and have returned at least 2-3 times a year ever since. We have stayed in all categories of rooms and have liked them all. The rooms are spacious and clean most with views of the bay, the marina, the pool or the concert area! Going to a concert here is such an experience, especially as there are only about 1300 seats-- the atmosphere is amazing. The hotel staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Thank you Melissa, the Front Desk Manager and Sarah, the Internet Marketing Coordinator for taking such good care of us. We enjoy relaxing by the beautiful pool with a delicious drink served up by our favorite bartender Brittany, and wandering through the grounds which are excellently maintained. If you like you can check out a bicycle at the front desk to explore the island. At night, it's a great stroll by the bay and seeing the downtown skyline. There's a backstage lounge usually with live entertainment and a dance floor. The food in the restaurant is excellent, as well as room service which can be delivered to your room or poolside and ranges from a hot dog to a full three-course dinner with some healthy options also. It's hard to leave the hotel, but there's so much to see and do in San Diego, so a few days at Humphreys is just not enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillupnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at Humphreys Half Moon Inn as a weekend away & it was everything we hoped for. The resort is really nice, very clean & well maintained. As our favorite vacation spot is Maui, we we delighted to find Humphreys so close to home. It definitely has a Hawaiian tropical feel from the decor to the towering palms to the brightly colored parrots sittiing in what reminds you of a rainforest. The pool is quite big, lots of lounges & again, very well maintained. We had lunch at the restaurant overlooking the marina & it was super special. All in all, I give this resort an A+. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Request room looking in toward pool
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

After reading the reviews we chose Humphreys bc we needed space for our family of 5. Read in reviews that although it was great, the suites were not updated like the regular rooms were. So, it was a very nice surprise when we walked in and our suite WAS updated! I guess they are in the process, as there was one little area in the kitchen that had not been rewallpapered yet. It did not bother us a bit. Everything was clean, new looking and beds were great!

Room service menu could have been a little bigger, but as we only needed to use it once on our 4 night stay, it was not really a problem.

We loved sitting out on our balcony while having a glass of wine, the boats were a great view to look at.

I have to add that the high light of our trip was going to a little musical called MIXTAPE. It is an 80's show that was so much fun! Our group, from 11-70yrs LOVED it. If we return to San Diego, we will absolutely stay at Humphreys again. Trip Advisor is awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Loud, small, dark and dank rooms. Uncomfortable mattress and scratchy sheets. Lots of hype but little comfort. A HUGE rip off! Stay away!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#49 of 278 in San Diego
1,384 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $174 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing