We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One among the best hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very neat, well maintained hostel located few blocks from the beaches and surrounded by bars and restaurants. They arrange trips and parties throughout the week which is great. Very nice staffs too. I’m going again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karthik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was my 2nd time staying at this hostel on Ocean Beach. The location is ubeatable, staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable. I would reccomend to anyone. I will be back for sure.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nogaleksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the ocean beach hostel. It is very clean and there is lots of things to do.
The beach is literally in front of the door and you can rent surfboard, bikes and what ever you need.
On Wednesdays there is a famers market right in front of the hostel with live music and lots of great food.
In the evening there is an activity that you can join like beer pong or a game night. It is a really great hostel.
The only thing that isn't good/ as expected is the shuttle: it only goes every other day and only at 9.30 am.
So if you want to go on a non shuttle day to LA Jolla or the sea world you should take an Uber. And for the airport if it doesn't by luck fit for your flight it's the same thing. But it's pretty cheap so not a big deal. Just be aware of it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Klaratie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

My time at Ocean Beach hostel was better than I ever could have hoped for. I actually cancelled the next hostel I was supposed to go to in order to stay here longer. Though I was traveling solo, I never felt alone. I met so many amazing people--hostel staff and other guests--which made my time incredibly fun but also made me feel safe/secure knowing that there were people looking out for me. The hostel itself was clean and comfortable. The outside lounge area was the best!--some of my favorite times were just hanging out with people there. It was close to everything you could need/want: the beach, bars/restaurants, grocery store/liquor store. Even after 7 nights, I still didn't want to leave! Definitely will be recommending this place to everyone...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This hostel in Ocean Beach is by far one of my best hostel experiences. Clean and modern rooms and facilities. Friendly and helpful service. Transportation to nearby attractions. Breakfast is included, too. Would recommend if looking for an affordable stay outside of downtown San Diego, plus you are just a few blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Downtown
USA Hostels San Diego
USA Hostels San Diego
#2 of 66 in San Diego
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lucky D's Hostel
Lucky D's Hostel
#4 of 66 in San Diego
686 reviews
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
#3 of 66 in San Diego
159 reviews
Downtown
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Address: 4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3112 (Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $40 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Ocean Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach just 2 blocks away, a newly remodeled hostel with all new rooms, beds, and hang out space, and a free shuttle to area attractions and downtown, there’s no better beach choice than us! Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel, now with new owners and new management, you get the best of the Ocean Beach vibe and the amenities that USA Hostels is known for. You’ll make great memories here as we have loads of activities designed to help you make new friends and have new experiences. Join us for our beach bonfire with hot dogs and s’mores, show us your beer pong skills or relax after a day of sun and sand at our ‘family dinner’. If you want a beach break we’ll take you to the Zoo, SeaWorld, Downtown or La Jolla and even drop you off at the airport for free! Our dorm rooms feature USA Hostels exclusively-designed ‘privacy pods’ that not only provide screening from roommates but a reading light, shelf, usb plug and outlet. Free security lockers are also provided. Most rooms have a sink and some rooms are with full bath. Amenities include a FREE shuttle to the Zoo, SeaWorld and downtown. We loan out beach gear and have low cost rentals to try your hand at surfing too. We’re surrounded by restaurants, bars and shopping in the heart of Ocean Beach but also have plenty going on at the hostel to keep guests busy. Check out our list of activities and amenities below: Hostel Activities: • 4x a week free shuttle to the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, USA Hostels downtown Gaslamp location and airport • La Jolla free shuttle twice a week • Beach bonfire 2x a week with free hot dogs and American camp fave S’mores • Weekly Beer Pong tournament • Coastal bike ride tour twice weekly • Yoga class twice weekly • Weekly farmers market • Pub crawl twice weekly • Hostel dinner nights FREE Amenities including: • Daily breakfast of baked goods, oatmeal, fresh juices, fresh fruit, coffee/tea and more • WiFi • Lockers • Bed linens and bath towels • Beach towels/mats, umbrellas, chairs and coolers • Guitars, board games and foozball Discounted: • Surf lessons • Wet suit rental • Bike rental • San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Harbor Cruise tix ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and lastminute.com.au so you can book your USA Hostels Ocean Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach International Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing