We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Great location so close to the beach and bars/restaurants. Beautiful building inside and out. Lovely patio which can get a little rowdy at night if your room overlooks it but usually quietens down by midnight

Room Tip: Would have preferred larger locker and one which takes any size padlock. Used the same padlock for a...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juliesjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

I came for the weekend to get some sunshine and take a break from my busy life. Once your here, you just don't want to leave. I highly recommend this hostel as it has awesome staff, activities and facilities. You don't have to worry if your travelling solo as lots of other people are too! You will make so many friends! On Wednesdays there is a big market on the street with all kinds of delicious foods that even I managed with all my food intolerances to find dinner and dessert. The beach is so close to the hostel and the weather has been amazing!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank desireeg251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Great location in beach town. 10 min drive into downtown. Nice beach. Lots of little places to eat and shop and microbreweries. Hostel was hip, clean and very secure. Beach bon fire organized with hostel!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Love,love, love this place! Stayed here four years ago and was happily surprised as I came back this year, cause this time it was even better. Perfect location, great staff and cosy interior. This place has it all!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sarah_jerngren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Best hostel I've stayed in to date. originally brooked for 3 nights and ended up staying 7 because we had so much fun and made so many friends here. Staff were great and the rooms and common areas were spotless. Will definitely return in the future.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ynot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,969 reviews
Downtown
USA Hostels San Diego
USA Hostels San Diego
#2 of 66 in San Diego
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lucky D's Hostel
Lucky D's Hostel
#3 of 66 in San Diego
732 reviews
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
#4 of 66 in San Diego
159 reviews
Downtown
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Address: 4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3112 (Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $41 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Ocean Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach just 2 blocks away, a newly remodeled hostel with all new rooms, beds, and hang out space, and a free shuttle to area attractions and downtown, there’s no better beach choice than us! Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel, now with new owners and new management, you get the best of the Ocean Beach vibe and the amenities that USA Hostels is known for. You’ll make great memories here as we have loads of activities designed to help you make new friends and have new experiences. Join us for our beach bonfire with hot dogs and s’mores, show us your beer pong skills or relax after a day of sun and sand at our ‘family dinner’. If you want a beach break we’ll take you to the Zoo, SeaWorld, Downtown or La Jolla and even drop you off at the airport for free! Our dorm rooms feature USA Hostels exclusively-designed ‘privacy pods’ that not only provide screening from roommates but a reading light, shelf, usb plug and outlet. Free security lockers are also provided. Most rooms have a sink and some rooms are with full bath. Amenities include a FREE shuttle to the Zoo, SeaWorld and downtown. We loan out beach gear and have low cost rentals to try your hand at surfing too. We’re surrounded by restaurants, bars and shopping in the heart of Ocean Beach but also have plenty going on at the hostel to keep guests busy. Check out our list of activities and amenities below: Hostel Activities: • 4x a week free shuttle to the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, USA Hostels downtown Gaslamp location and airport • La Jolla free shuttle twice a week • Beach bonfire 2x a week with free hot dogs and American camp fave S’mores • Weekly Beer Pong tournament • Coastal bike ride tour twice weekly • Yoga class twice weekly • Weekly farmers market • Pub crawl twice weekly • Hostel dinner nights FREE Amenities including: • Daily breakfast of baked goods, oatmeal, fresh juices, fresh fruit, coffee/tea and more • WiFi • Lockers • Bed linens and bath towels • Beach towels/mats, umbrellas, chairs and coolers • Guitars, board games and foozball Discounted: • Surf lessons • Wet suit rental • Bike rental • San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Harbor Cruise tix ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your USA Hostels Ocean Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach International Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing